Just one green grave is mine.

April 21, 2008 at 10:07 pm 3 comments

I was moved to tears in the airport the other day when I read this:

One child and two green graves are mine
This is God’s gift to me;
A bleeding, fainting, broken heart —
This is my gift to Thee.

(Elizabeth Prentiss: More Love to Thee, 76)

Thank you, Shawnda, for this amazing book!

Entry filed under: Grief.

We’re HOME! I haven’t finished the book yet, but….

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gabby  |  April 21, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    Oh Molly, that verse is beautiful. But can I say that it is beautiful to me because I know you? Your humility towards the Lord this past year have left me awestruck. I love you!
    Gabby

    Reply
  • 2. shawnda  |  April 22, 2008 at 9:16 am

    I was moved to tears when I read that on the airplane on the way to the pastors conference!! And I’m moved to tears reading the title of your post and the verse from the poem again. I love you dearly! Praying for you, my friend.

    Reply
  • 3. Kim  |  April 28, 2008 at 7:50 am

    I was pregnant last year when I made an attempt to read this book. Certainly there must be a strange sense of comfort in her story (His story) of relentless faith in her life despite such extreme loss.

    I could not get through it, but I’ll try again because it is such a rich read.

    Blessings.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


