A Mother of a Birthday

May 26, 2008 at 2:59 pm 15 comments

Or maybe, “A Birthday of a Mother?” 😉

My 29th birthday was on Friday. I think I was able to handle the passage of time a little better since the day was so full. I had to work during the day, so I was automatically gone from 8-4:30pm.

Then Abraham and Orison picked me up from work and took me on a “surprise shopping binge,” which turned out to be at a nursery/gardening store that I’d never been to but everyone always tells me about and says is awesome. Well everyone, you’re right. Gerten’s is amazing/overwhelming. If you live in MN, you simply must go. Orison’s favorite part was running around by the fountains and looking at the “huge” fish!

I have a garden plan that my dear friend Mary, who is a professional gardener, drew up for me a couple years ago. There was one tree on there that I was hoping to get in the ground this year, but for some reason the breed of tree has been discontinued. So Abraham was in secret contact with Mary & her husband last week to get their suggestions of what tree would be a good replacement, considering size, resistance to disease, hardiness for our climate, etc. Well, Mary & Carl actually went to Gerten’s earlier in the day and hand-selected the perfect tree for my yard, an Adams Crabapple.

Then I picked out annuals for my pots. Those are getting done TODAY!

We stopped for sandwiches at Potbelly’s (one of my faves if you want fast), and proceeded home. When we got to the garage I got to see another one of my presents—a basket for the front of my bike! We are trying to bike as much as possible this summer (thus saving gas) and I think this basket will be so helpful!

Orison was busting at the seams at this point because he had made “ice cream cake” for me that day with Abraham’s help. Basically, Abraham put scoops of the ice cream we had in the house into little bowls and Orison used a spoon to push it down into the bowls and then refroze them. Anyway, he ran to the house in a flash and was getting things out of the freezer and getting spoons and doing it all—he was so excited, which made it so adorable to watch. They sang “Happy Birthday” and I blew out my candle and we ate the cake, the whole time with Orison smiling with pride. It was perfect.

We’ve been doing progressive celebrating all weekend. On Saturday Abraham helped me plant my tree, Orison went away to the grandparents for few hours so we could have a “home date.” It’s so amazing to be at home together with no child/children. Try it sometime—find a sitter and then go home! We worked in the yard, we grilled a delicious lunch, we enjoyed the silence… it was a beautiful thing. After church that night, we went to DQ and got a different ice cream cake (a tradition from my family) and sang and ate cake AGAIN!

Sunday was a picnic with Abraham’s family and our dear friends the Livingston’s. It was a beautiful day (finally in the 80s) and the kids had a great day of running in the yard and eventually swimming. There was one “kid” they hadn’t bargained on, though!

We will have a quiet-ish Memorial Day today, but we’re celebrating Day #4 of my birthday! Today it meant that Orison & Abraham did my “morning jobs” this morning, emptying the dishwasher and loading the breakfast dishes.

And to close, here is a picture of our family on our bikes (already putting my basket to good use)! And to make us even more dorky, I have a bell on my bike too!

Entry filed under: Family, Fun, Home, Life.

A Tidal Wave on the 22nd. 10 Reasons I am Pro-Facebook

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bryan L. Fordham  |  May 26, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Happy birthday, Molly! My wife endured her 29th last year with no ill effects. And I’m turning 32 in 3 days, so I can attest that it doesn’t hurt 8)

    Greatly enjoy your blog, as well as your hubby’s. Thanks for sharing

    Reply
  • 2. puremotif  |  May 26, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    awwwww so cute 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. puremotif  |  May 26, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    woops. And I love the tree – what a perfect one!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Kristin  |  May 26, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Happy Birthday Molly!! What a fun birthday! I love that you have a bell on your bike, it makes me smile.

    Reply
  • 5. Kelly @ Love Well  |  May 26, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    Dork on, my friend! 🙂 You are full of style an pizazz.

    And I love the jumping in the pool picture. Talk about perfect shutter timing.

    Reply
  • 6. Stacey  |  May 26, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Happy Bday….didn’t realize your bday and your mom’s were that close together.

    Basket and a Bell on yer bike??? You are officially GRANDMA Kurtic!

    Reply
  • 7. jamsco  |  May 27, 2008 at 12:22 am

    Can I just say that it does my heart good to hear of someone else who appreciates DQ ice cream cake?

    Reply
  • 8. Chris  |  May 27, 2008 at 5:32 am

    What a delightful day:)
    Thanks for sharing all the fun!

    Reply
  • 9. danielle  |  May 27, 2008 at 7:37 am

    that last picture…oh man. dave has a bike, but i don’t. maybe we’ll borrow aaron and kelly’s rack and bring it, at least.

    Reply
  • 10. robyn  |  May 27, 2008 at 11:26 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! sounds like a wonderful celebration. I love the tree and a basket for your bike sounds perfect. Cute pots of annuals.

    Reply
  • 11. Gabby  |  May 27, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Molly I’m so glad that you had a wonderful week for your birthday. Biking is a fabulous idea and so much more practical when you live in the city.
    I realize that the fact that we haven’t gotten together is my fault. 😛 I’m so pathetic when it comes to trying to get together with people. Something I’ve been working on. Anyway,
    I’ll talk to you later.
    Gabby

    Reply
  • 12. jennapants  |  May 27, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    um…as I was scrolling down, I assumed Abraham was on trampoline…and then when I saw the kiddie pool, I think I a little snot shot out of my nose. thank you. that was funny.

    hey, and 29 looks great! happy day #5 of your birthday.

    Reply
  • 13. Stephanie  |  May 28, 2008 at 9:27 am

    I’m so glad that you had a wonderful birthday!! And, you guys look so cute on your bikes! How fun! Love the basket.

    Reply
  • 14. Mrs. MK  |  May 28, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Not dorky at all—-too cute! I love biking—-it’s easy exercise!!

    Reply
  • 15. Colette Frazier  |  May 30, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Happy Birthday Molly!
    I can’t wait to see pics of the finished landscape! I was just thinking the other day that it was time for flowers in MN…I remember everyone would say “don’t plant before Memorial Day”. I could never wait that long–but they were always right!!!:) Glad you had a week of celebrating!!
    xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


