I have incredible friends!

March 8, 2008 at 6:59 pm 14 comments

I am having one of the best days ever. It’s definitely one of the best days I’ve had in a long time. Today has been “Bless and Pamper Molly Day,” at least that’s how I feel.

It kind of began yesterday, when Abraham informed me that he was taking me out for breakfast without Orison. I love going out to breakfast, and we rarely do it. I don’t know why I like it so much, either. Most of the stuff on the menu is available at home–eggs, wheat toast, pancakes–but I never make hash brown, those are always a special treat.

So this morning, we get ready, Abraham takes Orison over to the Tong’s for babysitting, and we hit the road. We had a great time talking about the future, blogging, ideas, etc. Then we drove around for awhile. We were going to go to the Como Conservatory, but there must have been an event there or something, because we couldn’t find parking anywhere!

We just drove around, and eventually ended up by a Target, and we stopped in to buy me a binder and dividers and page protectors so I could organize my knitting patterns. This is a task I’ve been hoping to do for a long time. And I love practical, so this was special for me.

Then Abraham said, “I need to swing by home. I forgot something for later.” So we arrive home to find my friend Jenna and another girl at our house–there had been a cleaning brigade there while we were gone!!! Turns out the other girl, Jancy, is my good friend Amy’s cousin who’s visiting for the weekend from Georgia. And she was more than eager to be a part of the work, I couldn’t even believe it. So my house looked so clean, AND there were fresh flowers everywhere I looked.

Jenna told me that our friends Mike & Brian from small group had been in the kitchen earlier. I was hoping my wish had come true, so ran in to look–A SHELF!!! You see, there is this one cabinet in my kitchen that doesn’t have an upper shelf, it hasn’t had one since we moved in 3+ years ago. I’ve been telling Abraham how much I’d like one, and now it’s HERE! I don’t have a lot of cabinet space in my kitchen, so having just one more shelf feels like my whole kitchen life has changed.

They left, and there was lunch made by my friend Megan waiting for us! Megan is a “family and consumer science” teacher (what most of us know as home ec.), so pretty much anything she touches is lovely, delicious, pretty, etc. Needless to say, I was excited.

Then Abraham told me, “There’s another surprise coming at 1.” One o’clock rolls around and guess what it is

a massage.

Yes, a massage. In my house. She brought her table in, her music, her wonderful rubbing lotion… it was fantastic. I had an hour massage in my sitting room upstairs!!!! I was just laying there, marveling, listening to celtic instrumental arrangements of some of my favorite hymns, getting a massage. I had so many knots in my shoulders that it kind of hurt at times, but it was a good hurt, you know? I told Abraham, “I think she needs to come every day.”

There are scads of people I need to thank for this day. Jenny & Amy, the brains and enthusiasm behind the project; Jenna, Jancy, Rachel, Christina, Shannon, Lindsey, Megan, for your incredible cleaning and cooking job; Brian & Mike, for the shelf that I love; Catherine, for caring for my son so all this could happen and doing my laundry; and Jessica, for the amazing massage. And of course, Abraham, who played along with this lovely scheme for making this day absolutely wonderful.

I am thankful to God for such fantastic friends. I am thankful to God for God. He really knows me, he really loves me, he really cares for me in all of this. I have been clinging to this with white-knuckled fists for 5 months now, asking him to help me believe it. Sometimes he sends peace that doesn’t make sense so I can know it. Today he sent friends to help me know it.

Entry filed under: Life.

Have I matured or something? “I lived through that.”

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. danielle  |  March 8, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    that’s amazing.

    also…you should be able to post as molly from wordpress…shouldn’t need to sign in to blogger.

    and finally, just copy and paste it…it should keep the formatting and will look cool.

    Reply
  • 2. shawnda  |  March 8, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    WHAT A GIFT, indeed!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sounds like an amazing, sweet, worshipful, encouraging, fellowship-ful, relaxing, productive day! That’s ONE GOOD DAY! : )

    Reply
  • 3. jenna  |  March 8, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    it was a sweet time. we were all happy to love on you and your family. i’m just so glad i didn’t terrify you when you opened the door expecting an empty house. i did notice (in the car after we left) that i had a crusty nose from being outside in the cold earlier in the morning…that nearly terrified *me*…so it goes…

    Reply
  • 4. Jason Pauli  |  March 8, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    I’m glad my wife doesn’t know about this blog. This is just setting the “great husband bar” way, way too high.

    Reply
  • 5. Susan  |  March 9, 2008 at 8:13 am

    WOW! that is so awesome. You really deserve it!! (And of course, I am very jealous! Right now, Roger is off waiting at Toys R Us to buy a Wii, and here I am, with Ian…who got up an hour early because of the time change, and decided he doesn’t want to nap! With a HUGE MOUNTAIN of laundry, a dirty kitchen, and cheerios all over the floor. And my breakfast was a cup of bitter coffee Roger basically threw at me on his way out the door… my belly is growling, i need a pedicure, i haven’t showered yet, and there’s a hole in the crotch of my sweatpants that I’m wearing!)

    Oh the JOYS of being a mommy!

    I’m so glad you had such a wonderful day!!! Incredible!!

    Reply
  • 6. Stacey  |  March 9, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    I SECOND what Susan said!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 7. Dana Cordell  |  March 9, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    i am so thrilled for you my sister- what an amazing day! You needed it and deserved every minute of it!
    I am totally jealous (especially of the clean house and the massage!!!!! honk!) Amazing! I pray you feel loved, because you are!

    dana

    Reply
  • 8. dorothy  |  March 9, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Who’s Susan and how did she end in my universe? It’s so bad I didn’t even know I had a hole in my pants until she told me! She did leave out the part about the kitchen ceiling being repaired and the bathtub being used for dishes, but other than that she hit life smack on the head. I am so glad you got the fantasy break today – hugs on top of all that. Stop by some time….please! I am trapped and this is not Disney Land!

    Reply
  • 9. puremotif  |  March 10, 2008 at 8:03 am

    This is so amazing – I am so overjoyed for you and this wonderful day!!!! A massage in your own house???? bliss….

    Reply
  • 10. Stephanie  |  March 10, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    How wonderful! I am so glad that you enjoyed the surprise! And, a massage–how fun! Love you Molly!

    Reply
  • 11. jenna  |  March 10, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    “I am thankful to God for God”…brought tears to my eyes. failed to put that in my previous comment.

    Reply
  • 12. Jessica Hanson  |  March 12, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Molly! It was so great to meet you and I was tickled that you liked the massage. 🙂 Janice Evans directed me to your blog here, she is in small group with me. Small Bethlehem world, isn’t it. I also remembered that Marty and I saw you once at Overflow, knitting, a couple months ago or so. If I saw you now I’d say hi! I worked for 6 months at Overflow, my other friend Molly owns it. Isn’t it just a great Christian coffee shop?! Have a great day!

    Reply
  • 13. jancy  |  March 13, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    I was blessed to experience the fullness of the body of Christ in your home that day Molly. Praise the Lord for the grace He gives and allows us to love others and glorify Himself all in one joyous occassion. Love and prayers.

    Reply
  • 14. robyn  |  March 17, 2008 at 11:58 am

    that sounds so luxurious!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


