A Tidal Wave on the 22nd.

May 22, 2008 at 8:38 am 20 comments

Abraham decided it would be best if he just told me right off the bat when I came downstairs this morning—”The Chapman’s, as in the Steven Curtis Chapman’s—five-year-old daughter was killed in a car accident.”

It was the right decision for him to tell me, rather than me finding out randomly on the internet this morning, since it’s already a heavy day as another 22nd marches on and I can do nothing to stop it.

And I can’t do anything to stop the Chapman’s pain, either. It’s going to hit them like a tidal wave over and over and over and they’ll flip and flail under it. They’ll get their bearings somehow and be able to surface for a well-deserved gasping breath. And then another month passes or another birthday passes or another Mother’s Day passes and they’re head-over-heels again.

I’m not trying to be pessimistic or say that God is not there. He’s the tidal wave and he’s the light at the top and he’s the fresh, cold air that their lungs will scream for.

Entry filed under: Faith, Grief.

My Official Signature A Mother of a Birthday

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mrs. MK  |  May 22, 2008 at 9:38 am

    another 22—-I am so sorry! (That hit me like a tidal wave!)

    Weeping now for their pain……….

    Reply
  • 2. danielle  |  May 22, 2008 at 10:08 am

    your last sentence is incredible.

    Reply
  • 3. Rocks In My Dryer  |  May 22, 2008 at 10:21 am

    Yes, weeping and praying. With them and with you.

    Reply
  • 4. Susan  |  May 22, 2008 at 10:29 am

    (((Hugs))) <–sometimes I don’t know what to say other than that, hope its ok 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. shawnda  |  May 22, 2008 at 10:49 am

    Indeed, sister. Amen. You were probably the 2nd thought I had when I heard the news last night. I know you can understand their pain better than most…even though their situation is different still. Weeping with them today….and always weeping with you. Much love to you today as you hope in Him, rest in Him, seek comfort in Him, and are comforted by Him.

    Reply
  • 6. jennapants  |  May 22, 2008 at 11:24 am

    “He’s the tidal wave and he’s the light at the top and he’s the fresh, cold air that their lungs will scream for.”

    This says so much. I can feel this statement.

    Reply
  • 7. diane  |  May 22, 2008 at 11:26 am

    “He’s the tidal wave and He’s the light at the top and He’s the fresh, cold air their lungs will scream for.”

    Beautifully said, Molly. Thank you for saying it. I’m posting this on my bulletin board at my desk.

    I will be praying for you today and on other 22nds.

    because of the cross,
    diane

    Reply
  • 8. MaryDecker  |  May 22, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    It just breaks my heart for that family, can’t even begin to imagine how that son must feel, and how hard for him to forgive himself… how hard for parents to console and support him as they grieve the loss of their daughter. Praying for the Lord’s comfort in this tidal wave of grief.

    Reply
  • 9. Kellie  |  May 22, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    I remember the first time some tragic event happened on October 3rd. I thought now this day is horrible, life changing, tragic, and good in wierd ways for another family. Then I thought and it already was for thousands of other people and every day of the year is for someone. I guess it’s sobering to realize how much suffering there is in the world. And I don’t mean to be pessemistic either.

    Reply
  • 10. Stacey  |  May 22, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Don’t know who they are but read this first thing this morning. Not only is it a horrific tragedy but they get a double whammie as the son will have to live with this. Can’t even wrap my head around stuff like this.

    Reply
  • 11. Kelly @ Love Well  |  May 22, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    He Is.

    Reply
  • 12. leanne gilchrist  |  May 22, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    We’re praying for them too…..

    We played “with hope” at our Janie’s memorial service……

    My heart is heavy for them tonight.

    Leanne in longview

    Reply
  • 13. Chris  |  May 23, 2008 at 5:55 am

    May 10,11, and 12 on the calendar, that certain quality of the air on some autumn afternoons, an announcement for school open house or commencement, the phone ringing at a certain time of night, a certain scripture shared from the pulpit by a pastor who has no idea the added meaning his words carry for us, these and so many other things can bring back memories that bring with them hard emotions for our family.

    It is never easy. Yet if these things just went over my head without evoking any kind of feeling, what kind of person would I be?

    “Blessed are those whose strength is in You,
    in whose heart are the highways to Zion,
    As they go through the Valley of Baca (Weeping)
    they make it a place of springs;
    the early rain also covers it with pools.”
    Psalms 84:5-6

    I’m not sure I understand the context of these verses, but somehow when I am overwhelmed by memories, they come to mind.

    Praying for you today, too,
    Chris D.

    Reply
  • 14. Talitha  |  May 23, 2008 at 8:06 am

    yes. yesterday I heard the news about the chapmens.
    It broke my heart. we had got a christmas card from them in the christmas season and all I could remember was that beautiful picture of all their family. So when i heard the news, i cried and prayed right away.
    Also my favorite song by him is “Cinderella” and this was probably one of his cinderellas.

    Reply
  • 15. puremotif  |  May 23, 2008 at 9:54 am

    happy birthday today Molly!

    Reply
  • 16. Jacki  |  May 23, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Hello, I wanted to let you know that I just found your blog and found your series to be very insightful. Thank you!

    As a side note, Steven Curtis Chapman was supposed to play tonight at a nearby festival, and Michael W. Smith is going in his place. Now THAT’S helping a grieving friend!
    -Jacki in Florida

    Reply
  • 17. Colette Frazier  |  May 24, 2008 at 1:02 am

    I thought of you Molly when i heard this news. i balled my eyes out and really can’t fathom all the hurt, pain and complexities involved for this family.

    i’m glad you got to see Anna!! i wish i could see her and her little girl. it’s been along timie.

    Reply
  • 18. Corie O'Brien  |  May 24, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    Having been reading your blog for awhile. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I have passed it along to other friends because I feel like your blogs on HOW TO HELP A GRIEVING FRIEND have been so clear and helpful. Not just for me…as we lost our son on January 22nd, but also for my friends to help them understand the best they can. I continue to lift the Chapmans in prayer. My heart is aching for them so much. I will continue to pray for you on all the 22nds as well as all the days in between.

    Reply
  • 19. J.Evans  |  May 26, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    Molly,

    I prayed to you and Felicity today. God brought you to my mind, while Mia was talking about Como Zoo – and I thought about our conversation after church. Your family is a blessing.

    Oh, Mia said, “Mom, did you know that Orison’s Mommy and I were almost twins?” HA! Now that’s interesting.

    Reply
  • 20. Amy  |  May 28, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    This is my first time on your blog linked from Shawnda’s. #1, I’m sorry for your unspeakable loss. #2, when you have healed some more, I think you should put your ‘grief’ category posts into book form. The little bit that I have read so far is so practical and helpful. There’s no way to know what to do until you’ve gone through the experience. I think so many others could benefit. God Bless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


