10 Reasons I am Pro-Facebook

May 28, 2008 at 2:09 pm 22 comments

My husband is boring on Facebook. He readily admits it and purposely tries to be. Also, Tony Morgan recently wrote a post stating 5 reasons he is quitting Facebook. I understand some of his annoyance with it, but have found it mostly helpful in my life.

Here are some reasons I think Facebook is worthwhile:

1. I only accept friend requests from people I know.

This is not meant to be snobbish, it’s just what makes it work for me. I want it to be about my circles of friends and acquaintances. I am not interested in collecting as many friends as possible.

2. I can write short messages and no one gets offended (at least I hope not).

I don’t know about you, but when I haven’t been in touch with someone for years and years, the thought of resuming the friendship via email is overwhelming. I feel as though I have to write a 60 page email filling them in on everything that’s happened since we lost touch.

However, with Facebook you don’t have to go through all the apologizing and guilt. You just friend them on Facebook and write a short message or wall post and leave it up to your profile to fill them in.

3. Status means something.

When you have friends all over the world (and who doesn’t in this day and age?) keeping in regular touch just doesn’t happen. But with Facebook, I can stay up to date with people in Senegal and St. Louis and feel a more day-to-day awareness of their lives all because they fill out their Facebook status.

“Oh, Mary is at her niece’s wedding–how fun.”

4. I can block applications that annoy me.

If someone throws a sheep at me, that means absolutely nothing to me, so I don’t do anything about it. If someone sends me an invite to an application that doesn’t interest me, I block the application. If a particular person is a repeat offender and sends me invites to applications constantly, I choose to block all invitations from that person. Not because I think that person is a waste of my time; they just use Facebook differently than I do. No big deal.

5. I try not to annoy others.

Sometimes I will take a random, silly quiz just for the fun of it. Who doesn’t want to know which Jane Austen character they are?!?! But if the quiz requires me to send it to others to find out my results, I don’t continue, no matter how badly I want to know if I’m Lizzie or Jane.

6. Pictures!

I love being able to look at the pictures my friends have posted of their families, what they’ve been up to, etc. It makes connection so much more regular and real.

And when I post pictures to help folks keep up with me, I can choose who can see which album.

7. I can import my blog there as “notes.”

That way, people who don’t regularly surf blogs (who are those people?!) can still read my posts if they want to.

8. One word—Prolific!

This is my favorite application, no contest. I’m mildly addicted. Hope I don’t cause any of you who love playing Boggle to stumble.

9. Reading Wall-to-Wall is not spying.

When you see that one of your friends wrote something reporting about their latest vacation or new favorite restaurant on another friend’s wall, you can click Wall-to-Wall and see the conversation. That way you don’t have to email or message that person again and find out the information.

I honestly don’t think it’s spying. It could easily become spying, but you have to use your own judgment. Personally I don’t have time to read everyone’s Wall posts and all their conversations, so I just click on the ones that have pertinent information.

If they wanted the information and conversation to be totally private, they’d send a message instead of a wall post.

10. It’s just fun.

I know from people who work in youth and college ministry that Facebook is a vital tool to their connection with students.

I’m sure that’s true, but I just like it; it’s fun.

Entry filed under: Fun.

A Mother of a Birthday The Grandparents Have Arrived

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shawnda  |  May 28, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    I’m with you on all of those, AND I love the fact that I’ve gotten in touch with people through facebook that I haven’t talked to in YEARS!!! It’s been so fun to be back in touch with so many people!!! Emails always change and it’s hard to keep up, but your name always stays the same! : )

    Reply
  • 2. J. Evans  |  May 28, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    I agree 100% with you. I LOVE to superpoke the hubby at work, with a dropkick or a smooch… it’s silly I know, but we both like that application.

    Now I’m going to have to look up that game, which might not be a good thing. Oh dear. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. puremotif  |  May 28, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    i agree with you! if i do fill out a quiz or applicaiton, and it makes me send it, i’ll chose a few, and if they ignore it – so be it. it sure doesn’t offend me – because you will have no idea who ignored your requests or not! people get so up in arms about it – its just not that big of a deal. just hit “no” or “Ignore” 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Chelsey  |  May 28, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    I laughed out loud about the people who don’t surf blogs regularly. I have met many of them, but I sure don’t understand them!

    Reply
  • 5. bean  |  May 28, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    Haha! My husband and I were just debating this. I’m a recent Facebook convert, and he’s a hater. 🙂 I do think it’s fun, and it has gotten me in contact with quite a few people I haven’t seen in a really long time. But mostly, I’m addicted to status updates. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Stacey  |  May 28, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    It is tooooo much….I can’t handle it. Who needs friends anyway???? I am too exhausted to keep up these relationships in real life let alone have it drag into the cyber world. LOL

    Reply
  • 7. jennapants  |  May 28, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    brent refuses to be on facebook. his friend, josh, made a facebook persona for him (brad cheetz), but brent did not succumb to the pressure.

    i do like it. i admit that i completely binged on facebook for a few months when i first started. now, i log in, check statuses, spy on a few wall-to-walls and update my status if i’ve got anything and log out. not the addiction it once was.

    the only thing…i tried to friend my best friend from junior high, and she totally didn’t friend me back?!! that’s weird. and (confession time) i tried to friend steve carrell and he didn’t friend me. : (

    Reply
  • 8. jennapants  |  May 28, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    I think I meant, 😦

    Reply
  • 9. Chelsea Bass  |  May 28, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    I love it. I’m totally addicted. I love staying in touch with my friends all over the world and the country. I don’t have time to call or email all of them,but I can certainly take a quick peek at their recently updated profile.
    I, however, do add most people who request me as a friend. I rarely have a total stranger request me, and I won’t accept those. However, even if it’s just a distant acquaintance or an online friend, I will add them. It’s not to boost my numbers, it’s mostly because I want to know more about the person.

    Reply
  • 10. Nikki  |  May 28, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Yes, I love Facebook too, for those same reasons. I’ve found it to be a great, quick tool for keeping up with current friends and for reconnecting with old friends and even acquaintances who I wouldn’t feel comfortable emailing (especially if they’re guys) yet am interested in what’s going on in their lives. I’ve reconnected with my best friend from 8th grade, my college InterVarsity friends, and even my 7th grade music teacher & her family! Facebook rocks! 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Jen B.  |  May 29, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    I love this! Dan told me the other day that when we have kids, I have to quit facebook becuase he doesn’t want them to learn that “bad habit” from me. Sheesh! I’m directing him to your 10 good reasons why it’s ok.

    Reply
  • 12. J. Evans  |  May 29, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Jenna… I’m dying. You crack me up.

    Reply
  • 13. bryanclopez  |  May 29, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    You should check out the application called mirror blog. It automatically takes a copy of what it sees from your RSS and posts it to your page. I agree with you on the facebook thing…..

    Reply
  • 14. laterain  |  May 30, 2008 at 12:39 am

    There is an application for WordPress that allows you to show your latest blog entry on your Facebook page (*maybe* the same thing the previous commenter is referring to?)

    The latest thing I’m seeing on Facebook is friends of mine from high school. We’re all fighting to see who can post the most embarrassing photos of each other’s 80’s hair and outfits!

    Reply
  • 15. kristie  |  May 30, 2008 at 11:24 am

    hey molls- so many have told me to get on facebook, but this is the first time I have been given some clear and precise reasons why I should. so thanks! and that whole emailing old friends from the past thing is SO true- pretty much why I haven’t emailed you in looooong time. I mean, where do I begin? I read your blog all the time so I feel like i know what’s going on with you. but you probably have no idea what’s going on with me since i don’t have a blog and I’m not on facebook. maybe I should get on there soon and make it less overwhelming for both of us 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Karyn  |  May 31, 2008 at 9:05 am

    I think it’s a wonderful way to keep in touch with so many friends and family all over the world, especially since I’m one of the one’s who’s “far away”.

    Reply
  • 17. emily  |  May 31, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    hear, hear … reason #2 is excellent – my thoughts exactly!Especially for us mothers of littles, who would otherwise never have the time or energy to keep up with people – seeing as how the only free time we usually have is when the kids are asleep and it’s too late to call someone anyway 🙂

    Reply
  • 18. robyn  |  May 31, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    I’ve had a hard time finding a way to rekindle those “might have been” relationships from my past. (My husband and I share so many accounts he’d find out) but with the privacy controls on Facebook provides the perfect balance for covert social “networking”.

    By the way, do you remember Doug Broglie? Turns out he’s not married and we’ve been “friends” for two weeks on facebook!!! Ben doesn’t have a CLUE!

    : )

    Reply
  • 19. Liz  |  June 2, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    All I can say to your reasons, Molly, is: AMEN!! I echo many of the same sentiments. I LOVE Facebook – in fact, my kids tell me that I’m addicted, but I think that could possibly the overstatement of the century. But really, where else can I possibly play more than one “Scrabble” game at the SAME TIME! It’s wonderful!

    Thanks for your well thought out reasons! They’re GREAT!

    Reply
  • 20. Hannah  |  June 4, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    I like your reasons as well. I’ve found that keeping in touch with friends who are out of state is just easier with facebook–and it cuts down on the phone bill, too.

    Reply
  • 21. Josh  |  June 7, 2008 at 8:38 am

    Love the reasons you’ve posted… One thing for me is, Facebook has been a great witnessing tool for people from the past. I was born again at 24, so prior to that, folks didn’t know me in Christ. This allows the opp to connect with others who have to come to faith in Christ (one guy in HS was born again last year reading Mere Christianity!) and then set up coffee appts or lunch with others who are not believers to catch up and pray the LORD will grant an opp to flip the conversation to the spiritual.

    On the downside, i’ve learned, the hard way, not to be on facebook when my 8 month pregnant wife is wanting a foot rub and some good conversation! Be blessed-

    Reply
  • 22. Travis Seitler  |  June 11, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Are you sure I didn’t write this? Sounds like you use Facebook exactly as I do. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


