Summer Shins

May 21, 2008 at 11:07 am 19 comments

The first day my three-year-old wore shorts, I was a little horrified at what I saw.

Entry filed under: Fun, Orison.

Cleaning Her House Is Next to Godliness My Official Signature

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barnabas  |  May 21, 2008 at 11:17 am

    Grace was the same way, except with a little blood thrown in.

    Reply
  • 2. amandaginn  |  May 21, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    When I read the title of this post in my google reader, “Wow. Is Molly going to talk about her shins? That’s bold.” Quite frankly, I’m glad to see a picture of Orison’s shins and not yours. (No offense, Molly. It might have been just a little awkward.) 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Carrie  |  May 21, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    My 3-year-old has the same shins! I’m terrified the next time I take him to the doctor, they’re going to call CPS on me!!!

    Reply
  • 4. JessicainFlorida  |  May 21, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    Awwww. Look at those poor little legs. So cute.

    This is the cool thing about being a kid, though – you’re so durable. He’s just rocking along and barely noticing. Sadly my shins don’t look much different.

    I’m so glad that “shorts weather” has finally returned to the frozen tundra. If you’re interested in some “90 degrees with 95% humidity weather” just let me know.

    Reply
  • 5. Molly Piper  |  May 21, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Carrie, I know what you mean—I was totally thinking CPS… CPS. However, if he has my genes he’s going to bruise easily. My mom does; I do. I remember as a kid my mom seeing me getting dressed and asking, horrified, “Molly, what happened to your…” with various body parts and I never knew the answer.

    Reply
  • 6. Kim  |  May 21, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    I was thinking the same thought one year! I actually asked our pediatrician about it when I took our girls in for a yearly checkup. She reassured me that seeing it means the kids are running, playing and tumbling just like they should be! She said she’s more concerned when she doesn’t see any bruising on a toddler.

    We used to say about Cassie that she could never pass up a good door frame (!) so her forehead was also a mess. I just knew I’d get a visit one day…

    Reply
  • 7. shawnda  |  May 21, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Karis’ legs look the same way!! : ) Proof that they are having a great time, right?!!

    Reply
  • 8. Jess  |  May 21, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    My legs looked just like that after 12 attempts at water skiing.

    Reply
  • 9. Mrs. MK  |  May 21, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Boys….aren’t they great?!!!!

    Reply
  • 10. Noel  |  May 21, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Early every spring,I’d buy at least one package of every size of bandaid–smallest to largest, heavy on the large sizes. By the end of the summer, the 4 boys would have used them up.

    Reply
  • 11. Shannon Archer  |  May 21, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Shins only a mother could love…just kidding!

    Reply
  • 12. jennapants  |  May 21, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    Oh, I just had Miles counting his bruises the other day in an effort to distract him from poor behavior. They came in handy. And I totally bruise easily, too. My legs look almost as bad as the boys!!

    Reply
  • 13. Kelly @ Love Well  |  May 21, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    But at least he’s able to wear shorts, now, right?!? I mean — today was beautiful, bruised shins and all. He just needs some sun to help those things blend in. (Said with the voice of experience.)

    Reply
  • 14. Susan  |  May 21, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Ian’s already look like that! (AHH!) And today when i was changing his diaper i noticed a HUGE dark purple bruise on his upper thigh/butt… where’d that come from? did he cry about it? Did i just think he was being fussy? Am i a terrible mother for letting him get so beat up?! CPS?!?!?!? ha ha ha!

    Reply
  • 15. Susan  |  May 21, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Oh, and I simply LOVE that you took a picture of O’s shins to post on here. now THAT is dedication to your blog!!!

    Reply
  • 16. Chris  |  May 22, 2008 at 4:59 am

    It’s just the beginning. Wait until he starts playing baseball and football. Be sure to budget for Neosporin and bandaids, and always have a supply in your glove compartment–along with bee sting treatment. You might only need it a couple of times, but I was grateful to have something to help the boo boo’s feel better when I was prepared. Watch the expiration dates.

    I’m sorry, this was supposed to be just a really cute blog and here I am making it practical and serious. ..

    Reply
  • 17. dorothy  |  May 22, 2008 at 5:58 am

    Hmmmm……any connection to visiting my wild gang?

    Reply
  • 18. Jane Swanson  |  May 22, 2008 at 7:56 am

    We call that “Banana Legs” around here! My children who bruise easily still have legs like that and “she” is 24!

    Reply
  • 19. Stacey  |  May 22, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    OH MY GOSH!!!!!!! We have those identical shins at our house. I FREAKED when I first saw Maxwell’s. Now it is just a common site. Hopefully CPS never shows up and questions us hahahahaha because he looks like we give him 5 lashings to the shins every night. He literally jumps up in the air and comes down on his knees on the carpet??????? BOYS!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


