More than just beautiful faces…but beautiful faces nonetheless.

November 10, 2009 at 11:03 pm 18 comments

1109ES-  394
This is Blanca. We visited her home this afternoon. She just seemed to show up at my side multiple times during the day.

Christina
Christina. Another one who kept finding her way to my side throughout the day. She noticed my lipstick and wanted some.

Boys 1

Girl 1

Isabel
Isabel. That meek smile accompanied me throughout much of the day.

Girl 3

Joslynn Tamara
Joslynn Tamara. This is her in her home. She’s been attending the project for a couple years now. Through her attending the project, her entire immediate and extended family are now walking with God, free from addiction and living in the light of his Presence. Her mother is now walking with Jesus and tutoring at the project. Her mother wept as we prayed for them before they left, that they would continue to walk with Jesus and remain faithful to his work in their lives.

Oscar the poet
This is Oscar. He came up to me and told me he wanted to recite a poem for me. And then… he did another one. I asked him, “Do you like to rhyme?” He enthusiastically nodded. I asked him to say a Bible verse for me and he couldn’t remember one on the spot. So I told him, “When you remember one, come find me, okay?” A couple hours later, he made good on it. He found me in the director’s office and recited Jeremiah 33:3 “Call to me and I will answer you…” He became a special buddy of mine today. And who could resist that smile?

maricella
Maricella. Mother of Blanca (picture #1). This is her in her home. She welcomed us there, even though she was nervous. Jesus came and met us there, though. She told us of her history of gang membership and the tattoo on her forehead because of it. And she now can’t find work because she won’t be trusted. Even though in Christ, she is a new creation…. My heart broke for her.

My first day of interacting with people on the receiving end of Compassion has been nothing short of amazing—their stories, their homes, their openness to our presence, their excitement for Compassion and the effects it’s had on their families. My heart is somehow broken and full at the same time. Sorrowful, yet always rejoicing.

Entry filed under: Compassion, Faith. Tags: .

“This child deserves to know Jesus!” -Brother Guillermo A Hero’s Welcome Given by Heroes

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachel  |  November 10, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    Beautiful post, Molly. Beautiful people. Maricella’a story is so heartbreaking. We all bear the markings of our former selves, her’s are so visible. I rejoice that she has found hope in a savior who sees her heart. Can Compassion help her find work? I’m so thankful that Bianca is in the program.

    Reply
  • 2. pendy  |  November 10, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    Thank you for this. I read Heather’s account of Maricella and am so grateful for the love of Jesus Maricella felt today through all of you.

    Reply
  • 3. therigneys  |  November 10, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    I cried when I read the last sentence. I loved this post and I loved seeing their faces. I sat down to read it with Joe because we have been talking about sponsoring a child all day…I really want to! I checked Kelly’s blog yesterday and today and was able to see some pictures of you and your team! Praying for you every day.

    Reply
    • 4. Melissa Parnell  |  November 11, 2009 at 2:41 pm

      i cried too at the last last sentences. i’m so thankful you had this opportunity and that you are sharing it with us! praying for you.

      Reply
  • 5. Marla Taviano  |  November 11, 2009 at 12:17 am

    Thank you, Molly. They’re all soooo beautiful!

    Reply
  • 6. Kari P  |  November 11, 2009 at 12:24 am

    These pics are gorgeous for so many reasons…thanks for posting.

    Reply
  • 7. Beth  |  November 11, 2009 at 12:27 am

    Thank you for your post, Molly. Keep it coming!

    Reply
  • 8. Gabby Huerta  |  November 11, 2009 at 12:41 am

    Thank you Molly for posting this. God works so powerfully through stories. Thank you for being a voice for the voiceless in El Salvador, especially for our brothers and sisters there. This post deeply encouraged my faith and caused me to gain perspective on the “problems” in my own life.

    Gabby

    ps. BEAUTIFUL photography. You really have a gift.

    Reply
    • 9. Molly Piper  |  November 11, 2009 at 7:25 am

      *Definitely* can’t claim any of those photos as mine!!! Our trip photographer, Keely Scott, took all of the photos.

      At the end of each day she gives us a thumb drive to upload any pictures we want to use for our posts. You can see more of her stuff at her site, http://www.keelymariescott.com

      Incidentally Gabs, you would love her.

      Reply
  • 10. Sara Hintz  |  November 11, 2009 at 2:39 am

    What beautiful faces Molly…. I am so happy that you are there ministering to those precious children and adults. You are in my prayers.
    Sara

    Reply
  • 11. Cara Herzberg  |  November 11, 2009 at 3:18 am

    Thanks for sharing this Molly. We need to see these faces and hear their stories.

    Reply
  • 12. Tania @ Larger Family Life  |  November 11, 2009 at 5:10 am

    Praying for someone’s heart to be softened toward Maricella.

    Reply
  • 13. Kelly @ Love Well  |  November 11, 2009 at 11:21 am

    Keely’s photos are miraculous in that they capture more than the body; they capture the soul.

    In many ways, this made me wish I was there.

    Reply
  • 14. Lindsey  |  November 11, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Awesome! I’m loving these posts by all of you!!! Can’t wait to read/see more :)

    Reply
  • 15. Aaron Armstrong  |  November 11, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Maricella’s story is tragic but incredible. Thank you for being a part of sharing it.

    Reply
  • [...] Molly shares the story of Maricella: [...]

    Reply
  • 17. ebe  |  November 12, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    Thank you for bringing these pictures back to us.
    I always try to show Owen’s picture to people when I tell them about him. It humanizes him to people who would normally think of him as some kind of spirit baby…wings and cherub cheeks.
    He was a person, just like we are.

    These pictures do the same thing. These kids are valued, special, unique individuals who matter to God. They should matter to us too.

    love and prayers,
    ebe

    Reply
  • 18. Brenda Meyer  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Thank you for sharing……….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

