The Blogging Wars

June 26, 2008 at 8:42 pm 23 comments

With two bloggers under one roof sharing many of the same experiences, turf wars have begun. Whenever an interesting topic is being discussed, or a funny story relayed, you must be careful to claim it for your blog.

It’s becoming more and more common at the conclusion of a story or conversation for one of us to say, “I’m blogging that!” to keep the other’s itchy fingers at bay.

“Who gets to blog it?” is a question that has gotten (jokingly) heated, when a situation can arguably go either way as to whose experience it was. Sometimes it’s very debatable, especially when I think that whatever Abraham has to say is too interesting or complex to pare down to 22 words. Then I argue that he should let me have that topic so that I can expand more on it. πŸ˜‰

Most of the time it’s me begging Abraham, “Let me have that one, puh-leeze….”

(We actually had a conversation at the Apple store tonight about who gets to blog that we fight over who gets to blog what. Obviously, I won this one. Yes, we’re pathetic.)

Entry filed under: Blogging, Family.

The Tipping Dilemma Is Now More Confusing Surprised by (Malted Milk Ball) Joy

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jamsco  |  June 26, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    I have encouraged my wife to start her own blog, since as a home schooling Mom of 6, I think she has some wisdom she could impart, but so far all I’ve gotten her to do is a couple guest posts at mine.

    But she could write a funny story or two, if she put her mind to it.

    Reply
  • 2. Adrienne  |  June 26, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    So did you have to fight over who got to blog about blogging wars? :p

    Reply
  • 3. Chris  |  June 27, 2008 at 4:38 am

    Actually, the two of you write about things so differently, it wouldn’t really be so bad to hear about things on both of your blogs:)

    Reply
  • 4. Rachel  |  June 27, 2008 at 6:16 am

    LOL!!! that is awesome.

    we had a little bit of that but slightly different — if brian and i would play a new video game, and i would do badly or get frustrated or quit early, i’d be like “great, now it’s going to be ‘even my non-gaming wife hated it’ or some other sort of comment” … lol, its so weird.

    BLOGGING IS WEIRD!

    Reply
  • 5. kendra  |  June 27, 2008 at 6:17 am

    how about a blog post, something like top 10 songs you’d tell someone to go get on i-tunes? or your fav waterdeep songs (i remember a post about waterdeep and good good end), because i’d like some more but there’s a million and i don’t know which ones to start with. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 6. Tami@ourhouse  |  June 27, 2008 at 6:20 am

    That is funny. My husband and I don’t fight over who will blog what (he doesn’t blog that often), but he does have this competition over who gets the most hits (neither of us have a lot of traffic, but if he wrote as much as I do he would beat me bad). I don’t compete back with him or even keep up with how many hits I have, but he checks my sitemeter and his.

    And he has a secret contest with his buddies over who has the most facebook friends. This makes me laugh, because my husband is very serious, older than his years, etc. To see him compete with his friends (without them knowing about it) is hilarious.

    Reply
  • 7. Sandra Peoples  |  June 27, 2008 at 6:45 am

    My husband and I also discussed yesterday who would post a video of our 2 year old splashing in puddles! We have a family blog, he and I both have ministry type blogs, and I contribute to a group blog so nothing happens in our house that doesn’t show up some where on the world wide web!

    Reply
  • 8. Jennifer  |  June 27, 2008 at 7:24 am

    I agree with Chris, both of you writing about the same topic would be completely fine. You have different perspectives, so writing about the same experience wouldn’t result in two identical posts.

    Reply
  • 9. John Meche  |  June 27, 2008 at 7:30 am

    Aww…That’s so incredibly adorable. I’m the only blogger in my house, but my wife is always talking about how she should start one. I was looking at your About page last night and saw that you wrote “began dating in March of 2003, got engaged in May of 2003, and got married in September”. My wife and I began dating in March 07, got engaged May 07, and were married in August 07. I got her to read it, and said “See we’re not the only ones, and you know who did their premarital counseling…” It’s always encouraging to see sound Christian couples that moved through the process “quickly”. That was terribly off-topic, but I had to share it.

    Reply
  • 10. Ched  |  June 27, 2008 at 8:02 am

    Nice.

    Reply
  • 11. Barnabas  |  June 27, 2008 at 8:11 am

    I suggest Rock/Paper/Scissors or thumb wars eas the proper means of settling such disputes. Flipping a coin is passe, and the other two offer a release of competitiveness as well. Plus you could claim victory Abraham on your blog when posting. He wouldn’t have that opportunity since he chooses brevity over bragging rights.

    Reply
  • 12. Greta  |  June 27, 2008 at 8:42 am

    I agree with Chris…it’d be good to hear the same stuff from both of you guys’ perspectives. You’re cute either way, not pathetic!

    Reply
  • 13. kaysie  |  June 27, 2008 at 9:42 am

    I too will agree with Chris. πŸ™‚

    This is just so funny!

    Reply
  • 14. Stacey  |  June 27, 2008 at 9:59 am

    I bet when the new bambino shows up…..you won’t be blogging at all. There won’t be anytime. I am basically over it………don’t have the time or the energy for it. Too many fun things to do with the kids during the day and too many things that need to be done. Too tired to think about blogging once the daily activities are over.

    Reply
  • 15. Travis Seitler  |  June 27, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Chris… Jessica… Greta… Kaysie and now me: it’s better when more than one person blogs about the same thing! I actually like it when my wife and I blog about the same things; then we link to each others’ posts, our readers cross-pollinate… it’s good stuff, really! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 16. amandaginn  |  June 27, 2008 at 10:29 am

    Maybe you can take comfort knowing that at 11:27 a.m. (CST), you have 11 more comments than Abraham does on this topic. But who’s counting…

    See, this is why I am glad my husband doesn’t blog. I’m too competitive, and I’d always worry about who has more hits or clicks or comments.

    Reply
  • 17. Melissa  |  June 27, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    …and to think that I thought this post was going to be about a two-headed cow (bc of the picture)
    πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 18. jennapants  |  June 27, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    i’m guessing you don’t argue over blogs about literary and/or theological topics.

    i’m with barnabas on the thumb wars or something like it. or maybe a fierce game of boggle. whoever wins, gets the post for their blog. and you could even call it “bloggle”. wow. that’s such a good idea. i feel like hugging myself.

    Reply
  • 19. Heather  |  June 27, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    That’s a riot! Just one blogger in this family.

    Reply
  • 20. Tina  |  June 28, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    LOL!

    Reply
  • 21. Lynette  |  June 29, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Hi- I’m one of those not-a-stalker stranger people. πŸ™‚ I just found your blog, and read some of your posts on losing Felicity, and on helping grieving friends. I so appreciate your honesty and the working through the pain by the grace of God. I am sorry for your loss, and pray you are daily experiencing the grace of God in healing and comfort. I am a 29 yr. old mother of a 6 yr old, 2 yr old, 10 mth old, and pregnant with our fourth. I lost a baby in between the first two, during my second trimester. I cannot say that I know your experience, but the pain, the pain is real. And every time I’ve gotten pregnant since then, I’ve had to again run to Jesus in surrender to “being okay” with the real possibility of experiencing that again. The fear could be paralyzing…yet God is gracious. I cried when I saw the picture of Felicity’s grave site on Abraham’s blog. Psalm 16:11 has been my husband & my life verse- it was printed everywhere for our wedding. And that’s what it’s come down to. Even in the midst of painful things, like losing my baby, I want His presence. More than that baby. I’ve struggled and fought through it, but thank God, He is bigger. Our family has been greatly blessed through yours, in way of sermons, books, conferences- at times like water in a very dry land- I will pray for you this week through your grief, that we may be a blessing to you! Would love to get to “know” you more.

    Reply
  • 22. robyn  |  June 30, 2008 at 7:34 am

    If I could get my husband to actually write in his blog we might have that conversation! I also, think of so many topics and just never have the guts to write about them for fear of turning off my readers since they are all just close friends and family.

    Good for you for being so open and honest and not fearful of bringing up any topic you feel like!

    Reply
  • 23. Kelsey  |  June 30, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Thats too funny!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


