Derailed=My Wednesday

April 30, 2008 at 3:47 pm 13 comments

It’s been one of those days where I just keep shaking my head and thanking God that I haven’t dissolved into a puddle of inconsolable tears. Every plan I make seems to be getting thwarted.

It began with thinking, “Oh I need to return a phone call to my sister-in-law.” I pick up the phone—no dial tone. We spend much of the morning chatting via computer with the phone company customer service people, who were no help whatsoever.

The weird thing was, our phone wasn’t working, but our DSL was. So we were thinking, “We’re gonna call the repairman; he’ll say the problem is something on our end; and we’re going to get charged $60 for him to tell us it’s not their fault.”

Now normally I would be okay with not having a phone for a day, but today of all mornings was when my boss was supposed to call. Of course, I had to email her about not having a phone, and confess that we (*gasp*) don’t have a cell phone.

Then I was attempting to straighten up the bathroom a bit before hopping in the shower. Doing so, I managed to drop a glass bottle against the claw-foot tub. If any of you have one of those old beasts (by the way, I love it) you know the glass bottle had no chance. It shattered into shards of glass that were so fine that I spent probably a half-hour just getting the pieces up.

And I haven’t even told you what was in the bottle. Bath oil, of course! So not only is my bathroom covered in microscopic glass fragments, but also a bonus layer of minty OIL! I degreased the bathroom floor and bathtub for another half hour.

Side note: I don’t know how I would have kept my sanity if my husband didn’t work from home. I sent the well-meaning, but way too curious three-year-old downstairs to keep daddy company for awhile.

Eventually I got the shower.

It’s a beautiful day here, so we decided to stop at the cemetery on the way home from our one errand. Felicity’s gravestone was dug up and off to the side.

Turns out it was sinking and they were resetting it. Not a bad thing, I’m happy they’re doing it, but it was a little jarring. I just hoped for a nice visit on a beautiful day.

Then we came home, and I put Orison down to nap. He’s still laying in bed, not sleeping. He’s just whispering, rolling around, occasionally squawking, etc. I don’t know about you, but that makes my blood boil. More so because I’m already a little on edge.

Is this kind of day included in what James meant when he wrote that we’d face “trials of various kinds?” Is this day a series of “trials” or am I elevating simple annoyances to a place they don’t belong? Don’t other people have real trials?

Regardless of how “real” my trials are, I’m waiting for today’s testing to produce the promised steadfastness, so I will lack nothing. But maybe the word “various” is in there so that people like you and me can fit there on our normal bad days.

Entry filed under: Life.

What Is RSS? A Step-by-Step Guide to Google Reader Always On My Mind

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  April 30, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    *gasp* no cell phone hahahah I loved that. The big *gasp* may come soon though as Orison may no longer need, dare I say, a NAP. Max rarely naps anymore during the day and Griffin who is only 18 months is hit and miss w/his naps already. One good thing is, he will go in his crib and play around for an hour or more while I exercise or shower. He actually likes it in there but does not always go to sleep. The days of the 3 hour naps are gonzo.

    Reply
  • 2. Suzanne  |  April 30, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Your Wednesday sounds like my Monday – including a leaky roof leaking into my youngest son’s room ,a broken door on our van, just to name a few….but I didn’t respond as well as you did. Thanks for the encouragement.

    Reply
  • 3. kendra  |  April 30, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Yes, these are indeed trials! And yes, many people suffer to much greater degrees, but that doesn’t negate the fact that these are your trials of various kinds today, and that He cares deeply about your troubles, too. Press on!

    Reply
  • 4. Elizabeth  |  April 30, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Around Orison’s age we gave our son an alarm clock. He’s 3 1/2 now, and he has to have quiet time in his bed, books only, for one hour. When the alarm goes off, he can get up and play in his room. I’ll reset the alarm ,and he plays until it goes off. Usually I’ll have him play for about an hour and a half. The great thing is that now my 9 month old plays for about 15 minutes in there with him too!

    Reply
  • 5. puremotif  |  April 30, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    these kind of days are SO trying, i know that feeling. It just seems like everything is just going wrong, and then the little things make us so much more emotional than we normally would be. The bathroom, glass, oil – UGH! That would just be so frustrating. I would have definitely cried.

    And I can imagine how seeing Felicity’s gravestone moved from it’s normal spot and especially dug up would be totally shocking/jarring when it happens. Whew.. I’m sorry that had to happen to day for you.

    Tomorrow is new, and His mercies are new every morning.

    Reply
  • 6. Kelly  |  April 30, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    In facing trials, no matter how small, we chose HOW we are going to face these little annoyances. Are we going to show God’s grace even though we are really angry? Today was a rough one here as well. I had to take my 4 y/o boy to the clinic to get a rock out of his ear. The kicker is we were in the ER Saturday night and had a sunflower seed removed from his other ear. Go figure. In the midst of trying to get to the clinic , I was yelling at my 12 y/o because I was frustrated at the 4y/o. She then began yelling. Oh how I got mad!! Then I realized she did it because I did it. I am reading Martha Peace’s Damsels in Distress and in the PMS chapter she states that our emotions give us no excuse to sin. That statement became very real to me in my “trial” today. I then said I was sorry for what I said and how I said it. It is how we face these things that grow us, I think.

    Reply
  • 7. Lee Ann  |  April 30, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    One day we went to Nathaniel’s grave site and his flowers (we still don’t have a permanent marker) had been tossed off to the side in a heap with other random flowers. It made my stomach drop. I felt the same thing when reading your post. It is good they are resetting it, but it is still hard in the moment. Honestly, I feel like all things related to cemeteries, markers, memorials, etc carry an extra weight of difficulty. We recently have had a difficult time getting the final proof of the marker we plan to purchase. That day I was just crying and thinking that on top of having to do this, I have to deal with this run around. These things are so unnatural that they are jarring.

    Reply
  • 8. Mrs. MK  |  May 1, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Thank you for sharing your various trials with us. It was a hard day for me as well, and the blood-boiling naptime just about did me in. God’s word is so comforting and yet….difficult. It’s easy to excuse our bad behaviour on the “little” trials, but it’s in those daily difficulties that we are practicing for the “big ones”.

    Blessings!

    Reply
  • 9. shawnda  |  May 1, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Amen, sister! Yes, indeed, I think those things are included in “trials” b/c they too are testing our faith and sanctifiying us (by grace)!!! Thanks for your humility and sharing, love your heart!!

    Reply
  • 10. robyn  |  May 2, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    thank God for his new mercies every day and for the trials we face. it is so hard to have days like those. i feel like I’ve had a week like that!

    Reply
  • 11. Kim  |  May 2, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Another way James 1 can be translated is “when you fall into tests of stamina”. Sounds like that sums up your day…
    I can say that one good thing about those days is that it makes whatever comes on Thursday look like a multitude of blessing! I can always look back and say, “Well, at least it’s better than Wednesday!” I’m grateful you survived it still waiting with hope! Grace to you & PEACE!

    Reply
  • 12. Kelly @ Love Well  |  May 3, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    I read this on Wednesday, when I was also having a derailed day. But I so related, I bookmarked it so I could return later and comment.

    It’s now Saturday, and I’m just getting back to you. Which should say something.

    We’ve all had days like this, Molly. I sometimes think the annoyances of everyday living are harder to defend against, in a spiritual manner, simply because they seem so “small.”

    Reply
  • 13. Sunshine  |  May 3, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    can SO relate – but found SO much encouragement with your post! Thanks for telling us both how your day went and better yet how you handled it! I hope you are having an amazing weekend! Sunshine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


