Why Morrow John?

September 2, 2008 at 7:43 am 30 comments

There are no words to express how joyful we feel right now as we welcome our second son into the world. One thing I asked people to pray for us after we lost Felicity was that God would restore our hope. We were looking for a tomorrow that somehow made more sense than the one we were in.

As we considered this name for our child, the last stanza of Great Is Thy Faithfulness often filled my thoughts:

Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth,
Thine own dear presence to cheer and to guide.
Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow.
Blessings all mine with ten thousand beside.

Great is thy faithfulness!
Great is thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed thy hand hath provided.
Great is thy faithfulness, Lord unto me.

There are so many beautiful references in the Bible to the morning (when his mercies are new, when we want him to satisfy us, how we should long for him, etc.). But the one that resonated the most with me was Psalm 30:5, particularly the second part of the verse.

For his anger is but for a moment,
and his favor is for a lifetime.
Weeping may tarry for the night,
but joy comes with the morning.

We chose John for a middle name after Abraham’s father. We have known such strong support and sweet affection from him in particular as we have lived through the last 11 months. Also, Abraham holds a deep affection for his daddy, who has been his most faithful fan and encourager through the last 29 years. We love you, John, and are so thankful that you are Morrow’s granddaddy.

Entry filed under: Faith, Family, Morrow.

Meeting His Big Sister Brothers

30 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  September 2, 2008 at 7:52 am

    His is so beautiful! We are so happy for you!!

    Reply
  • 2. Rachel  |  September 2, 2008 at 7:59 am

    Thanks for the explanation.

    What a cutie!! He’s perfect!!

    Reply
  • 3. gerberdaisie  |  September 2, 2008 at 8:01 am

    What a cute baby. That verse from Psalm really stuck to me after we lost our baby. I am so glad that He blessed you with joy and Morrow.

    Reply
  • 4. Gabby  |  September 2, 2008 at 8:24 am

    Molly,
    I wish that I could meet him in person, I missed him by a day! But I am so happy for you and your family! I’ll be praying for you guys this fall.

    Gabby

    Reply
  • 5. jamsco  |  September 2, 2008 at 8:32 am

    So this time are you getting any “so . . . is Morrow a family name?”

    Reply
  • 6. Liz  |  September 2, 2008 at 8:43 am

    He is adorable!! I”m dying to cuddle with him!!!

    Reply
  • 7. aaron  |  September 2, 2008 at 8:45 am

    man, he is cute!

    Congratulations, kelly and I are so happy for you guys.

    Reply
  • 8. jamsco  |  September 2, 2008 at 10:12 am

    By the way, what is Orison’s middle name?

    Reply
  • 9. Crystal  |  September 2, 2008 at 10:14 am

    His name is truly perfect, and he’s so beautiful!

    Reply
  • 10. Kelly @ Love Well  |  September 2, 2008 at 11:22 am

    His name is perfect. Absolutely perfect. How special this story will be to him someday.

    (Our baby born in January also has a unique and meaningful name, in case you like reading other stories.)

    Reply
  • 11. robyn  |  September 2, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    beautiful, molly! I love the name and the meaning. he is so handsome!

    hey, by the way, my dad is coming to Austin October 17-20th. They leave early morning on the 20th, so any other dates in October would work for us. I hope we can see you!!

    Reply
  • 12. shawnda  |  September 2, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    *tears*…as always!

    I love his name and the meaning behind it! I love how the Lord is bringing you joy on the morrow! GREAT IS HIS FAITHFULNESS!!!!

    We love ya’ll!

    Reply
  • 13. Kendall  |  September 2, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    So, SOOO very happy for you.
    He is truly a beautiful baby…
    My husband and I are praising God with you and your family. 🙂

    Reply
  • 14. Courtney  |  September 2, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Absolutely perfect! Rejoicing with you and your family.

    Reply
  • 15. Becky Elliff  |  September 2, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    Congratulations…he is beautiful and his name is so fitting. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 16. Tiffany  |  September 2, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    just perfect. so so happy for you!

    Reply
  • 17. Stephanie  |  September 2, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    SOOOOO CUTE!!!!! I love the name! I love meanings behind names…ya know?

    Reply
  • 18. Andrea  |  September 2, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Morrow is so adorable! We can’t wait to meet him.
    Andrea

    Reply
  • 19. MrsMK  |  September 2, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Morrow has already grown so much!! What a beautiful baby and lovely name!!

    Reply
  • 20. Tina  |  September 2, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    I can hardly ever come here without crying my eyes out, either from sympathetic sadness, or from overwhelming joy and happiness. Maybe it is partly because I am pregnant. They are planning to induce me on the 22nd this month, so you have been much on my mind.

    I can’t believe how big he is already. And so beautiful!!!
    I was so excited to come and read this post!!

    Love that Psalm.. God bless you and your beautiful family Molly.

    Reply
  • 21. Jane  |  September 2, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    A beautiful name for a beautiful baby. It was so encouraging to hear your thoughts on naming him.
    ~jane

    Reply
  • 22. Emily Meyer  |  September 3, 2008 at 4:33 am

    Thank you for the sweet update. His mercy is new!!!

    Reply
  • 23. Dina  |  September 3, 2008 at 6:48 am

    The name is perfect. Praise God that He is faithful to give us always give mercy, joy and hope! Praising God with your for your sweet gift.

    Reply
  • 24. deb t  |  September 3, 2008 at 8:05 am

    Congratulations, Molly and Abraham!!!! Molly, you were in my prayers and thoughts the whole day of your delivery. So thankful to the Lord for His faithfulness to you and your family. Just read Psalm 30 over the weekend and know, that like me, you know the Lord met you there through His Word. He loves and cares for His own so much!! What a beautiful family! God bless you always.

    Reply
  • 25. Amanda  |  September 3, 2008 at 8:43 am

    He is just beautiful. I am so glad that your hope has been restored. I pray each and every day that hope and happiness will soon return to our lives. Today is the 4 month anniversary of Gavin’s passing, it is impossible to believe that 4 months have already gone by. May God continue to bless you all.

    Amanda

    Reply
  • 26. Andie  |  September 3, 2008 at 9:50 am

    do you like brownies? if so, walnuts, or no?
    thought this would be the easiest way to ask this ques. you can comment to my blog 🙂

    Reply
  • 27. jennapants  |  September 3, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    i love him. i don’t envy any out-of-town family. i’m sure your mom just wants to reach through the screen and hold him.

    Reply
  • 28. Ronnica  |  September 3, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    So wonderful! What a blessing.

    Reply
  • 29. Heather Ledeboer  |  September 3, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Alisha, (who has a SIL that is a friend of yours) reads my blog and sent me a link to yours today. I lost a son 4 months ago via stilbirth at 37 weeks. I recently posted about the hope that I am longing for in wanting to get pregnant again here http://mom4life.typepad.com/mom_4_life/from_a_mom_4_life/index.html and Alisha thought that reading your posts might encourage me. I am so thankful that you are able to finally hold a baby healthy and whole and rejoice in life again, congratulations and hugs to you.
    Heather

    Reply
  • 30. Caryn  |  September 9, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    BEAUTIFUL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


