“I lived through that.”

March 11, 2008 at 9:06 am 8 comments

We had dinner last night with new friends who feel like old friends. The reason I say that is because their first child died four years ago in a hospital in Turkey, after she went into labor at 24 weeks while in a middle-eastern country. The medical technology was just not available to deal with her problem. She had an emergency c-section, and when she came out of the sedation, her child had already died. The hospital let them have him for about 10 minutes, and then they never saw him again.

We talked about loss, not just of our children, but of all kinds of things–hope, faith, dreams, naiveté. We also talked about restoration of a lot of things–hope, faith, dreams–but the naiveté doesn’t ever return. Once you’ve experienced tragedy and suffering like they have, you never live the same way, thinking, “those things happen to other people, not us.”

They now have a two-year-old daughter who is just a delight. She and Orison had a blast together. It was so amazing to listen to them playing together and laughing.

As we shared our pictures and mementos of Felicity’s birth with them (at their request, which felt wonderful to have someone ask to see her), she marveled, “I lived through that. God brought me through that.”

Entry filed under: Felicity, Grief.

I have incredible friends!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MaryD  |  March 11, 2008 at 10:24 am

    so glad you were able to be together with them. your two young families have lived through heartbreaking days– but GOD has been, continues to be and will be faithful in bringing you through. (and heaven will be especially sweet i imagine for families like yours and theirs who have a reunion like that to anticipate.)

    Reply
  • 2. shawnda  |  March 11, 2008 at 11:42 am

    You never cease to amaze me….how the Lord has brought people around you and brought YOU through this trial.

    Praising Him for sweet friendships, restored faith, hope, and dreams….and even the tragedies that make us more like Christ….somehow.

    Reply
  • 3. puremotif  |  March 11, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    this post is really beautiful – i’m so glad you are meeting people like this that you can relate to and give you that hope. seeing felicity’s pictures was a really poignant moment for me, I’m really glad I did.

    Reply
  • 4. danielle  |  March 12, 2008 at 6:50 am

    i love you

    Reply
  • 5. crystal  |  March 12, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    is that dustin and kelly? 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Veronica  |  March 27, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    My 5 yo was born by emergency c-section. He lived and is fine. But as they were wheeling me into sugery after the monitor showed his heart stopping and no oxygen going to his brain, I was so terrified I couldn’t pray. In the midst of the chaos Isaiah 43 exploded into my brain – “…when you walk through the fire you will not be burned. For I am the Lord your God and I AM WITH YOU ALWAYS.” I couldn’t believe the peace that filled me at that moment.

    What interests me the most is that there was no promise that everything was going to be ok. Even at that moment I realized God wasn’t promising that the baby or I would survive or be all right. It was just a complete and utter assurance that God would be with me no matter what.

    I loved your last line: “I lived through that. God brought me through that.”

    Thanks for sharing with us…

    Reply
  • 7. Veronica  |  April 1, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Hey Molly…I shared this entry with my husband and he ended up using it in his sermon on Sunday. He was preaching on the Road to Emmaues and it fit so perfectly. Naivete doesn’t return – but hope and faith are restored and deepened. We both had many people approach us after the services to share their stories of grief with us. Thank you again for sharing your story…you lived through it and have the eyes to see the resurrected Lord. Now God is using your testimony to help others see Him too!

    Reply
  • 8. Elizabeth  |  April 11, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    i’ve never lost a child. but i’ve lost my faith, my church, some of my family. most of those things have been restored to me, thanks be to God—but i have always felt a special kinship with those who’ve gone through deep, unmitigated chasms of grief. i know that instant “I know you” feeling of new friends who feel like old. thank you for sharing. it touched me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


