Madness, not just in March

March 17, 2008 at 7:41 pm 12 comments

I’ll just say it up front–I am so, so glad that my husband is not “into” sports. That doesn’t mean he doesn’t enjoy the occasional game on a TV somewhere that he just happens to be in front of , or even that he doesn’t get pretty excited during one of these said games. I guess I should say, I’m really glad that he doesn’t follow sports.

I don’t want you to think I’m thankful for that simply because I don’t like sports–I do. I enjoy a minor league or major league baseball game immensely, most college sports, World Cup soccer, and though I’ve never been to one, I imagine I’d enjoy a professional football game a lot. I enjoy playing sports–volleyball if it’s not too competitive, badminton, softball/wiffleball/whatever, kickball…. I will participate in most yard games and sports if given the opportunity. And I like running a moderate amount also.

I don’t think I could get excited about it if my husband were always rattling off sports statistics from the past 5 decades or always ditching me on weekends to watch “the game.” I mean, I can appreciate having “a team” that you always follow and know about, but so many men know everything about every team in every sport!

That’s not to say I don’t sometimes get ditched for the latest book or game of Scrabble–trust me, I do. But I’m all about having married a nerd. I’d have it no other way. You can take your March Madness, April Absurdity, May Mania, etc. As long as I can find a book to read near him or a knitting project to work on while the Scrabble game takes place, I’m not excluded in any way from being a part of what he’s “into.”

I love you, my non-sports-follower husband. Let’s let our madness run through the entire year.

Entry filed under: Spoutings.

We’re nearing the end of March… Today is the 22nd.

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karla D'Agosta  |  March 17, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    I am with you friend. Feel free to borrow my phrase of: I don’t usually enjoy games involving balls being kicked or thrown at my head.

    Reply
  • 2. crystal b.  |  March 17, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    I’m glad I married a nerd too :o)

    Reply
  • 3. Kendra  |  March 17, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    I heart my nerd, too!

    Reply
  • 4. Stacey  |  March 17, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    LOL, what prompted this. Do you knit and play scrabble at the same time??? I hear that scrabble is pretty intense…..speed scrabble…..scrabble tourneys. My parents have been playing LOL, I sent my mom a scrabble dictionary for her bday. My dad said it didn’t help because she is still losing. Go Steelers!

    Reply
  • 5. Abraham Piper  |  March 18, 2008 at 5:58 am

    Stacey, I think I prompted it by being especially nerdalicious lately.

    Reply
  • 6. puremotif  |  March 18, 2008 at 6:59 am

    i love my nerd too, although mine is a little too fond of a particular kind of nerdiness—gamer-nerd.

    he does like soccer, but that’s really the only thing and he doesn’t spend all his energy on it.

    Reply
  • 7. robyn  |  March 18, 2008 at 7:22 am

    March Madness? What’s that?!

    No, just kidding. I know what it is, but I too, have a non-sports following husband and I love it!

    Reply
  • 8. danielle  |  March 18, 2008 at 7:55 am

    all i have to say is: WEATHER.

    Reply
  • 9. shawnda  |  March 18, 2008 at 8:48 am

    love it! I’m totally with you! ; )

    Reply
  • 10. Molly  |  March 18, 2008 at 10:06 am

    what prompted it, i suppose, was thinking about how many guys live by their “brackets” this march–what nameless college they care nothing about beat what other nameless college they also care nothing about–except to just have more ridiculous facts to discuss with each other for the month of March.

    whew, i’m so glad we’re not a part of it.

    Reply
  • 11. Liz  |  March 18, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    On the other hand, I adore my “sports nerd” – I’m so thankful we enjoy this stuff together…along with Scrabble and a good book. God knows what’s best for each of us, doesn’t He and I’m ever so thankful.

    (FYI – we’ll be watching basketball in HD if anyone is interested in joining us.)

    Reply
  • 12. Karen Engstrom  |  March 23, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Just stumbled here, Molly. Thank you for your thoughts. They blessed me…you write well.
    🙂

    I often tell my older daughters (14 and 15) that the best thing they can do is to marry a nerd. Sadly, their next younger brothers (10 and 12) are jocks. I wonder what I can do to turn them into nerds to make them better husbands some day? Hm.
    (That’s tongue-in-cheek…I’m sure there are some nice jocks out there.)
    🙂

    Bless you…
    Karen in WA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


