What Granddaddy’s Saying

August 25, 2008 at 10:20 am 17 comments

My father-in-law wrote a lovely post welcoming Morrow into the world. He also scooped us a little bit, by partially explaining his name.

Entry filed under: Family.

Announcing… Meeting His Big Sister

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicole Wilson  |  August 25, 2008 at 11:05 am

    rejoicing with you over this precious one

    Reply
  • 2. Rachel  |  August 25, 2008 at 11:17 am

    beautiful – that name is so… wow. perfect. amazing.

    I love it. Thank you for sharing – Look forward to your rendition of choosing his name.

    What version is that Psalm 30:5? I’m sure you’ll explain, or on 22 words.

    Reply
  • 3. shawnda  |  August 25, 2008 at 11:38 am

    I read that last night after I asked you what it meant : ) I was laying in bed last night thinking about it and in awe of how perfect and beautiful his name choice is. Love it. Morrow. And now, it’s what I’ll always think of when I think of him! I also love how John mentions missiong Felicity in the post. I felt it was very tender and sensitive, compassionate. I loved it.

    Reply
  • 4. Stacey  |  August 25, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Very nice……..thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 5. Nanette  |  August 25, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I love that verse, and I love his name.
    And Grandad’s post was beautiful.

    Praising the Lord that joy comes in the morning, and that Morrow has made it safely into your arms.

    Reply
  • 6. Rachel  |  August 25, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    beautiful poem
    beautiful name
    beautiful boy

    congratulations! God is good.

    Reply
  • 7. Susan  |  August 25, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    I had a feeling this is where it came from, and of course I’m blubbering over how beautiful and beautifully appropriate it is.

    I’m ELATED for you! Praise God!

    Reply
  • 8. Greta  |  August 25, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    What a perfect perfect name choice. Love it!

    Reply
  • 9. Adrienne  |  August 25, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    What a beautiful name for a precious boy and a lovely poem to boot. WOW.

    Reply
  • 10. Deron Arnold  |  August 25, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Great poem for a great baby!

    So, who came up with the poem? (based on Ps 30:5)

    and…

    Which came first–the poem or the name?

    P.S. I had a co-worker friend who recently had a child after losing a 3 month old infant. In my naivete I asked if the new child helped ease the pain or even somehow took the place of the deceased. She replied that no, the pain and hurt were still there, but there is a new sense of joy. Maybe a different kind of joy then typically experienced by parents who have never lost a child.

    Reply
  • 11. Jane Swanson  |  August 25, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    So special! Thinking warm thoughts of all of you. Love the poem.
    ~jane

    Reply
  • 12. Hannah  |  August 25, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    Beautiful.

    Reply
  • 13. Tina  |  August 26, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    that was so beautiful…

    Reply
  • 14. Katie @ Heart Gone Walking  |  August 27, 2008 at 8:34 am

    Possibly the most beautiful meaning behind a name… ever. Congratulations again!

    Reply
  • 15. Megan  |  August 27, 2008 at 9:11 am

    Absolutely beautiful story of God’s love and faithfulness. Congratulations on the birth of precious Morrow.

    Reply
  • 16. Pam  |  August 27, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Morrow (and Orison) are blessed to have a granddaddy that is so committed to pointing them to Christ. What a beautiful heritage!

    Reply
  • 17. April  |  August 27, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Molly, I can’t tell you how much your post on subsequent pregnancy and posts on grief have helped me. It is comforting in a way to know that others are feeling and have gone through the same exact feelings that I have felt after losing my son, Eli.
    I loved what you said about fear, and that really challenged me. Congratulations on Morrow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


