Help me out here, Super Target lovers

July 14, 2008 at 2:51 pm 48 comments

Okay, I know so many people love Super Target (“Super T” as some of my girlfriends call it). And trust me, I do too. But I come away from every grocery-buying experience disappointed thinking, “Wow, they’re more expensive than my regular grocery store.”

So if we’re just talking about price, does anyone else find this to be true?

If it is true and you still shop there, that’s fine with me. I just want to know what other factors you weigh into your grocery-buying decision (well-organized stores, proximity to home, Starbucks inside, etc.).

I think I’ve already tipped my hand as to my deciding factor. 😉

Entry filed under: Food, Spoutings.

5 books that have made me laugh out loud I hope you have someone like Danielle.

48 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John Meche  |  July 14, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    I do find Target to be more expensive. I cynically call it “Wal Mart for the middle class.” …That’s awful

    Reply
  • 2. Greta  |  July 14, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Yes, I definitely find Target to be more expensive. In all honesty, we do most of our grocery shopping at Super Walmart. Although, I hit Publix for certain stuff (meats other than ground beef or chicken).

    The price difference is substantial between Walmart and Publix although I don’t see a huge difference between Publix and Target. The benefit of Target would be that you can do other shopping. In my case, Walmart is closest, Target is about another 1/2 mile away and Publix is probably 3 more miles (one way). If it were all backwards and Walmart was 3 miles away, I would still save more even when factoring in the price for the gas.

    To boil it down (I could never write 22 word blogs 😉 ), if I shopped at Super T or Publix for weekly groceries, I’d spend $30-$40 more than I do at Walmart (plus the $4 for the Starbucks drink I’d “have” to get)!

    (One last thing…shopping at Walmart is a sacrifice. I would MUCH rather tool around in Target or Publix. They are brighter, cleaner, they usually have a better selection and the employees are usually more concerned with the customer).

    Reply
  • 3. Martina  |  July 14, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    I love Target in general because of their product design, awesome clearance sales and the superior quality compared to similar items at Wal-Mart. We don’t have a Super T in Nashville, unfortunately, but there are some grocery items I find to be cheaper at Target than at Publix or Kroger such as cereal, ice cream and most health items like shampoo, deodorant, toothpaste, etc. I think it’s impossible to buy everything at a single store and be satisfied in each aspect—price, quality, experience—with the exception of Wegmans. Boy, I miss Wegmans!

    Reply
  • 4. jennapants  |  July 14, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    Molly,
    I feel you. (That SO looks different in print than it sounds in person.) Anyways…it seems to me that the produce is more expensive at Target. And the meat is more expensive (deli included). But the non-perishables (particularly “market pantry” generics) and the dairy and eggs are cheaper. That’s what it seems like to me. The aesthetic is better than Cub. The lines are better than Rainbow. I end up going to all three depending on the deals in the ads. Rainbow totally lures me with their three ads a week. But, the amount of $$ Rainbow invests in mailings, makes me suspicious that I’m getting totally ripped off somehow.

    Thanks, Molly, for asking questions like this. I’m totally serious. It reminds me of your biscuit explosion post. You write about common, albeit obscure threads among us.

    Keep rocking it out on the keyboard.

    Reply
  • 5. Megan  |  July 14, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    you are so funny. i think the same thing. ouch. it IS more expensive. but, i adore shopping there. i am the exact demographic they are looking to target (no pun intended…). so, i go there if i only need a few things- it’s more of an event for me, really, than just an errand run. my girls and i go there just for something to do, if it’s really cold, or hot, or even if it’s nice outside 🙂

    but, when it comes to my every two weeks, everything i need big purchase, i go to walmart, which is much cheaper- and is very clean and neat here- much nicer than the one in our last city! but, it’s no target! i would love to go to T, but i know the difference will add up over time. so, that is my small sacrifice 🙂

    Megan

    Reply
  • 6. Nikki  |  July 14, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    I LOVE SuperTarget, but I don’t love shopping for groceries there:

    a). It’s more expensive
    b). I’m not a fan of the layout – it always takes me forever to find stuff.
    c). It always feels really crowded and cramped to me.
    d). The selection isn’t very good.
    e). Produce isn’t always in the best shape.
    f). It just feels weird buying groceries at Target. I dunno.

    I prefer my neighborhood CUB…it’s closer, I know it like the back of my hand, much bigger selection, better produce, and
    much better prices.

    There have been times where it’s come in handy to be able to buy things like a lb. of ground beef at Target, though!

    Reply
  • 7. Andrea  |  July 14, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    I’m a die-hard Super T shopper because, among the many reasons, their prices were lower than regular grocery stores. I used to bring coupons from Cub and Rainbow to Target to compare prices. Target’s regular prices were competitive with the sale prices of other places. That was a couple of years ago though. I’d love to hear where you shop.

    Even if Super Target is a little more expensive I’d still probably shop there for the following reasons:

    1) In our case it’s as close or closer than a grocery store.

    2)It saves us lots of time. A smaller food selection means less time making decisions. We spend less time in the store due to the efficient lay-out. Only going to one store saves time driving and number of times loading/un-loading the family in the car. We have never waited in line at a Super Target. We have always quickly found a competent employee who loves to help us if we need it.

    3) The efficiency of them bagging our items is wonderful! We have time to put things on the conveyor belt in order of where they need to go at home, deal with our toddler if needed, and pay ahead of time. (And they don’t need to see ID or check your signature if you use a credit card–more time and hassle saved there.)

    4) Their philosophy about how to handle their guests’ problems/complaints might be worth going in itself. I always get things resolved in my favor very quickly in a nice way.

    5) The store is always clean, quiet, and not over-crowded.

    6) They supply us with personalized coupons.

    7) They have nicer bags than Walmart or a grocery store. They don’t break easily and we use them for all our garbage bags at home.

    8) It’s family friendly with places to buy food/eat/nurse a baby and there’s a family restroom by the pharmacy so you don’t have to go as far as passed the check-outs.

    I might not notice the price difference because of what we buy, however. I always get frozen produce and meat whenever possible. We also started buying milk at the CVS by our house since it’s $3/gal for 2%. But that’s cheaper than Cub too.

    I’m looking forward to additional insights. Maybe there’s good reason to shop elsewhere too…

    Reply
  • 8. Jawan  |  July 14, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    I love me some Target but I, too, have sort of tipped my hat goodbye to the establishment. Their return policy stinks but is understandable in the long run. I do run in to pick up a few items from time to time. I’ve found the link below to be helpful when I want to purchase some groceries. It contains store coupons for Target which you can stack with manufacturer coupons to get even more savings. Click here http://afullcup.com/upload/cmps_index.php?page=coupon_generator

    Happy savings!

    Reply
  • 9. andrea_jennine  |  July 14, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    I agree with some of what was already said – the fresh items (like produce, meat, etc) are more expensive, but the pantry items (especially the Target brand ones), the dairy, and household products & toiletries are cheaper. I don’t do my main grocery shopping at Super Target, but if I need to pick up some cleaning supplies I go there and pick up any needed groceries while I’m there. For the bulk of our grocery shopping (I do one enormous monthly trip), I shop based on price and go to Aldi, Sam’s Club, and a local produce market.

    Reply
  • 10. Courtney  |  July 14, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Oh Molly, you have touched on a subject near and dear to my heart. I ADORE the Super Target. We live in the sticks and it is a major outing when we go grocery shopping. Unlike up in Minneapolis, the hometown of Target where there is one on every other block, we have to drive an hour to our closest one. There is a Super Walmart that is 20 min closer, but we’d rather go that extra to Target(thank God for Hybrids) for many reasons including but not limited to the following:

    1. It’s CLEAN. I have yet to see a clean Walmart. anywhere. ever. They are gross without exception.
    2. They have sales/end cap clearances. I don’t want “Everyday low prices.” I want SALES! 😉 Those little orange/red stickers speak to me.
    3. They have MUCH better produce and bakery items than the competitor. The organic grape tomatoes and asiago cheese bagels alone would persuade me.
    4. Archer Farms. It is definitely not generic. It is a brand unto itself and I have never tasted a poor product with that label. Our latest favorite is Archer Farms Espresso Chip ice cream. Yum.
    5. They have super cute kid’s clothes. I really like the Genuine Kid Oshkosh stuff. It’s cute, it’s trendy and it’s quality. I’d MUCH rather brave Target for kid’s clothing than drag whiny tired wee ones through the mall.
    6. All in all, it’s worth a few extra dollars for me to be able to only load and unload children at one store. Anything we need we can get under one roof. An almost one stop shop. The only thing the Walmart has over Target is a Subway.

    About your price question, yes, it’s more expensive than Walmart. That’s about the only comparison I have. We don’t have Cub or Rainbow here. The little mom and pop grocery stores we have have awful selection and lots of expired goods with nasty produce. Eww…. the only chain I’m familiar with is Hy-Vee which I think is just in the upper midwest and they are generally more expensive than Target and always much colder. I don’t like to grocery shop with goose bumps.

    Reply
  • 11. jennifertobler  |  July 14, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    Here in Raleigh NC there is a Super Target every 5 miles or so. I’ll go there if I have a wide range of things to pick up (like clothes, cleanings stuff, house stuff, gift wrap, crafty stuff) as well as groceries, but they are def. more expensive than just your plain old Kroger Grocery Store. I agree, they are way cleaner than WalMart (plus you don’t have to deal with as many screaming children, and there is always more than one register open!) and I’ve found that their baby stuff is really well priced. Besides the grocery part being more expensive, the main thing that keeps me from shopping there regularly is their return policy … also the reason I warn friends not to register there for weddings or baby showers!

    This is a great question, its been fun to read other people’s reasons/thoughts!

    Reply
  • 12. Pam  |  July 14, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    I am afraid I cannot add much to this discussion because I don’t live in the U.S. I simply cannot believe that one can do groceries at Target or Walmart. We still don’t have stores open 24 hours here!
    However, in response to your questions I would say that the most important factor for me would be whether or not the store was child-friendly. I am willing to pay a little more for groceries provided that the carts are big enough for my 2-year old twins and that the safety harnesses in the carts actually work properly (this after one of the twins fell out at a “bargain” grocery store). I also like the food to be well organized and the aisles big enough for my twin-friendly cart!

    Before the twins arrived I used to shop at a bargain grocery store with narrow aisles, unorganized shelves and I had to pack my own bag. I always came home flustered and frustrated. My husband has noticed a difference in my post-grocery mood since I switched to a higher-end store.

    I find that the bigger the store, the higher the bill. It seems like these “super stores” encourage me to buy things I could use but could also do without. If I don’t see it on the shelf I do without it, if I see it I think, “hmmm, I could probably use that”. Some people are different but this is my experience!

    Finally, local farmer’s markets usually have better prices on produce and it’s much fresher. I also like to support local farmers.

    Reply
  • 13. Molly Piper  |  July 14, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Great stuff, ladies! I definitely live in a Target-saturated region, and driving to Wal-Mart is just out of the way. There is one nice one that I would go to if it were closer, but it’s not a Super Wal-Mart. I don’t even know if we have any around Minneapolis. Target definitely has the monopoly.

    I agree that Super T has clean stores, nice presentation, and that Archer Farms is really good. But their produce and deli and bread and everything just seems more expensive.

    In my neck of the woods we have an ALDI, which I use often for cereals, baking supplies, random dry goods like taco shells, and some dairy items like sour cream. I use Costco for gas, milk, butter, and bread. And then everything else comes from a regional chain called Rainbow.

    It sounds like a lot of running, but it usually spaces itself out so that I’m not grocery shopping all the time. I really don’t like grocery shopping and try to do it as little as possible.

    Reply
  • 14. Patty Broberg  |  July 14, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    I used to shop at our Super Target all the time, when cost wasn’t as MUCH of an issue. My main reason was that I only had to unload and load my kids ONCE… especially when we first had our fourth child. I could get most everything I needed. Now that I sometimes have help with the kids and I’m trying to be better at saving money, I go to Cub (the Grocery Game just added Cub in Minnesota and I’m trying that, too. http://www.thegrocerygame.com/)

    Of course, after being reminded of all the reasons others still shop there, I’m considering doing it again!

    Reply
  • 15. Heather  |  July 14, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    I don’t buy any groceries at Super T. Way too expensive. I am an ALDI girl myself. Of course there are certian things you can’t find there, but I shop at Wal-mart for those things.

    Actually, there is a group of us MOPS mom’s at my church that try to invent new ALDI recipes and then we swap. We’ve all come up with some pretty yummy, cost effective meals!

    Fun post and comments.

    Reply
  • 16. Kirstjen  |  July 14, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    As someone above said, you can’t get everything at one store and get the best deal. I have learned this more and more recently. I used to solely shop at Super Target for all the reasons people listed above.

    Recently I’ve switched my main shopping to Trader Joe’s. The only sad part is that it is 30 minutes away. So I go every two weeks or more and stock up, then I supplement with Target and Festival (which is NOT cheaper than any of them, but within walking distance of our house). I’ve found Trader Joe’s to be the cheapest and with a good variety of healthier and organic for less than normal cost.

    After a very personal, very bad experience at Wal-Mart once I avoid going to any of them if possible, and I still haven’t developed a liking for Cub or Rainbow. Though there are a couple of things I can only get at Cub so I’ll go once in awhile.

    Reply
  • 17. Jennifer  |  July 14, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    I think it depends on where you are from – in the Midwest I found it to be more expensive, but where I go to seminary out near Boston I find that I get cheaper groceries at the Target compared to the local grocery stores.

    Reply
  • 18. Chris  |  July 15, 2008 at 4:47 am

    We have a local store called Karns we go to for meat because it’s very good. We also have another called Weis where we like to get our produce because it seems better than the others for that. Fortunately, these two stores are close by, so we can make short trips for those things when we need them.

    For the big general shopping trips, there is a third local store called Giant that is not too far away, is not the most expensive, and does have a good variety of items that we like.

    Then there is a trip that we make to Sam’s Club every couple of months for things we buy in bulk, like paper towels, tp, etc.

    We don’t have a SuperTarget, but we do have two Super Wal-Marts, but they are both 20 minutes away on a good traffic day, so we usually only go there if we are also going out that way for something else–espcially now that the cost of gas is so high.

    When we lived in Erie, PA, we found we saved a lot of money shopping at Wegman’s by buying a lot of shopper’s club items and sticking to our list. We liked their meat and produce, AND saved 25-30 dollars per trip using the shopper’s club card. Plus it was only 10 minutes from home. Our Wegman’s in central PA is twice as far away, and since it opened we have only shopped there a few times, finding that we just don’t save as much anymore. Maybe our shopping list has changed over the years, or maybe they just aren’t giving the discounts that they used to.

    But if we are in the neighborhood, we do like to stop in at Wegmans’s just to see what’s new–it’s cheap entertaiment and we are good about not giving in to buying stuff we don’t need. Yet sometimes we splurge on some yummy Marco Polo bread, pick up some chocolate cake when my SIL is in town, or buy some pretty dishes or other kitchen items if they are on clearance.

    We are happy to have lived in places where there are good grocery choices because we have friends who live in places that do not.

    Cost is a big factor for us–but not if the time and cost of traveling cancels out the savings. And for some things like meat and produce we do pay a little more, knowing that we can save elsewhere on other things to compensate.

    I’m also happy that my husband enjoys grocery shopping together, so it is usually a family outing, or now that the kids are older and sometimes have activities they are at, we can occasionally make it a little date. It gives us extra time to talk about things…but I admit that sometimes I sneak off to browse through the Hallmark cards to stock up on some fun cards while he waits in the deli line. And now that we have cell phones we don’t have to wander through the aisles to find each other when we get separated, which we sometimes do to save time. But mostly, we enjoy picking things out together.

    It has helped that the kids were pretty content shoppers that our trips were for making memories rather than miserable. They started extremely young. I don’t know if I was in a grocery store before preschool. But since I had been home on materinity bed rest for many weeks, my husband bundled us up for a trip to Phar-Mor when Malachi was only a week old. I was nervouse, but complied, and we have all been shopping together ever since:)

    Reply
  • 19. danielle  |  July 15, 2008 at 7:20 am

    We don’t have a “Super T,” but if we did I’m pretty sure I’d shop there. Cost is the #1 consideration for me, but only if we’re talking over 10 dollars. I don’t mind if my grocery bill is $5 or $10 more if I can get good products without having to drive to multiple stores. Now, if we’re talking a substantial difference, I’ll just go to walmart.

    I want to shop at Aldi.

    Reply
  • 20. Stephanie  |  July 15, 2008 at 8:12 am

    I love Super T! It’s the best–I find it easy to just go to one store, instead of making trips to Target and then going to the grocery store. And, I think I’m biased because I did work here at Starbucks! It’s a comfort thing for me, I think.

    Reply
  • 21. Rachel  |  July 15, 2008 at 8:56 am

    It’s like buying produce at Wegmans for me – It is more expensive, but it is BETTER. Sometimes, if I can afford it, I’ll do it but sometimes I just have to go cheaper and buy at Walmart.

    That’s where we do our main grocery shopping, even though I hate it cuz it is SO busy and so crappy and often picked over. but with high prices, it just is that way sometimes. we don’t have a super target so i can’t comment on that specifically.

    Reply
  • 22. startlingmoniker  |  July 15, 2008 at 9:02 am

    If we had a Super Target around here, I’m sure I’d give it a shot. I much prefer Target over Wal-Mart, and try to avoid the Wal-Mart whenever possible. As someone who formerly worked at one (and in the grocery area at that) I can assure you that you DO NOT want to know the disgusting things that happen there.

    For now, I do most of my food shopping at Kroger. It’s a bit more expensive, but it’s clean and a bit closer to my home. There is an Aldi in our area, but I don’t find that they have any kind of selection at all, especially for vegetarians. Save-a-Lot seems to have the same problem– you save because you never know what the heck those stores will actually have in stock from week to week!

    And oh, it’s pronounced “Tar-Zhay” LOL

    Reply
  • 23. Tara  |  July 15, 2008 at 9:40 am

    We don’t have a Super Target nearby, just a Super Wal-Mart, although I wish it were the other way around! I always check out Super Target in St. Louis Park when I’m visiting family.

    The Starbucks doesn’t do it for me in the least. I’m definitely a Caribou fan, and I need the ambiance of a coffee shop to (maybe)make it worth the $4, not crazy grocery isles.

    I love Target clothes (especially clearance racks!) so that’s another vote for Target verses Wal-mart as far as superstores go. Plus Wal-Mart definitely is crowded, often dirty, and the isles are narrow. I never look forward to shopping there, but I still go because it’s cheaper.

    Basically we’ll make one bigger grocery shopping trip to the Super Wal-Mart, and then check out sales ads for other stores (Giant, Food Lion, McKays…equivilent to your Cub, Lunds, Byerly’s, and Rainbow…how I miss those stores….especially Byerly’s samples man!!!). We usually score awesome meat prices at these other places, and just buy what’s crazy cheap on sale.

    We also have a BJ’s membership (like Costco or Sams) and buy certain items like milk (since it’s the cheapest there), and actually not much else anymore, now that I shop at CVS and get most paper and toiletry items there free or next to free. I found out that Minnesota has a few CVSes, you should check out their ECB program! I’ve been to the one off HWY 55 in Plymouth. (Unless you don’t clip coupons, then you wouldn’t like it.)

    But I still envy you for the Super Target. If only they would switch up the Fourbucks *ahem* Starbucks for a Caribou. My long lost friend…..

    Reply
  • 24. Lindsay  |  July 15, 2008 at 10:13 am

    We don’t really have the Super Targets around here, but in general i am a huge fan of grocery shopping. The only perfect grocery store I have encountered is Wegmans! Great prices, great selection, nice environment, friendly staff! Unfortunately. we don’t have those in Nashville either, and so I make do. I try to bargain shop as much as possible but I also want quality and selection. I have yet to find the perfect mix here.

    Reply
  • 25. Stephen  |  July 15, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Yes, my wife and I always do a double take on the occasions we grocery shop at Super T. Around here we have the omni-present Publix chain. We buy our staples there, vegetables at a local Spanish market and meat at Whole Foods…although for the cost of a pound of chicken breasts from WF we could start raising our own. However, we’d miss out on the pretentious vibe.

    Reply
  • 26. Shari  |  July 15, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Wonderful question! I’ve loved reading all of the feedback.. I personally shop at Target and mostly buy storebrand and save $, then shop Sams for basics. I’m being lured a bit here.. it’s really such a personal decision in the end. I really wish we had a Trader Joe’s closer and Walmart’s prices/ALDI do really tempt me to check it out.

    Reply
  • 27. Rachel  |  July 15, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    These comments are great.

    I’m so shocked to read that Super Target is more expensive. I buy most of my pantry staples and dairy there. It is actually the closest grocery store to me (if you don’t count uber-expensive Kowalski’s).

    When I initially did the comparison, I found that for the items and brands that I buy it was actually cheaper. And the few times that I’ve gone to Rainbow, I”ve been disappointed with their “higher” prices. Maybe I should do further investigation or maybe it’s different for different brands.

    I’m kind of a produce snob, so I buy most of it at Lunds or Whole Foods–I know, I know, so spendy. And we buy a lot of our meat from the local butcher–Everett’s. I think their meat has some of the best prices, and it’s so fresh. Oh and I’m a big fan of Trader Joe’s!

    Reply
  • 28. Jenny  |  July 15, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    I heart Super Target.

    The fresh meats sometimes have $3 off coupons right on them… maybe 25% of the time, I find these and i buy any that i can find. So if the package of meat is $7, it’s only $4, which per-pound is usually a huge savings.

    Of course, appearance is nice too.

    Rainbow has always seemed expensive to me.

    I usually do a combo of Super T and Cub, Costco, and Trader Joe’s. I have my favorites that I buy at each one.

    🙂 Great insights!

    Reply
  • 29. Tiffany  |  July 15, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    My experience in finding the best deals:

    Target: Can’t beat the dairy prices
    Wal-Mart: Can’t stand it, so I don’t even try
    Rainbow: Good prices on ad items. Everything else expensive.
    Trader Joes: Cereal, bread, chips, organic, unique stuff.
    Cub: Good produce and best overall prices.
    Costco: Cake, salad, meat, mango-pomegranate-chipotle sauce, lots of samples on Sunday after church (that way you don’t have to make lunch:)

    And that is my two cents.
    Fun post!

    Reply
  • 30. Liz  |  July 15, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    I’m so glad someone finally mentioned Trader Joe’s! I also bop around to several different stores, but do much of my grocery shopping at SuperTarget. The deli meat is actually cheaper than CUB and I think better. Archer Farms is consistently cheaper – the online coupons also help. PLUS, it’s only one stop! A big bonus for me. I do find myself running to CUB for “buy one, get one free” items. BUT, I do a lot of my shopping at Trader Joe’s now. With a picky family I have yet to find an item that goes to waste. Their produce is always good and if not cheaper, comparably priced. So, that’s my two-cents. I avoid Rainbow like the plague – I always find it more expensive for the things I buy. Funny, huh! This has been a FUN post to read. Thanks everyone!

    Reply
  • 31. Susan  |  July 15, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    I have a Target Greatland near me, which I mistakenly thought would be similar to a Super Target. Alas, no groceries to be found inside.

    Reply
  • 32. stacey  |  July 16, 2008 at 9:36 am

    I don’t have one anymore and it is probably a good thing because everytime I went in there I spent $100 minimum….even if I was going for 5 things.

    Reply
  • 33. Michelle  |  July 16, 2008 at 11:21 am

    The Target near us has groceries, but no fresh produce or deli section, which causes me to stay away from it, plus its all the way across town, whereas Walmart is one mile away. I would greatly prefer Target for the experience and Starbucks, but would still shop at Walmart due to the price difference, even if they had a full Super Target and it was as close as Walmart.

    All that being said, I’d like to give props to the Walmart in Blue Ridge, GA. We live in Florida and have friends in Andrews, NC. When we go to see them, we travel through GA and often times stop at the Walmart in Blue Ridge as a diversion from the ten hour drive. I used the restroom there the last time we went, and I have to say, it was the most pleasant restroom experience I have ever had at any public restroom, ever. It was clean and fresh smelling, and to top it all off, there were sinks with automatic, WARM water. Pleasant from start to finish, and at Walmart! I was blown away.

    Reply
  • 34. JenR  |  July 16, 2008 at 11:37 am

    Love this post. Unfortunaly, in the Bay Area I dont think they allow the “Super” stores. But, we have a regular Target and Walmart across the street from each other. We do not live in a nice neighborhood and the clientel at the Walmart reflect that. It is always crowded, dirty, and chaotic. The target is much less crowded, clean, and the sales people understand English. But it is more expensive, so I go to Walmart.

    However, when we lived in Ohio, the ALDI was wonderful!!! I miss it. It is so nice to have cheap food without the selection. I find that the greater selection, the more money I spend. Also, being in the military, we shop at the base grocery store, which out here is about half as much as any other grocery store out here (this was not true in Ohio, just CA where everything is really expensive).

    Reply
  • 35. Ronnica  |  July 16, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    I only shop at Walmart when I’m near the one that is less busy. Otherwise, it just takes too long to drive (the busy one isn’t terribly convenient, either). Otherwise, I shop at Target.

    I don’t really shop grocery stores, because I’ve always found them to be more expensive overall.

    Reply
  • 36. Nikki  |  July 16, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Oh! I forgot to mention another reason I’m loving my CUB – depending on how many groceries I buy, I get a coupon good for $$ off at my local Holiday station with each purchase – and you can combine up to 3 coupons, which shaves a couple bucks off the gas bill! Gotta love that.

    I also forgot to mention, though, that when I was pregnant with my son, I would forego CUB entirely and stick with Lunds, Festival, Byerly’s, or any chains that offered tip-free carry-out service. I even went with Simon Delivers a time or two! With a big pregnant belly and aching feet, the few extra bucks I had to pay for the groceries was well worth it!

    Reply
  • 37. rachel  |  July 16, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    1. price
    2. ethical practices of the business
    3. location

    i don’t ever shop at walmart, even though it’s usually the cheapest. (so i guess number 1 and number 2 should be switched …)

    i LOVE aldi!!

    i go to target only for the clothes that are 70% off 🙂

    Reply
  • 38. Karla D'Agosta  |  July 16, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Ok, lets talk,
    Recently an article was in the Mpls paper comparing the prices of Whole Foods, Rainbow, Cub, Kowalskis, and Target. They checked the prices of organic produce and meat and other basic products. All were within $5 of each other with Kowalskis and Cub being the most expensive. At the bottom of the article Trader Joes was featured and stated that since we (Trader Joes) used their own lables they could not be included in the article but, it stated that TJ’s was %30 less than all the others!!! Also, we do price comparisons every month using the same products at TJs and other grocery stores in the area. This month is Cub and Cubs products stacked up to be $71.56 and TJ’s $56.32. We have a return policy that can’t be beat, as in, you don’t like it, we refund it. We don’t care what your reason is. We are clean and friendly. I realize that they are about a half an hour away from you, but if you are trying to go green keep at the Aldis. They pay there employees well, with great benefits. While I do find it just..kind of wierd, not sure why. Make the treck Molly, we will greet you with a smile!

    Reply
  • 39. Karla D'Agosta  |  July 16, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    umm I do go to Target for their Roasted Red pepper alfredo sauce. yum.

    Reply
  • 40. kendra  |  July 16, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    Wal-Mart is cheaper, but farther than our Dillons. I’ve got the layout at Dillons down pat, plus my bank is inside it, and a post office, and a big eatery section where I can sit down with the kids and feed them lunch or a snack. And it’s the closest. And they double coupons up to $1, so with my huge stack of coupons and the store savings (which I like better than Target’s), I save a lot more, even if the regular price on something is more than it would be at Wal-Mart or Target or Aldi. I always buy the store brand (Kroger), though, and it’s comparable to the other stores. A usual bill for me is $75, and I saved $60 or $70 in coupons and store savings. It’s a pretty fabulous store–actually called Dillons Marketplace–furniture, grills, appliances, bed/bath/kitchen, floral, huge deli, Chinese and lots of other prepared foods, huge section of gourmet cheeses (which I don’t buy) and fancy stuff like that…it’s quite a site.

    So, convenience! Those 3 (food, p.o., bank) are usually the only errands I have, so I think it’s awesome I can do it all at once. If I didn’t have 2 small kids in tow, it’d be a whole ‘nother story.

    Target’s milk is our least favorite. It has a funny taste. That alone usually keeps us out of Target for groceries, b/c we ALWAYS need milk.

    Reply
  • 41. Erin  |  July 17, 2008 at 4:54 am

    We don’t have a Super Target around here so I have no idea, but if you are comparing regular Target to Wal-Mart, yes…(sad sigh) they are more expensive. But it is SO NICE to be able to walk in a clean, well-stocked store with lots of lines open that I try to ignore that. Haha!

    Reply
  • 42. nicole  |  July 17, 2008 at 8:11 am

    I stopped grocery shopping at Target. I do think it is more expensive, generally speaking. But that wasn’t the biggest problem for me. My problem was lack of self-control. If I shopped at Target I would inevitably end up wandering over to the non-grocery section and buying stuff I didn’t really need. So now I only go to Target for Target things. I go to just grocery stores for groceries.

    Reply
  • 43. Really Robin  |  July 17, 2008 at 8:21 am

    I only shop, grocery wise, at Super Target when I need something “unusual” that I can’t find at my local Super Wal~Mart. They do have some excellent “store brand” items that I will buy. Here in Nebraska I don’t see them as any cheaper dairy wise that SWM.

    I live about 30 miles from any major city. When I go grocery shopping, I hit Sam’s/SWM (they are next to each other), then I hit Super Target (next shopping center down – same parking area). Lastly, I hit Baker’s – which is owned by Dillon (Kroger’s). I only buy sale items at Baker’s because they are extremely costly. They are so sweet – they mail me a flyer every week because my Omaha paper doesn’t provide the sale ads for rural routes.

    For meat and deli items, nothing beats Fareway – but I don’t think they are anywhere outside of here and Iowa. Too bad too, they still have the meat counter you can buy steaks, bacon, roasts and hamburger that is freshly cut and packaged as you select it. Prices there are wonderful.

    ::sigh:: I have to hit town for grocery shopping today. Guess I’d better get that list going.

    Reply
  • 44. carissa  |  July 17, 2008 at 10:38 am

    speaking of Trader Joe’s… it’s wonderful. i do most of my shopping there (granted, i’m a single person who never buys in bulk and likes weird food), except for produce and waffles which i buy at the regular supermarket. yeah, our TJ’s only has weird waffles that i don’t like. but can i tell you how excited i was to find out that Trader Joe’s is the closet supermarket to my new apartment in Chicago? the LORD hath provided for me.

    Reply
  • 45. jahber  |  July 17, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    I love the “Super T”! It’s a great place to go with the kids when you’re caught in the inevitable (and yet unpredictable) summer rains in Florida. There’s a cafe for a snack and a kids’ department where they can play with all the toys we’ll never buy them 😉 Although then we have to clean up the trail of destruction. But, more importantly, Target carries tons of natural and/or organic products, like Method. More than the other stores near me, in any case.

    Reply
  • 46. amy  |  July 17, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    hi Molly! what a great post!! As we are not in the US right now, and in fact no where near a Target or anything remotely close to it, I would give my right arm to shop there!! My husband says they took a big financial hit when we moved to India!! I just love walking around and seeing nice things!! fun reading all the comments!

    Reply
  • 47. ann  |  July 27, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    I love my super target.. the produce dept is awesome, the employees are always friendly and know about the products that they sell.. I do however find a few employees to be rude and will not help… example this woman named DANI at the blaiine mn super t was so rude. ignored me basically and moved on rolling her eyes…… I wanted to talk to a manager about her rudeness but was offered an apology from another employee for her … how sad… someone should make her go away… seems like a kmart employee ..

    Reply
  • 48. Rachel  |  August 3, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    I feel much too guilty to shop at non-union grocery stores. Those low prices at Wal-Mart and Target are possible because they do not pay most of their employees a living wage, and because they support a commercial industry that drives out local business and keeps farmers / factory workers / truck drivers from making a living comparable to their hard work and sacrifices. Look online to find grocery stores in your area that are union – they pay their employees living wage, at least, and often have a local produce section. For us, it’s Giant. The groceries are not much more there than at Wal-Mart, it’s clean, and I feel good knowing that I’m helping to feed someone else’s family, not just my own.

    I know Wal-Mart has a bad rep these days, but Target is just as bad. Sure, it’s clean – but the employees aren’t getting paid any more money to keep it that way.

    I’d be cranky if I were working for so little, too.

    And to respond to someone else who wrote before me, complaining to a manager is just going to make you look like a jerk. Sometimes people have a bad day, and you don’t know what her story is – surely you’d expect a little more kindness and understanding if you were in her shoes? Store policy is usually that they don’t WANT the kind of customer who complains shopping at their store, because they take up employee time that could be spent doing something more productive. Plus, it’s rude. Whatever happened to turning the other cheek?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


