You’ve been cordially invited to break your heart.

November 12, 2009 at 10:17 pm 112 comments

Child sponsorship has always seemed like a very safe way to help another person. Most of the time you never look them in the eye.

But today I met our family’s sponsored child. All the safe distance of sponsorship was completely obliterated. Now all the “ideas” of sponsorship were humanized into a six-year-old boy. His name is Hector.

hector2
The first crack came as the elevator doors opened at 7:15am. Before I even saw him I knew: my heart is already breaking. I could feel it—the tears rushing into my eyes, the heat in my face, the tightness in my chest. I came around the corner where he was waiting for me with his eyes closed, a nervous smile on his face.

You can see what happens next. In true-to-Molly fashion: it was loud, there was lots of talking, and I basically just freaked out. And of course, tears.

He opened his eyes and rushed into my already-full arms. But there was room for him. Crack #2.

We made our way to a couch and exchanged muchos regalos (many gifts). He had made a photo book for me, and a calendar with pictures of him for all of 2010. I had a soccer ball for him and a backpack full of fun and practical items.

gifts

Then something spectacular happened. Because of the common grace of the internet, an uncommon event was able to occur. We were able to video chat with Abraham, Orison, & Morrow! Watching him interact with my other children… another crack. It was getting bigger and bigger, and we hadn’t even left the hotel.

chat

We spent the morning at a sports day. Wherever I went, Hector came. And his hand was always in mine. As we walked around I tried to take all the mental pictures I could. With each one, more cracking.

We played, we laughed, we ate snacks… I felt like I was hanging out with one of my own kids.

Then after lunch, the inevitable happened. I had to say goodbye. At this point, the one-half of my heart that was now hanging by a fiber came completely disconnected. How do you say goodbye? How do you tell someone (who’s six) all the hopes and dreams you have for him? How do you share the thankfulness you feel to them for sharing their life with you?

goodbye1

goodbye2

I felt crazy as I just wept and wept over the goodbye. And as I’ve thought about it this afternoon, it felt in small part like saying goodbye to another one of my kids. At one point his mother told me to calm down! I mean, she said it lovingly, but isn’t that hilarious? She’s obviously not used to me, the emoting machine.

goodbye3

Hector was added to our extended family a few weeks ago. I got one morning with him. And then, a goodbye. And who knows if I’ll ever see him again. I hope and pray that I do. I kept having fantasies all afternoon of Abraham & I venturing down to El Salvador for Hector’s graduation. And if I don’t see him again on earth, I hope and pray that we will see each other in heaven. There, God-willing, I will see all of my children, even my sponsored children. And we will rejoice, every tear wiped away.

So I guess, sponsorship can be an easy way to help a kid out. But it’s not going to be easy if you engage with more than your wallet. If you engage with your heart and your time, it’ll hurt to not see their smile, hear their voice, watch them grow up. It just might break your heart.

hector

Entry filed under: Compassion. Tags: .

Mothers becoming Moms: Child Survival Program In Action What do a bunch of bloggers do in the airport?

112 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chelsea Bass  |  November 12, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    Whoa. That was emotional for me, too. Thank you, Molly!

    I’ve just determined that I don’t care what Kyle and I have to sacrifice, we are going to sponsor a child.

    Reply
  • 2. Amber @ Classic Housewife  |  November 12, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Si, muy guapo! The video totally did me in. Thank you so much for sharing this.

    Reply
  • 3. Melissa Parnell  |  November 12, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    i completely cried throughout your post. thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 4. ohamanda  |  November 12, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    Beautiful. Tears are streaming.

    That bond you showed is amazing. Thank you for sharing so much of yourself with him AND us.

    Reply
  • 5. Kelly @ Love Well  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    The look on your face in that last photo really says it all, Molly. I’m sitting here with tears running down my face, threatening to ruin my laptop. And even if I did, it would be worth it.

    You’ve made me even more determined to take a trip to El Salvador someday soon to meet our little Karla. And to take our daughter, who is her same age. I can’t imagine…. (More tears.)

    Reply
  • 6. TransitionGirl  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    my colleagues are probably wondering why I’m sobbing over here. Thanks for the post!

    Reply
  • 7. Hannah Beth  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    Oh Molly. Thank you for sharing this with us!

    Reply
  • 8. Lisa Martin  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    I have never been to your blog, but I have been praying over your trip and shedding tears at the beautiful story of your time with Hector. I know for fact I would respond in exactly the same way if I were two meet our two girls in India. Exactly what I needed to read today, exactly. :)

    Reply
  • 9. Karen {simply a musing blog}  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    Oh my goodness…I have the ugly cry going on – that was truly beautiful. Thank you for sharing that with us – I can’t wait to someday make the trip to Africa and meet our child. :)

    Reply
  • 10. Fran  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    Big ole tears. Beautiful. Thank you!
    Hugs,
    Fran

    Reply
  • 11. cynthia  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    dear, dear Pipers, this is amazing; thanks for sharing. pass the kleenix please.

    Reply
  • 12. Robin ~ PENSIEVE  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    Molly,

    I k n o w what you’re talking about and there IS little more significant than touching your little one and loving them PRESENT; it just comes from no where and does you in!

    Your words…these pictures…

    Yeah, shattered hearts across the globe.

    Beauty in the broken.

    Reply
  • 13. Zach Nielsen  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    Wow. That is powerful. Thanks for sharing.

    z

    Reply
  • 14. pendy  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    You make us feel like we were there!

    Reply
  • 15. Nancy from Birmingham, AL  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    God Bless you!! Your trip has CHANGED my life!!

    Reply
  • 16. Megan  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    Beautiful. Just beautiful.

    Reply
  • 17. Megan  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    I didn’t make it past the first video without reaching for the kleenex box. What an amazing experience. Heart-wrenching in a good way.

    After reading all the Piper posts, I’ve been thinking all week about sponsoring a child. A little more sorting of the budget and I think I’ll do it.

    This is what happens, isn’t it? One person takes a step and shares their experience, inspiring others to do the same. The most beautiful ripple effect ever.

    Reply
  • 18. nmwally  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    Oh dear goodness. How can a blog post make me cry like this?!

    Reply
  • 19. Vaness  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    Yup. Totally bawled my eyes out during your entire post. Amazing.

    Reply
  • [...] You should read about it. [...]

    Reply
  • 21. Te  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    Thanks Molly

    Reply
  • 22. thegypsymama  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    Yes, I’ve thought about that. As I stare into the big brown eyes of our little Thomas from Ghana every morning when I open the refrigerator door to get my own boys their milk. I think, “what if I ever get to meet you, Thomas? What then. How will my body come home when a part of my heart is still in Ghana.”

    Talk about open heart surgery. It looks like it hurts a lot.

    Reply
  • 23. Lindsay  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    WOW! Thanks for this! God is using you in mighty ways!

    Reply
  • 24. Kristy  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Molly, I read your post once, cried and then watched the video and bawled again! What special moments! Thanks for sharing and for always being so open about your emotions. You are a blessing. I sponsor 4 kids with Compassion and now more than ever I want to go visit them someday. I hope the rest of your trip is great!

    Reply
  • 25. QuatroMama  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever been so moved and so connected though one blog post. It was beautifully touching, and I’m thankful for your opportunity to change Hector’s world!
    I’m so greatful for the Pipers’ and the way they are impacting the world for Christ. May He be praised!

    Reply
  • 26. Beth  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    ah great! amen to this.

    Reply
  • 27. Ann Voskamp @Holy Experience  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:01 am

    This lump in the throat burns and the tears stream and the heart cracks … not apart … but open.

    May Hearts crack open … to love like Christ, his love blazing through all these fractures.

    Wounded here by the beauty of love in action…

    Keep emoting, radiant Molly….

    All’s grace,
    Ann

    Reply
  • 28. Jill Foley  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    I actually couldn’t even read this really…my heart is broken and I have been a sponsor through Compassion for 16 years. Throughout the years I have had the privilege of knowing over 20 children…yet never have gotten to meet a single one.

    Thank you for your willingness to go, to see and to speak up!

    Reply
  • 29. Kimberly  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    Wow, that brought tears to my eyes! You guys are doing a great job!!

    Reply
  • 30. Stephen  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Thank you, thank you, thank you. Tears down the cheeks. Beautiful.

    Reply
  • 31. therigneys  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    Can’t.Stop.Crying. I blogged about your trip to El Salvador in hopes that my friends and family in Texas might start reading your blog and consider sponsoring a child.

    Reply
  • 32. Kari P.  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    I couldn’t wait to read this post, so I opened it on aisle #2 in Walmart on my phone…unregrettable mistake. Praise the Lord…what else can you say?!

    Reply
  • 33. Jason  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    This post did not make me cry. I swear my keyboard isn’t moist right now. I swear.

    Reply
  • 34. Jackie Mysak  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:03 am

    LOVED seeing this. We just recently lost our sponsored child Sonali in India, after supporting and knowing her for almost 5 years. I can’t bear the thought of what is happening to her now that her Compassion program is no longer operating. Will we ever meet her? We were able to take our monthly support and split it between two Child Survival Programs — one in India, and one in Haiti, each in honor of dear friends of ours, as well as our dear Sonali. As a birth doula, the CSPs touch my heart in a very special way.

    P.S. Abraham won’t remember this, but I went to Bethel with him for a while; I was one of a very few students who attended Bethlehem at that time. Philemon Yong was, and still is, a dear friend. Ah, Toshavim!

    Reply
  • 35. Gina  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:03 am

    Oh my word……I cried before I saw the videos….I read the post first and then went back to see the videos. And that hug was so amazing. If the Academy Awards could see the authentic and beautiful and loving hug that you both shared ( or series as they were) you would both take home the Oscar! Just beautiful. I sponsor 2 kids now in Uganda and I really want to have another……that Hector…..what a loving little boy. What a gift from God.

    Reply
  • 36. Jenni  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:17 am

    beautiful. amazing.

    thank you!

    Reply
  • 37. Susan (5 Minutes for Mom)  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:33 am

    Okay, you had tears in my eyes with that one…

    (I actually hardly ever cry, so even me choking up is a huge thing. It’s not that I’m not emotional… actually I am… too much so… well, to be honest, it’s b/c I’m too emotional… LOL… one word. Paxil. Makes me unable to cry. Which is actually cause to cry. Ironic.)

    What a sweet little boy and such an amazing experience.

    Reply
  • 38. Nikki  |  November 13, 2009 at 1:07 am

    I now really want to meet my 3 kids. I suffered a miscarriage 3 years ago and God put our first child Melanie into our lives since then we have sponsored 2 more. We lost one last year and I still cry over him. You have inspired me to go and meet my Melanie. For those contemplating sponsorship. Stop thinking and do it. you will never regret it and the money is always there. These kids are the most precious gift from God. (just as precious as my own biological 3)

    Reply
  • 39. Gary Boal  |  November 13, 2009 at 2:42 am

    I’m standing in work with tears filling my eyes, hoping that none of the guys come over this way…although then i could share this with them.

    Thanks, this post more than anything has made my heart decide to sponsor a child

    Reply
  • 40. anna  |  November 13, 2009 at 3:45 am

    I can’t see the screen through my tears! What an amzingly cute little face! And the way he hugged you!
    How I wish I could meet my sponsor kids… thank you for doing this Molly.

    Reply
  • 41. DeJuan  |  November 13, 2009 at 4:26 am

    This was a wonderful way to start my day. Thanks so much for sharing. Major, major encouragement and motivation to pray for our sponsor child, and Compassion, too. Thanks again.

    Reply
  • 42. Laura Gruner  |  November 13, 2009 at 5:26 am

    All I can say is this is my favorite of all the posts so far! Beautiful!

    Reply
  • 43. Liz  |  November 13, 2009 at 7:31 am

    Lots of tears…that’s all i can say. So thankful you were able to do this! Bless you my friend.

    Reply
  • 44. amy sanders  |  November 13, 2009 at 7:34 am

    tears are flowing this morning. so makes me want to get on a plane, fly to haiti and hug my wendjina. one day…

    Reply
  • 45. Kaye Barfield  |  November 13, 2009 at 7:46 am

    This is beautiful beyond words! What a precious example of God’s love to a little boy that otherwise might never know the love of Jesus. Remarkable!!

    Reply
  • 46. karla  |  November 13, 2009 at 7:50 am

    I am just about to leave for Trader Joes and I am crying, quite a lot. Your posting about this trip has been thoughtful, eye opening and loving. Thank you for sharing your heart.

    Reply
  • 47. Mike & Jolee kretsinger  |  November 13, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Kleenex…weeping with you, Molly! What a beautiful journey this has been. God is stirring many hearts to action! Thank you! Jolee

    Reply
  • 48. Pedro Jimenez  |  November 13, 2009 at 8:32 am

    You made me cry, and for the first time in my life, you made me think about the value of sponsoring a child.

    God bless you and your family!
    From the Dominican Republic

    Reply
  • 49. Tania @ Larger Family Life  |  November 13, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Bawling like a baby here.

    Reply
  • 50. Amy  |  November 13, 2009 at 9:14 am

    What a wonderful post. You inspired me to send some family gifts this morning to our two sponsored boys in India and Bolivia.

    Reply
  • 51. Christian Haiku  |  November 13, 2009 at 9:21 am

    Guys aren’t supposed to cry, so of course I didn’t. ;) Thanks for sharing this, wouldn’t it be great if God would let you see all the fruit that comes just from posting this???

    Blessings!

    Reply
  • 52. Chris  |  November 13, 2009 at 10:33 am

    tears, smiles, prayers and love…

    Reply
  • 53. Angela  |  November 13, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Wow! I’m at work and gushing tears like a baby. What a great story and I’m so grateful you shared it.

    Reply
  • [...] Molly Piper had the wonderful opportunity to visit the child that their family sponsors through Compassion. I’m very grateful that she wrote about the experience on her blog yesterday. Her words invited me to look afresh into the wonder of the gospel’s work in our lives. By God’s design the gospel frees us to enter into heartache with joy and hope. Molly concluded her moving post with these words: Sponsorship can be an easy way to help a kid out. But it’s not going to be easy if you engage with more than your wallet. If you engage with your heart and your time, it’ll hurt to not see their smile, hear their voice, watch them grow up. It just might break your heart. [...]

    Reply
  • 55. stacey  |  November 13, 2009 at 11:33 am

    One of the most beautiful posts I’ve ever read. Thank you for sharing this amazing experience!

    Reply
  • 56. Sara Shull  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    Ok. Crying. Glad I’m sick so I have time to read blogs today.

    Reply
  • 57. Tiffany Stuart  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    Sharing in the tears with you. What a gift this post was. May God continue to call people out to help others through sponsoring a child. I know I would be bawling. I wear my tears.

    Thank you for touching my heart. I love children. I love Jesus.

    Reply
  • 58. Kim  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    That is a beautiful post! I am wiping away tears as I type. Thank you for sharing this wonderful experience with us!!

    Reply
  • 59. Deb  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Yep…it’s the ugly cry. Thank you for sharing this precious moment with us. It makes my heart ache even more for our sponsored children.

    Reply
  • 60. Mitch Majeski  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    ugh – trying to gather myself. Thanks for the fresh vision for sponsorship and obliterating the safe distance.

    Reply
  • 61. Larry Rockwell  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    It is great to see how God brings hearts together…those that know Him and those who He wants to know Him. This little child has already begun to know Him through your heart.
    We have a Peruvian ( Quechua) boy that we adopted. He is a picture of God’s grace in adopting us. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  • 62. Christy B.  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    I’m not a crier, but I am near tears! Thank you for this heart-opening perspective.

    Reply
  • 63. Katie  |  November 13, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Thanks for sharing your account of meeting your sponsored child. I don’t have the means to meet mine, but I know when ever something happens in his country, I kinda freak out. The little guy I had before this one moved out of the region in which my organization worked, and I admit, I cried when I got the letter.

    I pray that Hector felt God’s love through you :) I am sure he did :)

    Reply
  • 64. Amanda  |  November 13, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    I knew your post was going to turn me into a mushy puddle of goo, so I only glimpsed over it, but I still cried. We’ve been sponsoring a little girl in Africa for two years, and I love to get new pictures of her. It does hurt to not see her in person, or see her grow up, or know what’s going on in her life more often. I guess I’m just not the type to be able to stay disconnected. God gave me a special gift for being excessively sappy. Every time I see something in the store that I think she’d want, or that she might need, I’m tempted to buy it and ship it all the way to her. Some day, I hope I’ll be able to visit her. You were truly blessed to be able to visit your sponsor child.

    Reply
  • 65. 7 Quick Takes Friday « Proverbs 30:8  |  November 13, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    [...] up with the Compassion bloggers all week who were in El Salvador. My absolute favorite post was this one by Molly Piper. I would love to meet our Compassion kiddo [...]

    Reply
  • 66. J. Evans  |  November 13, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    oh.my.goodness. I have teared up so many times looking at his face. He looks so much like my nephew Judah. Seriously.

    (The reason why his mom was telling you to calm down, is she’s Latin American…. they don’t cry much, it’s a cultural thing. I inherited that, totally not a crier)

    Reply
  • 67. Casey Zachary  |  November 13, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    God is using you powerfully there in El Salvador. It is good to know that when you are back in MN, he will can still use you meaningfully as you continue to support the little man. God weaves lives together in mysterious ways. Praise him for it.

    Reply
  • 68. Marla Taviano  |  November 13, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Oh, Molly. So, so, so awesome. Tears in my eyes as I watched the videos with my girlies. Love you!

    Reply
  • [...] You’ve been cordially invited to break your heart. « The Pipers [...]

    Reply
  • [...] “You’ve Been Cordially Invited to Break Your Heart” – Molly Piper. Thank you, I did. It was the video of her meeting her compassion child that really did me in. [...]

    Reply
  • 71. Wendy  |  November 14, 2009 at 12:55 am

    I love this!!! Thanks for sharing. I began sponsoring Siska from Indonesia through World Vision in 2001. In 2006 I was informed that she was no longer in school because it was too far for her to travel. This broke my heart because the school teaches her about Jesus. I continued to sponsor her because I knew my money was helping my her life better. Last year I received a letter stating that Siska had become employed and was no longer eligible to be sponsored. My heart was totally broken. I told my husband that I was done and couldn’t do it again. Well, I received a picture of Mariam-she is 3 years old and lives in Armenia. Yep…she now has a place on my bulletin board and my heart. I totally understand your emotions!

    Reply
  • 72. perfectflights125  |  November 14, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Great Post..!!

    http://www.perfectflights.org.uk

    Reply
  • 73. Elizabeth Esther  |  November 14, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Crying and messing up my makeup. :) loved it. arms wide open. heart wide open. Love you, Molly Piper.

    Reply
  • 74. Maria  |  November 14, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Mine turns 6 in four days…I had once been a skeptic with sponsorships and all that. As in religion conspiring to wipe out poverty when it’s the government role to do just that.

    But, God broke my heart one time I went to a concert. One life for Jesus. More than we bless them with our money, they don’t know they’re the ones blessing us. At the end of the day, it isn’t just one life. It’s a whole community for Jesus. Thanks for sharing your story.

    Reply
  • 75. David Patton  |  November 14, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Thank God for Compassion Int. Thank God for His amazing grace in the generations of Pipers who are a blessing to the Body of Christ! God’s people are the best people when they act like our Heavenly Father.
    Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

    Reply
  • 76. Rahul - Web Guru  |  November 14, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Really touching… Bless the child.

    Reply
  • 77. Top Posts « WordPress.com  |  November 14, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    [...] You’ve been cordially invited to break your heart. Child sponsorship has always seemed like a very safe way to help another person. Most of the time you never look them [...] [...]

    Reply
  • 78. Mikki  |  November 14, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    Wow, that was so wonderfully touching, thanks so so much for sharing your experience. I dream of going on the El Salvador trip one day to meet the little boy and girl that I sponsor… it appears to be an emotionally draining, but beautiful and memorable trip.

    Reply
  • 79. General Palma  |  November 14, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Wow!, I myself is a sponsored kid through Compassion , I am a Pastor now, I never forgot the love of the person who sponsored me, never saw them personally but never have I forgotten what they have shared with me, kept the stuff toy they gave me for years until I lost it unwillingly when I went to college, always prayed for them as a young child every night as I hug the stuff toy,
    upto now that I am a pastor called by God to serve him. I grew up far from my parents who have to work far to support my family. In heaven God is going to introduce them to me, and they will see what they have invested in my life goes on to eternity…
    Praise God who moves people to touch other people in many many ways…

    Reply
  • 80. steph johnson  |  November 15, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Thanks for sharing, Molly. Love you friend.

    Reply
  • 81. Augusta  |  November 15, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Wow, that is just so awesome! It was so cool to watch you meet your sponsor child and I hope I can do the same one day! So true, you really have to put your heart into sponsorship, and in the end it’s such a blessing!

    Reply
  • 82. Wendy  |  November 16, 2009 at 10:54 am

    God is so awesome to open your heart to give freely your all. Thank you for sharing your heart deeply.
    II Timothy 1:6

    Reply
  • 83. Polly Burroughs  |  November 16, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    I searched through all the pix posted from this trip, hoping to catch a glimpse of our sponsored child or at least his project, but no… then I read this, watched the video, and cried like crazy, thinking of how hard it certainly would be to meet your child like that and then have to leave, knowing it might be the only time….
    I’m so thankful to God for the opportunity to sponsor our precious little guy! Thanks for sharing your experience. What a blessing!

    Reply
  • 84. BooMama » His Name Is Hector  |  November 16, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    [...] This post of Molly’s is an absolutely awesome representation of how heartbreaking it is – in every good way – to invest in the life of a child. [...]

    Reply
  • 85. dawn  |  November 16, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    See, Molly…THIS is why you were chosen for this. You are a wonderful writer…I felt like I was there with you and feeling your heart burst with joy and sadness.

    We sponsor a child in a different country…I need to write him. now.

    Reply
  • 86. MrHuddle  |  November 17, 2009 at 5:54 am

    Best topics in church for 2009-11-12…

    Best topics in church for 2009-11-12…

    Reply
  • 87. terese  |  November 17, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Our family has sponsored numerous children (all boys) over the years. They are so precious. Have been praying the prayer……
    Dear Jesus, break my heart with what breaks yours….my heart breaks today for children, families in need. May it spur us more into action…

    Reply
  • 88. FashionableLeopard  |  November 17, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    I am currently taking a class at my college where we study the cultures and lifestyles of other people. Recently a group of girls and myself were assigned to study El Salvador. I found the country to have such a sad heartbreaking history. It is so amazing to see that people like you are making a difference in all of those poor childrens’ lives. God Bless!

    Reply
  • 89. Mary  |  November 17, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Wow what a great story…thank you for sharing. I am sitting at my desk crying…it touched my heart!

    Reply
  • 90. Amy  |  November 17, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    Thanks for posting and sharing the story of your trip. I sponsor a child in El Salvador and its been so cool to hear about your travels and make it more real. This post really made me tear up as I’m sitting at my desk. I can’t imagine how cool it would be to meet my child. Its so awesome to see what God is doing in El Salvador through Compassion and those that support it. Thanks again.

    Reply
  • 91. Caryn  |  November 17, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    Oh My! I’m over here in tears. I must visit my Compassion child in Haiti soon!

    Reply
  • 92. Jessie  |  November 17, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    Simply beautiful. Thanks, Molly…

    Reply
  • 93. shawnda  |  November 17, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    Emotions going crazy!!! What a gift to treasure – that time you got to see him! And that the rest of your family got to interact w/ him too!!!! So amazing!!! I love you, friend! Thanks for sharing!!!

    Reply
  • 94. Andrea Young  |  November 17, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    BEAUTIFUL post!!!! Stumbled across your blog after Dan Cruver shared it! We have a school in Zambia and I’d love to share this post w/ our sponsors!!!! We are also in the midst of adopting a baby from Ethiopia! I can’t wait for our first meeting in 2010!!!!! Thank you for sharing this beautiful experience on your blog!

    Reply
  • 95. Watercolor Ponies  |  November 17, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    [...] read this post by Molly Piper today about the child that she sponsors in El Salvador. She is there with Compassion, Int’l [...]

    Reply
  • 96. Norma Ramos  |  November 17, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Wow. Having been a sponsored child myself in El Salvador, and now actually being a sponsor living in Canada—-this really bought on a huge wave of emotion.

    Reply
  • 97. Today's Popular News In church Community: Mr Huddle  |  November 17, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    Best topics in church for 2009-11-13…

    Best topics in church for 2009-11-13…

    Reply
  • 98. bobsouer  |  November 18, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    This made my eyes leak. God bless you Molly. My wife Cinda and I have been Compassion sponsors for over 20 years and twice I’ve had this exact experience you have. So precious to experience that intense joy again with you!

    Your servant in Christ,
    Bob

    Reply
  • 99. ebe  |  November 19, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    Speechless. Molly, I am speechless.

    Thank you for sharing your journey with all of us.

    love,
    ebe

    Reply
  • 100. Bethany Jennings  |  November 20, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    I was able to visit my child, Daniel, in Bolivia last summer. It was the most humbling thing I have ever experienced. I just got my first letter from him that he wrote all by himself and he told me how he remembered the day when I came to meet him. I am trying to get to Nicaragua to meet my other compassion child, David in July.

    Words cannot express how powerful these relationships are. I am so thankful to God for Compassion International and they ability we have to connect with these kids. You are right….it is SOOO much more than a money thing. It’s an emotional investment, if you want it to be!

    Phil 2:3-5

    Reply
  • 101. Andrew Williams  |  November 20, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    This is incredible!! I hope I will one day get to meet the girl I am sponsoring. Like you said, I want it to be more than just sending money. Thanks for posting this!

    Reply
  • 102. j  |  November 22, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    brings tears to my eyes to see such love demonstrated between, love that break down cultural, racial, color,educational differences.

    Reply
  • 103. ExtraordinaryMommy  |  November 23, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    A simply beautiful story…..tears and more tears.

    Reply
  • 104. I Want to Do Christmas Differently  |  December 7, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    [...] watch this video from Catalyst of a sponsored man meeting the man who sponsored him. Or read this blog post of Molly Piper meeting the child her family [...]

    Reply
  • 105. Meeting a Child You Sponsor – Justin Taylor  |  December 10, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    [...] beautiful blog post by Molly Piper: Child sponsorship has always seemed like a very safe way to help another person. [...]

    Reply
  • 106. Maureen  |  December 10, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    What a wonderful blessing.

    Reply
  • 107. Meeting Your Compassion Child – « BRYANLOPEZ.COM  |  December 10, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    [...] A beautiful blog post by Molly Piper: Child sponsorship has always seemed like a very safe way to help another person. Most of the time you never look them in the eye. [...]

    Reply
  • 108. Daron Butler  |  December 10, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    How great is our God who prompted you to reach out in compassion to help Hector. Thanks for posting this. Our church is engaging in child sponsorship of orphans now. I am posting this as a link from my blog. I can’t wait to see our people go and return home challenged to greater service!

    Reply
  • 109. Ramond Johnson  |  December 11, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Deeply moving.

    Would we just ALSO consider adopting those who have no family. This is a great way for helping those children in families with a lot of financial need. GREAT ministry!!

    JUST consider going further and letting this video grab your heart to bring a child like this one INTO your home and family for good.

    Reply
  • 110. Ella Manken  |  January 11, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    I think this is only the 3rd time I’ve ever been to your blog… I’m only 24 years old and have only been out of college–working for 2 years.. even then I am working as a missionary in Rome, Italy for Campus Crusade for Christ.. so I don’t have a lot of money and don’t even know what next year will hold for me, job-wise, financially.. but as I think and dream about the future, and sit here sobbing at my dining room table in Rome, at 1:30 in the morning… Oh man I should be in bed!… Molly thank you for this post… you have challenged me to be asking the Lord if He would have me sponsor a child in my future years– and heck, even NOW. Who knows what the Lord wants— but His will be done. Thanks for posting this, sweet Molly Piper.

    Reply
  • 111. Real People «  |  January 13, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    [...] 13, 2010 by nmwally This past November, as I read through blog posts like this one and this one about/by bloggers who visited Compassion’s center in El Salvador, a little something happened [...]

    Reply
  • 112. 4 Keys to Avoiding Volunteer Burnout « The Pipers  |  January 15, 2010 at 4:47 am

    [...] love it if you read about my trip to El Salvador with Compassion. And, more importantly, I’d love it if you sponsored a child. 2010 is your [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

