We’re HOME!

April 19, 2008 at 12:35 pm 13 comments

After experiencing two earthquakes in Louisville yesterday (one at 5:30am and one at 11:15am), I was more than ready to get on the plane and come home.

I don’t have a lot of information to report from our time there. The men who attended the sessions at Together for the Gospel got tons of free books, which they were very happy about. My time was spent mostly hanging out with Abraham and other friends. We slept a lot less than I would have hoped, and now we’re wiped out. Isn’t that the way of conferences?

Here are some funny interactions that occurred between Orison and his Grandmama while we were away:

O: Sometimes I cry when I go to bed because I don’t like the dark.
me: why don’t you like the dark.
O: I’m scared of the dark.
Me: What makes you afraid of the dark.
O: I’m scared there might be animals there.
Me: But if you turn on the light, are there animals there?
O: no
Me: Then if you turn off the lights they’re not there either.
O: Frances opened her eyes in bed and she saw a dragon. Then she closed her eyes. Then she opened her eyes again and she saw a crack in the ceiling. She thought an animal would come out. I’m talking about Frances the badger.

(Talking to Aunt Talitha) O: You can’t see me, Talfla, because I have my eyes closed.

Me: I’m holding your surprise in my fist. What do you think it is?
O: Something I can eat?
Me: No. Something you can put in your pocket.
O: A penny?
Me: No, but really close.
O, faintly, thinking: a kenny?

Complaining about having to walk home from library. Then silence for a while.
O: I don’t like the way Jesus made this sidewalk.
Me: What’s wrong with it?
O: Because I don’t want to walk on it.

Entry filed under: Life, Orison.

I Lost My Coat(?) in Louisville Just one green grave is mine.

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ellie  |  April 19, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Orison is TOO funny!!! Those quotes were priceless!

    Reply
  • 2. shawnda  |  April 19, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Oh man! Hilarious! The more I learn about Orison, the more I wish he and Samuel could spend a day together ; ) Maybe they can be college roommates one day : )

    Reply
  • 3. crystal  |  April 19, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    i still haven’t outgrown my fear of crocodiles under my bed. when it’s dark in the room…. i feel as though I should jump into bed from a safe distance… at least 3 feet away or so…

    sometimes… johnathon turns the light out on me… just to hear me be ridiculous about the crocs in our room…

    i have no idea why i still struggle with this! i’m almost 24 years old…

    i know it’s ridiculous!

    Reply
  • 4. Molly  |  April 19, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    That’s hilarious, Crystal! I was just telling Tyler on the way home from Louisville that I was totally afraid of a shark swimming at the end of my bed where my feet didn’t reach. Was there water anywhere NEAR my bed? No. We didn’t even live by an ocean. It was totally insane.

    Reply
  • 5. jennapants  |  April 19, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    the creature under my bed has reptilian-like skin, 5 or more arms, and a pair of scissors in each hand…

    do my limbs hang over the edge? absolutely not.

    does it make ANY sense? nope.

    (btw, LOVE, “a kenny?”…that’s just brilliant.)

    Reply
  • 6. Stephanie G.  |  April 19, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    Molly, I had a mixture of yours and Crystal’s…I had sharks swimming around my bed. I would always get a running leap into bed so they wouldn’t get me. Now, thanks to your blog, I’m going to have to start leaping into bed again…sweet!

    Reply
  • 7. robyn  |  April 20, 2008 at 11:27 am

    such cute interactions! thanks for sharing. that book looks really cute. I love the writing and illustrations in older book.

    Reply
  • 8. Anna  |  April 20, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Those quotes are just darling. He sounds like a precocious little one. 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Trenton  |  April 21, 2008 at 12:00 am

    No way! I was afraid of Bed Sharks too!

    And I used to freak out a little bit when I thought about the thousands of dust mites that crawl around on our bed sheets as we sleep. Now I just don’t think about it. I can’t handle the thought.

    Reply
  • 10. Ronnica  |  April 21, 2008 at 8:22 am

    Who do you know at TCC in Raleigh? The Cordells or the Williams? I don’t know either family personally, but I go to the church that planted that church!

    Reply
  • 11. Jake  |  April 21, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    “We slept a lot less than I would have hoped…”
    I bet Orisons grandparents are saying the same thing.
    🙂 Melissa

    Reply
  • 12. Kelly  |  April 30, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    Bedtime for Frances has been one of our staples for bedtime reading. I love it!

    Reply
  • 13. The Responsible Puppet  |  May 2, 2008 at 9:28 am

    […] – Mostly gleaned from three blogs and Youtube. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


