Meeting His Big Sister

August 28, 2008 at 9:22 am 37 comments

We were looking forward to visiting the cemetery as soon as possible after we left the hospital. Thanks to mom and dad’s presence, we were able to get a family photo.

Taking Morrow there felt strangely normal and natural. Of course I don’t like that one of our children is not in our arms. But there was something happy in a way about their “meeting.”

I had anticipated a whole host of emotions to rise up in my heart when this baby arrived and expected a fresh tidal wave of grief. I’m still waiting. It hasn’t been what I was preparing myself for at all. Mostly there’s been a lot of JOY, which is a welcome change.

Entry filed under: Family, Felicity, Grief.

What Granddaddy’s Saying Why Morrow John?

37 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tricia  |  August 28, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Your family picture is beautiful!

    Reply
  • 2. Kelly  |  August 28, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Simply beautiful.

    Reply
  • 3. diane  |  August 28, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    beautiful! I rejoice for your joy!

    Reply
  • 4. Marsel  |  August 28, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Praise God for His goodness…

    Reply
  • 5. Crystal  |  August 28, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    I am so happy for you all, and rejoice with you for the blessing of joy!

    Reply
  • 6. jamsco  |  August 28, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Yes, it is good to hear about you experiencing joy.

    Reply
  • 7. Courtney  |  August 28, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    Praise God for fresh joy and His extra measure of grace with the arrival of your newest blessing.

    Reply
  • 8. Jane Swanson  |  August 28, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    A beautiful family!

    Reply
  • 9. Rebecca (Ramblings by Reba)  |  August 28, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    What a beautiful family!

    Reply
  • 10. Elizabeth Esther  |  August 28, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    Joy on the Morrow. Indeed.

    Reply
  • 11. aimee xander  |  August 28, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    i’m so happy for you! congratulations! hugs and kisses!

    Reply
  • 12. Rachel  |  August 28, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    I don’t have any words… seeing this made me lose my breath.

    Reply
  • 13. danielle  |  August 28, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    i’m so glad you go to go! i’ve been waiting to call because aber emailed that you would call when you’re up to it. i will definitely call you while driving, or if you get a moment that feels free, call me. we’ll be driving from 4am-6pm or something sick like that. love you! kiss morrow and o for me.

    Reply
  • 14. shawnda  |  August 28, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    Oh friend, I’m so glad that you were able to go for this beautiful introduction!! And I’m SO thankful to the Lord that you are experiencing joy – oh, but joy comes on the Morrow! Praise Him! We love ya’ll, and I LOVE the family pic!

    Reply
  • 15. J. Evans  |  August 28, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    I lost my breath when I saw the first picture. WOW. What a blessing, Molly.

    Reply
  • […] made me laugh and cry with […]

    Reply
  • 17. Tiffany  |  August 28, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Oh Molly, that’s beautiful. Praise God for all of the joy you are feeling!

    Reply
  • 18. Greta  |  August 28, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Your posts make emotions rise up in me! What a beautiful family, Beautiful because you have held each other up, comforted each other, experienced great sadness and great joy and you are glorifying the Most Beautiful One.

    Reply
  • 19. Tina  |  August 28, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    Just amazingly beautiful!! So thankful for what God has done for you all.

    Reply
  • 20. Lindsay  |  August 29, 2008 at 12:27 am

    Following your blog and reading your story has really changed my life in a great way. Thank you!

    Reply
  • 21. Dina  |  August 29, 2008 at 5:51 am

    Praise God! I think the picture of Morrow next to Felicity’s grave is beautiful.

    Reply
  • 22. Courtney T.  |  August 29, 2008 at 6:53 am

    That is a sweet and precious picture, Molly. I was just thinking this morning how happy I am for you guys.

    Reply
  • 23. robyn  |  August 29, 2008 at 7:42 am

    so sweet Molly!

    Reply
  • 24. Stephanie  |  August 29, 2008 at 7:55 am

    I love the family picture! So wonderful and precious.

    Reply
  • 25. RaJen  |  August 29, 2008 at 8:51 am

    beautiful! simply.

    Reply
  • 26. MrsMK  |  August 29, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Thanking God for your joy….

    Reply
  • 27. Stacey  |  August 29, 2008 at 9:49 am

    Thanks for sharing

    Reply
  • 28. Tanya  |  August 29, 2008 at 9:56 am

    I’m a newbie to your blog.

    This is absolutely beautiful. It speaks of such hope and of our eternal promise.

    We recently lost our baby during the 2nd trimester. Some of your other posts have been very helpful for me.

    Reply
  • 29. jess  |  August 29, 2008 at 11:55 am

    I’m so happy for your family!!!! May the fullness of your joy be more with each day!

    Reply
  • 30. Jenny @ a latte talk  |  August 29, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Oh my goodness, I saw the title of this and the tears welled up. What a beautiful picture of God’s grace. and faithfulness. and love. and comfort. and peace.

    wow.

    Reply
  • 31. Caryn  |  August 30, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    The verse I just thought of after reading your post was Romans 15:13. “May the God of hope fill you with all JOY and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.”

    Praising Jesus for filling you with all JOY!

    Reply
  • 32. Kristy  |  August 30, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Congratulations! You are always in our prayers! Welcome to the world baby Morrow!

    Reply
  • 33. faith  |  August 31, 2008 at 2:25 am

    i am new to your blog.
    ….very touching photo.

    congratulations on lil Morrow.

    -Faith

    Reply
  • 34. Shannon (Rocks In My Dryer)  |  August 31, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Beautiful, Molly. And I guess that’s why it’s called the peace that passes understanding, right?

    Reply
  • 35. melissa mailly  |  September 1, 2008 at 9:47 am

    I remember taking baby Moses to Matthias’ grave for the first time – it was much the same – a flooding of peace and joy. God is good.

    We are so happy for you all and for the arrival of sweet Morrow. What a gift all your beautiful children are!

    Blessings!

    Reply
  • 36. Amanda  |  September 1, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    I have just recently found your blog after having my son Gavin in April and losing him in May. Your words have truly spoken to me and brought me comfort as well. Your faith and strength is amazing. Congratulations on the safe arrival of Morrow. I pray one day that God will bless us with a subsequent child and we might be able to share a similar moment with Gavin and his new sibling. May God continue to bless you all.

    Amanda

    Reply
  • 37. Leslie Camp  |  September 15, 2008 at 5:27 am

    Haven’t visited the blog recently, so glad I did this morning. I have three children now after losing my first. Every decision to get pregnant was a difficult one. We’re thinking about trying again soon, and still, I wonder if somewhere inside of me I’m still looking for Ethan. I wonder if I’m crazy for wanting another child. It aint easy!

    But what it boils down to for me is that life is a precious gift. It is a miracle that we take for granted because we see it everyday. We just don’t always see that it is a miracle until something “goes wrong.” I think my loss of Ethan has just helped me to recognize that each child is a miracle and to appreciate them as such. Why wouldn’t I want to be a part of that over and over and over again?

    Another thing, some of my friends and family express concern for me getting pregnant again because of “the risk.” God has just given me such an amazing peace through each pregnancy. I hope you experienced that peace in your pregnancy with Morrow.

    Grace and peace to you, sister in these coming weeks! Hope you get some sleep soon and praying that Orison will adjust well to big brotherhood! You have a beautiful family! All 5 of you! God bless

    Leslie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


