Besides caring for kids…

September 12, 2008 at 11:21 am 58 comments

It’s hard to conceive of, but there have been other things going on in my life since Morrow’s arrival. Actually it’s been a really busy few weeks. Here’s a quick update:

  • Duplex: The “tenants” who were in the house when we bought it finally left the first floor on 8/31. They left it a total disaster, as far as cleanliness goes. We were pretty sure that was going to be the case. Since then we’ve been cleaning like crazy, painting like crazy, installing a new IKEA kitchen, and trying to get it ready for our awesome, extremely forbearing, new tenants. They should be able to move in next week. Right now all the hardwood floors are being refinished. It’s going to look so good when it’s done!!
  • Books: I’ve been going through the comments that were left on my post about funny books awhile back and systematically requesting them from my library. I read Bill Bryson’s A Walk in the Woods and nearly died of laughter. Right now I’m making my way through Alexander McCall Smith’s series The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency. They are delightful novels, set in Botswana. If you haven’t read them, do it! Basically I need books that will keep me awake during nighttime feedings.
  • Our house: We’ve had a really promising lead come up for renting our current house—praise God! Turns out it’s a friend of a friend who found me via blogging. I LOVE THE INTERNET! But seriously, they are good friends with one of my best friends from college, so that excites me, making new connections and all.
  • Knitting: I finished a pair of socks that I’ve had on my needles for a year and half. It was a lace pattern and they turned out nice, it just took me forever to have the motivation to get ’em done!
  • Marriage: Our fifth anniversary is on September 20th! I can’t believe it’s been five years. More on that later.
  • Felicity: Following quickly on the heels of our anniversary is Felicity’s birthday on 9/22. There are so many thoughts going through my head about this. That will have to be its own post.
  • Oh, and also this has been on my mind a lot.


    (via JT)
Entry filed under: Fun, Spoutings.

Brothers Becoming a Mom

58 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  September 12, 2008 at 11:26 am

    I just choked on my lunch and fell out of my chair laughing!

    Reply
  • 2. Joanna  |  September 12, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Oh wow, those are some moves. I’m not sure whether to laugh or take pity–they seem so sincere and have no idea how ridiculous they look.

    Reply
  • 3. Lindsay  |  September 12, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    What is that?@

    Reply
  • 4. Nikki  |  September 12, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Oh… my. What were they thinking? You’ve got to wonder if God laughs at stuff like this (or at things like me jamming and singing into the shampoo bottle during a shower), or if His sense of humor stretches that far.!

    Thanks for the laugh. Glad I didn’t have food in my mouth when I pushed “play”! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Charity  |  September 12, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    wow…. wow.

    Reply
  • 6. Noel  |  September 12, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    If you come to the last page of your current book before a feeding is done, you could switch on this video to keep you awake ( I just mistyped “away”). There must be more where that came from.

    Reply
  • 7. My Twenty Cents Keeps Moving  |  September 12, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    Oh my goodness! There are no words…

    Leslie

    Reply
  • 8. My Twenty Cents Keeps Moving  |  September 12, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    (my comment was in reference to the video)

    Reply
  • 9. Rebekah  |  September 12, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Thanks for the laugh- I needed that today!!

    Reply
  • 10. Shannon Archer  |  September 12, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    I only made it through 30 seconds of that and then had to stop…I can’t even think of a word to describe this…I’ll get back to you.

    Reply
  • 11. shawnda  |  September 12, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    Girl, you’ve got a LOT going on!!! Are you moved into your new place yet or are you in the old one? I just can’t imagine living out of boxes right now!!! Praise God for the 2 new renters!!!!!!! Your anniversary – CONGRATS!!!! And Felicity….I look forward to hearing what you will write for her one year anniversary. Karis’ b-day is the day after Felicity’s. I know the Lord has done SO, SO, SO much in this past year. I can’t imagine how much stronger your marriage is now than it could have ever been had you not gone through the unmeasurable grief this past year (and to come). We love you! His grace evident, sister!!!!

    Reply
  • 12. Andie  |  September 12, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    yikes. I have been enjoying another choice youtube selection you can find at our family blog.

    Also… about those brownies. I promise they are coming. I actually made some on Monday and they were some of the worst I’ve made. So, those didn’t make it to your door. Ruth and I will probably bring some by this weekend 🙂

    Reply
  • 13. Face  |  September 12, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    How come the guy’s the only one who gets the hands-free mic?

    Wow.

    Reply
  • 14. Heather  |  September 12, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Are they serious!?

    Sounds like life is busy!

    Yes, I love the internet. last year I spent three months and was able to track down some old friends…super fun!

    Reply
  • 15. Stephanie G  |  September 12, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    oh, my…I have no words to elaborate on how my heart is feeling about that video right now. oh, my…On another note, hooray for finishing the socks!!!

    Reply
  • 16. Face  |  September 12, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    And how on EARTH are you keeping up with all that stuff?

    Reply
  • 17. Chelsea Bass  |  September 12, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Seriously?

    Reply
  • 18. MrsMK  |  September 12, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    I wanna see the lacey socks!

    Sounds like your life is full and good! Blessings!

    Reply
  • 19. Veronica  |  September 12, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    For any of you who didn’t watch the whole video, YOU MUST REWATCH IT!!! Seriously – go to about 2:00 min into it if you can’t stomach seeing it again. There’s a break there where the dude breaks forward and pulls some full on Denny Terrio moves. It’s even better than the first 5 seconds (which really can’t easily be topped!)

    Reply
  • 20. Tiffany  |  September 12, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    Ha!!!!

    Reply
  • 21. Greta  |  September 12, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    I’m also a pretty big fan of the 10-15 seconds from about 1:53 on….
    whew, that dude’s got some moves.

    For real, yo.

    Reply
  • 22. Kelly @ Love Well  |  September 12, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Now I understand why my parents were so strongly against Christians dancing.

    Reply
  • 23. Ronnica  |  September 12, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    Thanks (I think?) for the video. I have nothing to say.

    Reply
  • 24. Becky E.  |  September 12, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    I needed that laugh today…thanks!

    Reply
  • 25. Tricia  |  September 12, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Oh my…I’ve never seen anything quite like that. Where in the world did that come from?

    Reply
  • 26. Tina  |  September 12, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    Oh my, I am laughing so hard, but also completely speechless… I too wonder what God thinks of this.

    Reply
  • 27. Shannon (Rocks In My Dryer)  |  September 12, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Oh my word. It is wrong Just wrong. WRONG. RFLOL…

    Reply
  • 28. Amanda  |  September 12, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    You have a lot on your plate right now in addition to a new baby! I can only imagine how heavy Felicity’s one year anniversary has been weighing on you. I am thinking of you as you approach that bittersweet day.

    Where did you find the video??!! Today was a very hard day for me so thank you for that bit of entertainment.

    Blessings,
    Amanda

    Reply
  • 29. Jen  |  September 12, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    What is the web address for that video?!?! — can you please share it …. hilarious!

    Reply
  • 30. Jen  |  September 12, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    never mind — i got the link, it’s :http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D7myO3imGy0

    Reply
  • 31. Liz  |  September 13, 2008 at 8:04 am

    I know the suggestion is to finish watching the video – I just CAN’T! Unbelievable!! Truly – no words!

    Reply
  • 32. Noel  |  September 13, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Well, Liz, I watched it ALL the way through just so I could see the guy’s smile again to make sure it really looked like what I thought it did the first time I saw it. And yes, it kept on looking the same.

    Reply
  • 33. gale  |  September 13, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    books – the dorothy l sayers’ lord peter wimsey series.

    Reply
  • 34. Dina  |  September 13, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    That was super funny!

    Reply
  • 35. Stacey  |  September 13, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    Ok, seriously……if the bottom video was NOT a joke, I apologize………no, I take that back. I don’t apologize……
    All I can say IS that I hope they paid them a lot of something to do that…..whether it be money or whatever kind of compensation they were looking for. Perhaps they did it for free……either way, it is just NOT right!

    Glad the houses are coming along. How exhausting physically and mentally with a newborn.

    Reply
  • 36. Harlan Paulson  |  September 13, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    Could this weirdness come from these folks views of Christ being a created being…?
    “Due to its unbiblical teachings on the key doctrines of Christianity, The Way International is, theologically, a cult of Christianity. The Way was founded by Victor Paul Wierwille, who was a devout anti-trinitarian. This organization teaches that Jesus Christ is not Eternal and did not exist before the creation of the world.
    In His book, Jesus Christ Is Not God Wierwille teaches: “We, as well as Jesus Christ, were with God in His foreknowledge, but not in existence, before the world began. Neither did Jesus Christ” (pp. 31-32). Wierwille teaches that Jesus did not exist except in the mind of God before conception in Mary’s womb, and was at that time “Jesus Christ the Son of God, was made by God” (Ibid, pp. 103-04).
    The Jesus of the Way becomes nothing more than a miraculously conceived sinless man. He was not God in the flesh but only a very special man who became “God’s Son” as a result of divine genetic engineering.”
    Source: James Walker, The Jesus of The Way International, from an article on the Watchman Fellowship site

    Reply
  • 37. Liz  |  September 13, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Wow – do you think they travel? We could always use a little more “pep” to our worship service!

    Reply
  • 38. Karla D'Agosta  |  September 13, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    A few things.
    1) That video was copywritted in 2007. It is shocking, I can only hope you got to minute 1:55, that is where it gets awesome.
    2) I love Shawda’s liberal usage of punctuation marks, they are my favorite!
    3) I forgot, that video distracted me.

    Reply
  • 39. Pam  |  September 13, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    ooooo, this is NOT the last thing I want to see before heading to bed on a Saturday night….I’m with Shannon, the singing/dancing is just as WRONG as their theology.

    A newborn, a 3 year-old, a new home, renovations, reading and knitting…Molly, you’re my HERO!!!!

    Reply
  • 40. Elaine  |  September 13, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    This is a hoot! This just proves that white people (including me) really can’t dance well. 🙂

    Reply
  • 41. brent  |  September 13, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    I felt a great sense of encouragement after watching the video. Not only is a renewed mind possible, but Christians can dance with award winning synchronization, too.

    Reply
  • 42. jennapants  |  September 13, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    wow. WOW.

    sometimes, I like to put words together with the attempt to make a sentence that is completely original. and this was like so original and unoriginal at the same time. wow.

    it was like lawrence welk meets arthur murray meets branson meets joe millionaire look alike meets church meets cheesy worship team.

    Reply
  • 43. Jonathan Parnell  |  September 13, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    no wait, I love “Gitty Up Go”

    Reply
  • 44. Melissa Parnell  |  September 13, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    Molly, I know you are probably wondering the same thing I did…Where can I learn to dance like that guy? Let’s start with the “Heel Toe.” (as seen in his solo)

    http://www.expertvillage.com/video/27701_hiphop-dance-heel-toe.htm

    Reply
  • 45. Jenny @ a latte talk  |  September 14, 2008 at 9:07 am

    OH my goodness. I thought it was funny at first but I just about fell off my chair when the guy started busting his Michael Jackson moves.

    OH my word.

    Reply
  • 46. Sharon  |  September 14, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    Sounds like you are incredibly busy!

    I just e-mailed that video to our worship pastor with a note: “please, please, promise me I’ll never have to do that.”

    It’s so awful I have to watch it again.

    Reply
  • 47. Keri Rosen  |  September 14, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    Hi Molly,

    The video is hysterical – I posted it to my FB profile.

    Some other good books – “The Friday Night Knitting Club” and “Comfort Food” by Kate Jacobs, and “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society”. Excellent reads. And I second Dorothy Sayers.

    Reply
  • 48. Nixter  |  September 14, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    I have just read the first no 1 detective agency and am keen to get into the next one. I guess buying it first might help 😉

    Sounds like you have been very busy indeed 😉

    Reply
  • 49. Nixter  |  September 14, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Just watched the video and it CRACKED me up. love the two dudes on the ‘truth’ and ‘present’ keyboards too.

    They were totally busting some moves!

    Thanks for sharing it made me giggle!

    Reply
  • 50. deb t  |  September 15, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    Thanks for making my day! This was a hoot. So thankful you can laugh. Your boys are precious. Happy Anniversary!!!!!

    Reply
  • 51. robyn  |  September 15, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    1) please post pictures of the kitchen and place when you are done!! : )

    2) Happy Anniversary!!

    3) Wait a second, is that a clip from SNL? No they couldn’t possibly think up something so funny. Those dance moves are so kicka#@$! (In a Super Christian-kind-of-way of course)

    Reply
  • 52. sarahT  |  September 15, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    okay, the arm flourish is my favorite. are they in germany? what in the world?! matthew couldn’t even look at the screen. he was hiding behind his hand.
    i also loved the #1 ladies books. i picked it for my book club a few years ago and no one else liked it. i was shocked!

    Reply
  • 53. a suburban housewife  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:29 am

    What in the world?

    Reply
  • 54. Krista  |  September 16, 2008 at 10:04 am

    The dude in the middle looks like Snape.

    Reply
  • 55. Nicola  |  September 16, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Since this is my first visit to your blog, & I don’t know you from Adam (Eve?) when I started watching the vid, I was thinking – this has got to be a joke and I’ve got to comment. Then I thought, but what if that is maybe Mrs Piper and your mother or something – that would really awful!! So I had to read the other comments to be sure!

    Anyway – he definitely needs to take “So You Thnk You Can Dance” off his TIVO list.

    Oh, and who actually clapped & cheered at the end? or was that dubbed in?

    Reply
  • 56. Noel  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Nicola,

    Molly’s mother-in-law wouldn’t mind knowing how to dance–but not like that!

    And let’s see. What if that WERE Molly’s mom and me, who would that guy in the middle be? Abraham? I don’t think I can make the picture work.

    Reply
  • 57. Colette Frazier  |  September 19, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    I saw this on JT’s blog and couldn’t stop gasping! I’m glad you posted it b/c i showed it to Brian when I was looking at your blog.

    Your little man is so precious. I’m glad transitioning to two is better for you than one. YOu must not have an older brother frequently hitting his baby brother for no reason! That one sent me spiraling into “what have we done “mode!:) I’m sure Orison is a sweet helpful big brother!!! And thankfully so are my sons NOW!:)

    Reply
  • 58. Deanna  |  November 2, 2008 at 6:21 am

    I found your blog through Dorothy (Urban Servant). I’ve been sifting through for a few days now, but when I saw this video I had to laugh all over again, since I have it on my blog, too. (at least until they took it off youtube! – the nerve! I had friends who wanted to see that!)
    I am enjoying your writing.
    Deanna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


