My in-laws are “Parents of the Year!”

August 4, 2008 at 12:20 pm 12 comments

So many people ask my husband the question “What’s it like to have John Piper as your dad?”

Apparently my friend Jenna’s eight-year-old already knows.

Entry filed under: Family.

Summer in the City M.I.A.

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jennapants  |  August 4, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    you are hilarious.

    Reply
  • 2. Barnabas  |  August 4, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    That post killed me. I’m laughing all by myself. And i agree with “parent #3”. John Piper is a great parent.

    Reply
  • 3. Kristen  |  August 4, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    That is so funny! I guess having John Piper as a back up parent wouldn’t be so bad.

    Reply
  • 4. Jane Swanson  |  August 4, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Such a cute post by your friend! LOL!
    When my children have refered to us as the “mean” parents, we have been quick to agree, as being “mean” generally means we have a few rules and standards for behavior!
    ~jane

    Reply
  • 5. Tiffany  |  August 4, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Yes, that is funny. I am still laughing out loud at that. I do believe they are pretty amazing parents.

    Reply
  • 6. diane  |  August 4, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    hmmm… do the Pipers take teenagers? haha! Hilarious!

    Reply
  • 7. Katie  |  August 5, 2008 at 4:44 am

    That cracked me up. And to think I can’t wait for my daughter to start talking… 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Kelly @ Love Well  |  August 5, 2008 at 8:33 am

    I bet your husband would have had a sobering word or two for him.

    Reply
  • 9. Caryn  |  August 5, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Hahaha…that is so funny!

    Reply
  • 10. Talitha  |  August 5, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    sweet…! I guess I get a new little sibling, huh??!!!

    Reply
  • 11. Becky Elliff  |  August 5, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Molly,
    I have so enjoyed reading your blog! In a way, our lives are similar…we both married pastor’s sons…we have both experienced the loss of a child. You have experienced something that I could never imagine…I have experienced something I thought I could never imagine, until it happened to me. We have four babies safe in the arms of Jesus right now (lost through miscarriages)…and four entrusted to us here on earth. I just wanted you to know that I have wept with you and for you as I have read tonight. Thank you for sharing your story, it really is so good to know there are others who share the same grief and, more importantly, the same faith.

    Blessings,
    Becky Elliff

    Reply
  • 12. Amanda J  |  August 12, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Hey Molly, OK ran across your blog again, I had somehow forgot about it. And this post was fabulous. I think every child at some point must have thought the grass looked greener in a friends backyard. -and Jenna’s blog had me laughing out loud, thanks for highlighting it!

    Glad to hear you’re having a busy, fun-filled summer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


