He’s My Prairie Home Companion

April 9, 2008 at 9:44 pm 21 comments

It is my pleasure to take a brief breath in our grief discussion to announce that my husband is a superstar. Truly, he is.

He submitted a sonnet to A Prairie Home Companion’s Love Sonnet Contest last week. They contacted him today to ask if they could post it on their site! You can go here to read it. It’s also on the homepage, if you want to scroll down and see it in all it’s front-page glory.

By the way, the grand prize is a Sleep Number bed. With our lumpy mattress, I’m really hoping he wins. They announce the winner this week on the show!

I’m a little bit proud of him. I think I squeal with delight every time I think about it.

Entry filed under: Life.

Ask Her Specific Questions My Sleep Number???

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JessicainFlorida  |  April 10, 2008 at 6:21 am

    Squeeeeeee!! This is SO exciting. I mean, a Sleep Number Bed! Wow!

    Oh yeah, and the front-page peom is pretty cool, too. 🙂

    Congratulations, Abraham. I’ll say I knew you when.

    All my love to the Pipers, J

    Reply
  • 2. Courtney  |  April 10, 2008 at 6:27 am

    Congratulations! Poetry writing was my hardest class in college, so I am always fascinated when people I know can write poetry.

    Reply
  • 3. dorothy  |  April 10, 2008 at 6:50 am

    Go Abraham Go! The Bode bunch loved it this morning – check, Homeschool poetry done this morning!

    Reply
  • 4. Tina  |  April 10, 2008 at 7:36 am

    Wow, a sleep number bed. I have wanted one of those for a while now. I hope he wins!! The sonnet was hilarious.

    Reply
  • 5. Derek  |  April 10, 2008 at 8:25 am

    that is fantastic! I love the sonnet – made me laugh out loud in the middle of Panera. Three cheers for a comfy bed!

    Reply
  • 6. danielle  |  April 10, 2008 at 9:08 am

    ok, like i mentioned on aber’s blog, i pretty much peed my pants over that thing.

    Reply
  • 7. kait  |  April 10, 2008 at 9:30 am

    Nice! We are prairie home fans!

    Reply
  • 8. Mrs. MK  |  April 10, 2008 at 10:42 am

    Sooo fun! Hope you win!

    Reply
  • 9. Jenna  |  April 10, 2008 at 11:21 am

    So cute! I’ll tell my husband to keep an ear out when he listens. Too cool.

    Reply
  • 10. shawnda  |  April 10, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    ya’ll are too fun! ; ) I just read his poem – so snappy ; )

    Hope you win that bed!!!

    Reply
  • 11. robyn  |  April 10, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    congrats to aber! I’m going to go read it right now!

    hope you win that sleep number bed!

    xo
    r

    Reply
  • 12. Marsel  |  April 10, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    My husband and I are diehard Sleep Number people…we love ours…so I really hope he wins so you can enjoy one, too! 🙂

    Reply
  • 13. puremotif  |  April 10, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    awwww that is so great and fun.

    Reply
  • 14. proverbs31  |  April 10, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    Awesome! Hope y’all win. I read the poem, and thought it was quite clever. 🙂

    Reply
  • 15. Stacey  |  April 10, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    LOL, hope you get your bed and if not….maybe you can just get some new sheep…..I don’t know what’s cheaper. I guess the bed if it is free…….but the sheep could mow your lawn or eat your lawn which is probably cheaper than buying gas right now to mow it……….just some thoughts…….mull it over and get back to me.

    Reply
  • 16. carissa  |  April 11, 2008 at 12:15 am

    hi! i really, really liked the poem. it’s more than clever. it’s. . . smooth. if i were you i’d squeal with delight too. i have my own boyfriend who does cool things, so i know how i feel when he does something rockstar awesome (in a humble way). :]

    Reply
  • 17. andrea  |  April 11, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    That’s awesome!! Congratulations Abraham!

    After reading his sonnet, we almost had Steph convinced to submit her own.

    Reply
  • 18. Elizabeth  |  April 11, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    lol, carissa. i need to learn how to do something “rockstar awesome in a humble way.”

    really cool, molly. i’m a big keillor fan myself. once applied for a job on his site. didn’t get the job, but got a nice letter from him—or his people. 😉

    Reply
  • 19. Colette Frazier  |  April 12, 2008 at 5:26 am

    This is fantastic! I love PHC! i miss hearing it on the radio after church:) I’m going to check the website tomorrow to see if you won that bed of roses!!! I’m not at all surprised that Abraham made it to the finals–good poetry runs in the family!:)

    Reply
  • 20. Liz  |  April 12, 2008 at 6:33 am

    Molly – That husband of yours is pretty clever. Dan and I chuckled as I read it aloud to him. Well said!!

    Reply
  • 21. jennapants  |  April 13, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    i got in the car to go to church, and much to my surprise and delight, 99.5 was airing the sonnets. but alas, i only had about 12 minutes to get where i was going. i heard maybe four or five sonnets. did i hear a sonnet about “coming out” and julie andrews and “the sound of music”? it was lame and awkward. anyways, i missed your honey’s sonnet…hope you had fun all huddled next to the radio like in the olden days!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


