We’re nearing the end of March…

March 17, 2008 at 8:35 am 14 comments

and I have yet to get any Girl Scout Cookies!!! I was a Brownie & Girl Scout when I was little, and though I didn’t do it for long, those cookies somehow get into your bloodstream and make you crave them for a lifetime. If I were in Erie, I’m pretty sure the little suppliers would be at every local grocery store for the duration of the sale, but I haven’t seen any in our neighborhood. Perhaps Girl Scouts aren’t as popular in the urban areas? Is it a suburban thing here? Or perhaps it’s just not as popular across the board?

Anyway, I’m really hoping for a box of Thin Mints and Samoas (the coconuty-chocolate ones). And if I really go crazy, I might get a box of Tagalongs, too (the ones with the peanut butter inside). I have gone so far as to email the regional chapter of the Girl Scouts to find out where I can get some, but I have yet to receive a reply. Apparently they do not understand the gravity of this situation. 🙂

Moving on… we had a lovely Palm Sunday weekend. Actually, yesterday we had a pretty big group over for Sunday dinner. I haven’t had a group like that over since before Christmas (and I honestly have no idea how I did that, I must have just been insane–I can hardly recall it). But it was a lot of fun to do it yesterday. I was totally exhausted at the end, but it was still fun. It’s been so long since we’ve had plans on a weekend that Abraham turned to me last night and said, “Having plans on the weekend makes it go by so fast. Let’s not have any of those anymore.” 🙂 We’ve really cut back since September. In some ways, we’ve decided to have fewer plans, in other ways it has just happened. I think it’s a good place for our family to be right now.

Entry filed under: Life.

Madness, not just in March

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jason Pauli  |  March 17, 2008 at 9:44 am

    Someone left about a third of a case of girl scout cookies laying around Grace last week. I was going to walk around handing them out at youth groups but I was scared someone had ordered them, forgot them here, and would come looking.

    And here you are searching for them everywhere…

    Reply
  • 2. danielle  |  March 17, 2008 at 9:51 am

    i think my mom can hook you up…let me check. also. thin mints and samoas are my favorite, too! i don’t think we’ve ever talked about this…weird.

    Reply
  • 3. Courtney Tarter  |  March 17, 2008 at 10:16 am

    They sell Girl Scout cookies at the grocery store by my house here in Louisville. If you can’t find any I would be happy to pick some up for you and send them your way!

    I got some Samoa’s myself. The box was gone in three days. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Molly  |  March 17, 2008 at 10:34 am

    Wow, I wasn’t thinking I’d get offers for shipping them! You are so sweet! I’m still holding out for an email from my local chapter, but I’ll let you know if that falls through.

    Reply
  • 5. MaryD  |  March 17, 2008 at 10:46 am

    g.s. cookies, especially thin mints, are one of the things i really miss about being in the states! i can’t remember the last time i was there at the right time and place to have them though! (and the mint melts and gets nasty if you try to ship them to africa, i know this through experience!!)

    Reply
  • 6. Emily Tarter  |  March 17, 2008 at 11:30 am

    Hi Molly,

    Not sure if you remember me, we’ve met a few times (I’m Courtney’s sister-in-law!) But I found your blog through the 2520 girls 🙂 Just wanted to let you know that the Girl Scouts are at the Cub on East Lake St. every time my husband and I go grocery shopping (we usually do this on Sundays, I’m not sure if they are there all days of the week or not) Hope you can find some before the cookie season is over!

    Reply
  • 7. robyn  |  March 17, 2008 at 11:57 am

    I love thin mints.

    i feel the same way about doing so many social things on the weekends. It makes them go by too fast and I’m usually exhausted.

    Reply
  • 8. jenna  |  March 17, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    i’m going to risk being THE biggest buzz kill by telling you that I recently heard that Girl scouts is the largest supporter of Planned parenthood. (google it) Seriously. I know. I feel like a jerk for sharing this info. I don’t think every chapter gives financial support, though. I can taste the Samoas now, but will probably never support Girl Scouts ever again. My advice, Molly: take the freebies as they come. Enjoy them…guilt free…because you didn’t buy them. By the way, weren’t Tagalongs once called Hoe Downs? And what are the shortbread ones called? Could eat a sleeve of thin mints or the shortbread ones in a sitting.

    Reply
  • 9. Susan  |  March 17, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    ehh, you know, I’m late getting to your blog today! I ordered 10 boxes from my niece (ugh, i know, 10??) But I happened to have ordered 2 each of Samoas, Thin Mints, and Tagalongs. I’d love to share with you!

    I don’t need all those cookies myself anyway 🙂

    If you’d like me to, I can get them in the mail to you as soon as my parents get back (from Louisville, KY, where my niece lives…)!

    Reply
  • 10. puremotif  |  March 17, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    we already ate our 7 boxes…. i didn’t realize but i love the lemon chalets!!

    still have some thin mints left i think 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. shawnda  |  March 17, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Oh yummy! I love the tagalongs! : )

    I haven’t seen them here either! Interesting!

    And I had to tell you that I got some Swiss cheese, and it was YUMMMMOOOOO!!!! : )

    Reply
  • 12. Jason Pauli  |  March 17, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    7 boxes down?!?!

    I don’t think I did that when I was pushin’ 300.

    Oh wait, now it’s coming back to me… eating Somoans by the handful.

    Yep. I made 7 boxes look like a snack.

    Reply
  • 13. Stacey  |  March 19, 2008 at 12:01 am

    Where have all the Girl Scout’s gone????

    Thin mints are great going down but not so good the next day coming out!

    Reply
  • 14. Andie  |  March 22, 2008 at 10:44 am

    Molly,
    Crystal gave me your blog address. It’s really nice to catch up on you. I just wanted you to know I’m praying for you today, especially. It’s good to hear what’s going on.
    Love, Andie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


