My Sleep Number???

April 13, 2008 at 5:00 pm 9 comments

We’ll never know.

We had some close friends come over to listen to the show with us, ate tacos, and waited with more and more anticipation as the two-hour show sauntered on. They read the sonnets throughout the show, some of the ones that were on the homepage with Abraham’s and some that weren’t. We were mentally checking off the ones that they were reading as no longer being contenders, hoping we would hear Abraham’s read at the end of the show, kind of like a grand finale.

But then the show started closing, and they made it clear that they had read all the sonnets for the evening. Now here’s the most disappointing part—they took all these “finalists” and just put their names in a basket and drew a winner!

To me, that doesn’t really feel like a contest. I suppose it’s a contest because some people were eliminated, but then to just pick a random winner! Oh the injustice of it all!

So I will probably never know what my “Sleep Number” is. I suppose if I get to share a lumpy mattress with such a creative, brilliant, hilarious guy I can’t complain too much.

By the way, Abraham was still considered a finalist, even though he wasn’t read on the air. I think he wins a book of sonnets as a consolation prize.

Entry filed under: Fun, Life.

He’s My Prairie Home Companion I’m in Kentucky.

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jennapants  |  April 13, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    what the heck??? that’s a shame. a SHAME. you mean the homoerotic ‘ode to julie andrews’ sonnet got a live read and not the clever sonnet your husband wrote? and i was hoping they’d share the dialogue. ya know, garrison reading A’s lines and the lady reading yours. darn shame. well. at least you had tacos and close friends. btw, you can delete this comment since i wrote ‘homoerotic’. twice.

    Reply
  • 2. Liz  |  April 14, 2008 at 5:21 am

    Ah, the injustice of it all. It was a very clever sonnet – sorry he didn’t win! Maybe next time?

    Reply
  • 3. Chelsea  |  April 14, 2008 at 6:06 am

    Aww, that’s too bad. I thought it was very cute. We could also use a new mattress. I feel your pain (literally).

    Reply
  • 4. proverbs31  |  April 14, 2008 at 8:40 am

    Oh, how disappointing!!

    Reply
  • 5. Stacey  |  April 14, 2008 at 9:38 am

    I told you that you should have opted for sheep instead.

    Reply
  • 6. Molly  |  April 14, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Jennapants,

    Don’t worry about feeling a little sick about the homoerotic Julie Andrews poem–it was not good.

    And don’t worry, I said ‘homoerotic’–twice. 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. danielle  |  April 14, 2008 at 11:53 am

    just put the sonnet book under the mattress to even it out. that should help.

    Reply
  • 8. Mike Tong  |  April 14, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Molly, if you had a sleep number it would be 5 (five).

    Reply
  • 9. darci  |  April 15, 2008 at 5:31 am

    Good morning, I just happened upon you blog – a blessing from the Lord. I am usually a leurker, stalker if you will. I read that post, so I am commenting! I think its great that you are blogging your grief journey…. My son died in 2006, and I wish I had blogged it! I am so sorry for your loss of Felicity here on earth. I know God doesn’t make mistakes and He has perfect plans we don’t understand. That does help. HOwever, I know the shearing pain of the trauma. IT’s definetly a journey THROUGH the valley, and you seem to be traveling along well. May you continue to share your heart to help those in grief – tuckersalisbury.com.
    Blessings,
    darci

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


