Summer in the City

August 1, 2008 at 3:29 pm 10 comments

I really love summer time. And I really love living in the city during the summer. Of course there are the annoying fireworks that begin somewhere in mid-June for the 4th of July celebrations or the rowdy parties at the townhouse across the street from time to time. But overall, I love it.

One of my favorite parts of summer is when my next door neighbor Nancy’s raspberries are ripe for picking. She is a dear sister and friend, and always offers for us to pick as often as we like. It’s been my solitary pastime for a few years now, but now I have a companion:

He’s tall enough and brave enough to trek through the high bushes, so I never get to pick by myself anymore!

By the way, one of my favorite songs when I was a kid was Lovin’ Spoonful’s “Summer in the City.” My dad had their greatest hits tape, and we would listen to it all the time while boating on Lake Erie.

Entry filed under: Family, Life, Orison.

“Mom, I’m going to Kenya.” My in-laws are “Parents of the Year!”

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sunnydaydreame  |  August 1, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    How funny. Last night Brenton and I went out raspberry picking at a neighbor’s house too. This morning I made raspberry jam. I think raspberries taste like sunshine. I can guarantee you that I will be savoring those jars of bottled up sunshine come February. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. jamsco  |  August 1, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Earlier this week one of my children (won’t say which one) cried when he found out that 3 of the others got to pick raspberries at Grandma’s.

    Reply
  • 3. Susan  |  August 1, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    WOW! I just can’t get over how much he looks like his daddy! πŸ™‚ And, I’m very jealous of your berry-picking. I LOVE raspberries!! Yum!

    Reply
  • 4. Kellie  |  August 1, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    I love raspberries! wish I knew someone w/ bushes!

    Reply
  • 5. rachel  |  August 1, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    i love raspberries – i would LOVE to live next to some πŸ™‚

    and, o looks so much like abraham in that photo. it’s unbelievable.

    Reply
  • 6. Michelle at Scribbit  |  August 1, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Our weather has been so bad that my raspberries have been very slow this year. Pretty soon they’ll be ready and then I’ll be swimming in jam!

    Reply
  • 7. Chris  |  August 2, 2008 at 6:07 am

    What a cute picture! Our old neighbors had a little corn patch, and we have a cute picture like that of Malachi in the corn patch. I enjoyed “Summer In the City,” as well. I lived in the inner city for 30 years. I agree that it is a great place to live.

    Reply
  • 8. shawnda  |  August 2, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    Yummy rasberries! We just went blackberry picking this morning!!! I can’t believe how big O is getting!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 9. Kristin  |  August 2, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Wow, he looks like such a big boy! Jaimes has grown like crazy this summer…I’m sure O has also. I really want to grow some berry bushes in our backyard. Hopefully “peter” our neighborhood rabbit won’t eat them all though!

    Reply
  • 10. artsieandie  |  August 8, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    fun song. it was always my challenge to try and sing all the words as a child when mom was listening to the oldies station.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


