Becoming a Mom

September 15, 2008 at 2:50 pm 35 comments

It seems impossible that our little baby is already 3 weeks old. At his doctor appointment last Thursday, he weighed 8 pounds, 8 ounces. Abraham and I are already wondering what happened to our newborn!

The transition into motherhood when we had Orison was definitely a lot rougher than this transition has been. I’m not saying there haven’t been moments when I’ve felt overwhelmed, but for the most part, going from 1 to 2 children has been pretty good for me.

I don’t know if that’s because I knew what I was in for (at least more than when I had Orison), or because we have lost a baby and have longed for this for so long. It’s probably a combination of both.

When Orison was born, I felt like I was in a fog for about 6 months. I was sick and weak from a during-delivery hemorrhage and subsequent blood transfusion. All of a sudden the working woman with a Master’s degree was covered in spit up and up to her elbows in messy diapers. It took me a long time to transition, and for God to remake me.

I’m so glad He did.

Entry filed under: Family, Life, Morrow.

Besides caring for kids… My Favorite Love Song For My Favorite Guy on Our 5-year Anniversary

35 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Abraham Piper  |  September 15, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Oh man. I’m coming upstairs and kissing those cheeks right now!

    Reply
  • 2. Molly Piper  |  September 15, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    mine or his?

    Reply
  • 3. Abraham Piper  |  September 15, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    yes

    Reply
  • 4. Brennan  |  September 15, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    Like you, I’m not sure whether it was just easier with the second or if I had finally settled into being where God had me. Whatever the reason, I’m grateful that He’s granted an ease within you to praise Him. I’m sure there have been so many days where that wasn’t true. Joy has truly come with (the) Morrow. I’ll praise Him for that with you today.

    Reply
  • 5. Pam  |  September 15, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    I love that line “and for God to remake me”…this is how I feel 2 years after giving birth to my second and third sons (twins).
    I thought after a tough first that I was definitely going to be ready but then I got hit with that “fog” all over again only doubly so and God began a whole new work in me. Motherhood is definitely a great tool for softening tough clay.
    Morrow is GORGEOUS by the way πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 6. Shannon Archer  |  September 15, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    Okay you two…enough flirting over the world wide web;-)

    Reply
  • 7. Jen  |  September 15, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    in a lot of ways i am still dealing with being re-made into a mommy…and my baby just turned 8 mos old

    Reply
  • 8. rachel  |  September 15, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    i am excited to be remade into a mommy. πŸ™‚

    so glad your transition has been awesome!

    Reply
  • 9. Carol  |  September 15, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    You need a new photo up there in the corner of your blog!

    Reply
  • 10. jamsco  |  September 15, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Just out of curiosity (again) a Masters Degree in what?

    Reply
  • 11. J. Evans  |  September 15, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    I just wanna squeeze him! He looks so cuddly in that last picture. Look at his cute little LIPS!

    Reply
  • 12. melissa mailly  |  September 15, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    precious.

    Reply
  • 13. Laura Gruner  |  September 15, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    I have no idea how you’ve accomplished so much with such an adorable baby – I would probably be looking at him all day and marveling at how precious he is!!

    Reply
  • 14. shawnda  |  September 15, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    I love those first few comments! Awesome! He is ADORABLE! I love who God has made you, my friend. I’m so thankful He gave you Orison, Felicity, and Morrow! You are an incredible Mom!

    Reply
  • 15. Greta  |  September 15, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    You guys’ little exchange in the first few comments is endearing, plain and simple.
    And your sons, they’re both awesome. But Morrow, in these pictures, is just begging for someone to chew on those chubby little cheeks!
    How blessed you are!

    Reply
  • 16. Jane  |  September 15, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    Awww, so sweet! The babies AND the cheek kissing!
    ~jane

    Reply
  • 17. Heather  |  September 15, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Oh my what a cutie pie!!!! He is just so cute! I have baby fever now!!

    Reply
  • 18. robyn  |  September 15, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    he’s so dear and sweet. I love these photos. I’m so glad to hear your transition to two is a good one.

    Reply
  • 19. Tina  |  September 15, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    You are so right…. it goes by WAY TOO FAST!! They are so precious as newborns, yet each stage is special.

    He looks so content and peaceful. I am so glad that you all are doing so well. You have such a beautiful family… it just makes me happy.

    Reply
  • 20. Kelly @ Love Well  |  September 15, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    How can you stand it? Those cheeks are too much.

    What a gift.

    Reply
  • 21. Trudy  |  September 15, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    Cute little comments above. What a beautiful healthy boy you have. I have three and the first was by far the hardest for me too! I was in shock. Congratulations on your little cutie.

    Reply
  • 22. Liz  |  September 16, 2008 at 5:30 am

    He is absolutely adorable! I can hardly stand it! I really need to see him sooner rather than later. Need a “suburban” rest day by any chance? Just let me know.

    Reply
  • 23. Lindsay  |  September 16, 2008 at 6:01 am

    aww just reading this and the first comment made my heart actually smile! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 24. aaron  |  September 16, 2008 at 6:37 am

    Looks like all is going well…..so happy for you.

    Reply
  • 25. Tina  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:41 am

    What a beautiful baby!

    Reply
  • 26. MrsMK  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:47 am

    happy tears for you!!

    Reply
  • 27. Amanda  |  September 16, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    What an amazing way to look at the transition to motherhood. Morrow is adorable and I am so glad that this time continues to be so joyful.

    Amanda

    Reply
  • 28. Andrea  |  September 16, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    I am glad to hear the transition is going well for you guys. I also feel that the transition from 0 to 1 was a lot harder than 1 to 2. Morrow looks content and healthy. I just started to feel the same as you in that Joel is out of his newborn stage, and I was like that went sooo fast. Each stage in life is precious though!

    Reply
  • 29. jennapants  |  September 16, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    from the top of this post to comment #3…so cute. morrow’s cheeks were nearly trumped by the tenderness between his parents.

    Reply
  • 30. Jan  |  September 16, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!!
    How good God is . . . (contented mommy smile).

    Reply
  • 31. Stacey  |  September 17, 2008 at 7:39 am

    Very cute………I don’t think he looks like O in those pics at all. Does he look like O did???

    Reply
  • 32. carissa  |  September 17, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    i have wondered what that transition would be like. it has always seems like there is so much joy and anticipation involved that it’s hard to talk about what must be the difficulties in being “remade” into a mom. this was an encouraging, happy post :] and your family is so cute.

    Reply
  • 33. Felicity  |  September 19, 2008 at 4:01 am

    I am so glad your transition has gone so well, God is so wonderful and knows just what you need, a smooth transition time enabling you to enjoy and cherish every moment with your precious family. Thank you for sharing parts of your life with everyone, it truly is a blessing!!

    Reply
  • 34. Kendall  |  September 19, 2008 at 10:41 am

    BTW: Molly – just logged in after a few days and notice you have a new family pic: you look amazing – relaxed and joyful! Yay for a break from subsequent pregnancies! (chuckle)
    In so many ways I think God has used the loss of Autumn to make me perhaps less resentful than I might have been if everything had gone “my way” the first time.
    Crying all night? That means she’s breathing!
    “I just changed that diaper!” I missed a full year of diaper changes.
    Lack of sleep? For too long that was ALL I wanted to do.
    Not to say I’ll be perfect and never sin (if only…) but it’s just a shift in perspective that makes me long for ALL of the upcoming experiences: ideal or not so ideal. πŸ™‚
    Thanks for sharing your enjoyment – and the pictures. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 35. Lindsay  |  September 20, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    I’ve never met you and probably never will. I stumbled upon your blog about 9 months ago via the DG website…and your husband’s blog…and wanted to tell you what a blessing it has been to me. I’m not a regular blog visitor. My husband, two kids, and I actually live in the bush of West Africa as missionaries and rarely have internet access. But whenever we come to the city I check out your blog. I admire your honesty and your walk with the Lord. Upon looking at past posts of yours I read about Felicity and I have been blessed and challenged by the way you have walked through your daughter’s death. What a blessing to read about the joy you have in your children, and the friendship that you have with your husband. May the Lord continue to bless you and your family and use you to touch the lives of many others through your blog. You have been a blessing to this wife and mom.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


