Orison’s Transition to Boyhood

August 19, 2008 at 9:46 am 14 comments

Part of my enjoyment of this summer has been watching my toddler turn into a boy. He tries so many risky things now (be still my heart). But instead of stopping him constantly, I’m watching him develop and realizing that he is so much more capable physically than he was a year ago. He climbs ladders with relative ease, jumps off of everything, and is thrilled by all manner of boy games.

Here are some pictures from the last couple weeks that have had me laughing:

He had seen a hopscotch board while we were on on a walk the other night and when I drew him one, he thought it was so fun. He doesn’t actually throw a stone and do the game, he just jumps along the board back and forth.

Very thrilling when the dumpster arrived for our demolition work. Abraham let him go in there before we started the project and he had a blast!

Baseball and bike riding have been a huge part of this summer. Not sure how my running shoes fit into the game, but it makes sense to him somehow.

He’s also been growing his hair out with his daddy. This might be one of my favorite pictures in recent memory. This was also taken the day that he didn’t want to change out of his pajamas. I kept asking him, “Do you want to get dressed for the day now?” His response each time, “Not yet.” So he stayed in them all day—fine by me!

Entry filed under: Family, Life, Orison.

Olympic Exhaustion Loss and Subsequent Pregnancy

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. danielle  |  August 19, 2008 at 10:26 am

    that last photo is amazing. i love it. it’s definitely a framer.

    he is really turning into a boy. i couldn’t believe how different he was from christmas. i miss him.

    and you.

    Reply
  • 2. Talitha  |  August 19, 2008 at 11:08 am

    funny!

    Reply
  • 3. Marsel  |  August 19, 2008 at 11:39 am

    So glad you’re letting him be “all boy” — my six year old son is the same way and (despite the occasional heart-thumping on my part!) it is so neat to watch him becoming a capable and confident little man right in front of me! Enjoy! (…the fun moves to the next level when he gets old enough to earnestly attempt to convince his doubtful mama that his latest idea is a grand one and she should let him try it…!)

    Reply
  • 4. JessicainFlorida  |  August 19, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Oh man, I love that curly mop!

    I gotta say, I’m jealous of him in the dumpster. I always wanted to know what it would be like to get in one of those (while it was empty, of course!)

    Reply
  • 5. jamsco  |  August 19, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Places-where-you-normally-shouldn’t-be-but-are-safe-now are always great for play.

    Reply
  • 6. Tiffany  |  August 19, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    I like his shaggy look too. So cute!

    Reply
  • 7. Stacey  |  August 19, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Max is always putting on my flip flops. Max NEVER wants to get dressed and he now takes his underwear completely off afte his first morning pee and for some reason decides to “free ball” the rest of the day in his shorts.

    Reply
  • 8. Stacey  |  August 19, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    that was supposed to be AFTER his first morning pee

    Reply
  • 9. Liz  |  August 19, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Glad to know there is another mother out there allowing her son to wear his “jammies” all day. Anders would NEVER get dressed if I didn’t make him – often I don’t. What’s wrong with boxers and a t-shirt anyway?? No wonder we get along so well, Molly! 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. jennlynnprin  |  August 20, 2008 at 2:24 am

    Adorable! They grow up too fast, don’t they?

    Reply
  • 11. Chris  |  August 20, 2008 at 3:29 am

    It’s fun to have a pajama day once in a awhile. We have those, too:)

    Reply
  • 12. robyn  |  August 20, 2008 at 7:48 am

    love these sweet pictures.

    Reply
  • 13. Amanda J  |  August 24, 2008 at 9:55 am

    I lve that last picture. Simply Darling. ANd wow, he’s got his ?dad’s? !grandpa’s! eyes. What a fun summer.

    Reply
  • 14. Amanda  |  August 25, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    I learned that on the days where my three year old really wants to wear her pjs …. it’s easier on everyone if I just let her.

    Shh … don’t tell my mom, but sometimes I let her sleep in regular clothes at bedtime b/c she wants to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


