Is there a speech pathologist in the house?

October 3, 2008 at 2:19 pm 92 comments

Yes, indeed there is.

I thought it would be interesting to see if Orison could catch on to “th” productions in words. So recently while were riding in the car, I showed him where his tongue should go for “th words,” like thing, thumb, and three.

He’s caught on with great gusto, as you will see.

We don’t really do too much speech correction at this point. He’s only 3 for crying out loud! This was just an experiment that he’s enjoyed, so that’s why we went with it. If he were getting frustrated, I wouldn’t press the issue at all at this age.

There are some words that I can’t bring myself to correct, even though I’m a speech pathologist. He still says “pupcake” for cupcake, “brezkist” for breakfast, and “the Carnells” for the Parnells (our tenants).

I don’t want to teach him to say these words correctly, because if I did, I feel like I would be confirming the end of his toddlerhood.

What words did your kids say “wrong” that you enjoyed tremendously?

Entry filed under: Life, Orison.

This Is Still Birth: For My Daughter, One Year Later Art Music Justice Tour

92 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  October 3, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    well MY kid doesn’t say any words but daddy and no, (lol) but my nephew had a few beauties!

    Butterpy~Butterfly
    Waterpall~Waterfall
    Apple SPider~Apple Cider

    And it’s not really the same, but he used to call stairs “uppie downies,” which I thought was just adorable!!

    Reply
  • 2. Karen  |  October 3, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    My favorites from my oldest son, now 9, was “cemanick” (for mechanic) and “electriskity” (for electricity).

    Reply
  • 3. John Meche  |  October 3, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    My little brother always pronounce the first meal of the day “breck-fix”

    Reply
  • 4. watchingthewaters  |  October 3, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    My 4 year old son says “peek” for “keep” as in “she peeks DOING that to me!” Also when our 5 y/o dau was 3 she called underwear “canties” (instead of panties). Now it is just a family word.. go put your canties on..

    Corey
    http://www.watchingthewaters.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 5. Stephanie  |  October 3, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    my now 15 year old used to say “dot dog” for her favorite food– a hot dog of course!

    Reply
  • 6. MrsMK  |  October 3, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    How adorable are your boys! Orison’s voice is so sweet!

    My Ian (18 months) insists on being picked “down”! It really makes us laugh how distictly he says it, too!

    Other favorites: “me-me” excuse me
    “tow” cow
    “muah-muah” (yes, kissing sounds!) for teddy bears

    Reply
  • 7. Jake Meador  |  October 3, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    I think the worst (well, depending on one’s definitions, I suppose… my parents probably thought it was “best”) one I had was I would say “hassupal” for hospital.

    Reply
  • 8. diane  |  October 3, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    my son Pat who is now 25 years old used to say, “yewwow” for yellow. when he was in kindergarten the speech pathologist told me that i had to tell my friends and relatives to STOP saying, “He’s so cute everytime he says, yewwow.” yes, that was a sad day. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 9. diane  |  October 3, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    OH! and my now 20 year old daughter used to say, “packback” for backpack… ahhh.. i’m almost empty nest now.. yea, i miss those days!

    Reply
  • 10. Martina  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    What a cute little boy!

    Reply
  • 11. Valerie at Home  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    My oldest daughter started out saying “ressi” for “breakfast”. She would scream “Mommy!! Ressi!!” at the top of her lungs while standing and shaking the side of her crib every morning. It eventually became “bruftest” then the proper “breakfast”, but I was so sorry to see that one go!

    Reply
  • 12. Tes  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    My litte brother says packpack for backpack and my sister says liplip for lipstick and pannacake for pancake.

    Reply
  • 13. Veronica  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    “Ems and Ems” for M&M candies.

    Reply
  • 14. Jeana  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    My baby (now 7) loved to ride on Daddy’s “shirdles”. He would even get mad if one of the other kids tried to. “NO! Daddy’s shirdles are mine!”

    I ask you. How cute is that?

    When he got older I started to teach him how to say it right and my husband reacted in a similar way. “NO! I LIKE how he says it. Stop it!”

    Reply
  • 15. ana lee  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    my daughter, when she was about three, said “alligator” for escalater and “wimperwipers” for windshield wipers”. This was 30 years ago, but I still remember these with a smile.

    Reply
  • 16. Kay Lynn  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    My son loves anything Star Wars; he used to call Obi-wan Kenobi “Toady-ah Nodey” and R2D2 “R2B Tube.” Then there was “pot car” instead of “cop car,” to the great amusement of his policeman uncle…

    Reply
  • 17. Carolyn Vance  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    We’re fond of going to the Li-berry, and my son loves to raid the fridgefrator. But the all-time favorite has to be when we went wombat picking.

    (wombats — those nuts that fall from walnut trees this time of year)

    Reply
  • 18. Mrs. E  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    My 4 year old just watched this video with me. He said, “That boy is smart.”

    My favorite mispronounciation was when my son was around 2. He called our cat “C.C” instead of Lucy.

    Reply
  • 19. Julie  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    My 4yr.old says “candy hap” for handicap. πŸ™‚

    Our 10 yr. old still says “gar-nade” for grenade and she’s super smart – she has always said so few words wrong that it still makes us smile when she says it!

    Love your blog – thanks for doing it.

    I’m touched by the life of and sorry for the loss of your precious daughter. Felicity is such a lovely name.

    Congratulations on both of your boys – they are such fun to raise.

    Reply
  • 20. Chelsey  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    One of the little girls I babysit says “pupcake” for “cupcake,” and whenever she says it I try to get her to say it as much as possible. It’s hilarious.

    My youngest sister, when she wanted to be picked up, would walk up to us with her arms up and say, “Ho-you?” That was her way of saying, “Hold you,” which was translated, “I want YOU to hold ME.”

    Reply
  • 21. laura  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Aw so cute. For me it would be the way my niece and nephew pronounce mine and my husbands name (they are 2 and 3). I don’t ever want it to change πŸ™‚
    I am “aunt wawa” and my husband is “unka woo” (his name is Lew)

    It just cracks me up every time!

    Reply
  • 22. Hannah  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    My 3 year old son says “angabance” for ambulance and “angleburger” for hamburger. But it’s coming to an end. If I try use either of these now, he corrects me. 😦

    Reply
  • 23. Erin James  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    My current favorite with my son:

    “I don neena hewp.” (I don’t need help)

    Also, my sister’s name is Caitliln – which he can totally say, but he prefers to say, “Calaykalin”. He also says, “when I was a wittow geer (girl)… ” There are so many things wrong with that one we always address it, but can never help laughing! Go figure.

    Reply
  • 24. Sarah  |  October 3, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    My little cousin used to say “mash ataitas” for mashed potatoes. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 25. Andrea  |  October 3, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    My 2 year old daughter says “pea pot” instead of tea pot and I love it!

    Reply
  • 26. Jane Swanson  |  October 3, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    SPLADDER for stepladder.

    And to her dying day my grandma used to call the kitchen sink, the ZINK. We loved hearing her say that as well as, “You dasn’t do that!”

    I love listening to your little boy! I SO wish I could have met him in person, but seeing him on video is almost as good.

    Reply
  • 27. Stephanie G.  |  October 3, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Way to get O with that early intervention πŸ™‚ Also, I’m such a speech dork because as I was reading all the comments, I’m thinking, “Oh that’s classic assimilation.” or “That’s some fronting right there.” I love that my job allows me to diagnose things!

    Reply
  • 28. Tiffany  |  October 3, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Jeneva is 5 and she still says “Balentymes” for Valentines. There are other funny things she mispronounces and I can’t think of them right now. I’ll have to think on this. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 29. Sarah  |  October 3, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    My four year old still has a few….”hupfolder” for cup holder if she says it too fast. My favorite came from friends of ours. The parents would ask the child to say “tooth” and then “brush” separately which the child repeated perfectly. But then when asked to say them together he’d say, “She-bop!!” That has to be fascinating to a speech pathologist!!

    Reply
  • 30. Amanda  |  October 3, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    My two year old says “yestermorning” and “backcase” for backpack.

    Reply
  • 31. Crystal  |  October 3, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    Oh we’ve had lots of mispronunciations that have made us laugh over the years. A few of them still hang around at 5. I think my favorite has always been “mancakes” for pancakes.

    Reply
  • 32. Chris  |  October 3, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Our son would put middle consonants at the beginning of words sometimes, like belbow instead of elbow.

    Our youngest daughter said lasterday instead of yesterday.

    Our oldest daughter talked about going to Picksburg instead of Pittsburgh.

    All three said “pupcake”–my favorite:)

    Reply
  • 33. Pam  |  October 3, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    Cookiecumber for cucumber and he still says loaf meat instead of meat loaf!

    Reply
  • 34. Tricia  |  October 3, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    My 3 year old, Calvin, says “buitar” instead of “guitar.” Sadly, I can’t remember the ones my oldest used to say. I’ll have to brainstorm on that a bit.

    Reply
  • 35. c  |  October 3, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    SO CUTE!

    i still remember sitting in the car with my mom at that age when she taught me how to say my Rs: train, truck, really! we surprised dad when he got back.

    my middle sister used to call me “bada” (which i think was hermana (sister) -> mana -> bada). anyway, one day i, bossy five year old, decided she was too old for that (she was three) and i made her start calling me carissa from then on. my mom still regrets it to this day.

    Reply
  • 36. Jen D  |  October 3, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Somewhere along the line, my almost 3-year old daughter Allie got giraffes and zebras mixed up. To this day, we’ll see a giraffe and she’ll yell out “zebra!” or if we see a zebra, she’ll yell out “giraffe!” We’re usually laughing so hard that we don’t correct her. And, she still calls all animals – “aminals.”

    Reply
  • 37. Shannon Archer  |  October 3, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    Josiah says mazagine instead of magazine.

    Reply
  • 38. rachel  |  October 3, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    my sister’s name is becky, and my name is rachel. something about the “r” so close to the “ch” makes rachel hard to say for a lot of kids. i get “wachel” or “way-dell” a lot from my pastor’s too little ones (4 and 2, respectively). but the best one ever was my cousin when she was about 4 years old. she asked where her cousin becky was, and when my sister came into the room, she said, “no, the other becky!” she, of course, meant me, but she couldn’t say my name, so she just called me “the other becky …” hilarious πŸ™‚

    oh, and one more: my pastor’s two year old is obSESSED with guitars and drums. whenever he sees me, the first thing he says is, “way-dell, where’s youw (your, no r sound) dee-dar?” meaning my guitar … or, he loves to show me “me dumm dicks!” (his drum sticks).

    Reply
  • 39. Tina  |  October 3, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    oh, i am soooo with you on this one…

    My Molly says “i dorry” (for I’m sorry)
    Monny for her name
    last night it was pop for popcorn
    today it was “marties” for the candy Smarties.
    pio for “piano”
    “milt” for milk
    “tootie” for cookie

    there are a lot more I just can’t think of right now. I just loooooove toddler talk!

    Reply
  • 40. Lacinda  |  October 3, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    A few of my favorites that Eliana was saying about a year ago:
    “lope-lope” for yogurt
    “muk!” for milk (with much gusto)
    “spee shatto” for space shuttle
    “kee kee” for toothpaste/toothbrush
    “o-pine” for airplane
    My current favorite is “ru-bar” for granola bar.

    Reply
  • 41. jennifertobler  |  October 3, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    my cousin always said “shohts and shohts” for “shorts and shirts”. and my husbands oldest cousin called their grandmother “boss”. no one is sure where that came from, but grandma loves it!

    Reply
  • 42. jennapants  |  October 3, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    nooooooooo!!!! I LOVED how Orison said “over dere” and “we’re gonna do dat tonight” and “someding” and so on.

    I totally understand though. I totally remember teaching Miles to say “broTHer” instead of “bwuzza”. When he first started telling stories about his “jet father” he would talk about his “jet fozza”. We loved it.

    Probably the all-time favorite toddler word was “dob-a-duba” for Bob the Builder.

    Reply
  • 43. Katie  |  October 3, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    I love hearing Luke say “activity” – which is “tibity”. This comes up often because we call the drawers where we keep coloring books/workbooks, etc. his “activity drawers.” I absolutely cannot bring myself to correct it. It’s too cute.

    He also calls jell-o jiggers “jiggle jugglers,” and uses the phrase “a day-a-day” instead of “every day.” πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 44. Phoebe  |  October 3, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    I always LOVE Orison videos! I can’t wait till Morrow videos start coming out!

    Reply
  • 45. emily  |  October 3, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    One that our just-turned-four-year-old has been saying of late in anticipation for our annual trip to the county fair …

    he can’t wait to ride the “miracle-round” (aka the merry-go-round).

    How could any sane mother correct THAT?

    Reply
  • 46. Amy  |  October 3, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    “bidleeup” for caterpillar

    “lasterday” for yesterday- my 4 year old still says this, along with “whobody” as well– as in “Whobody gave me that toy lasterday?”

    “rola” for granola

    “Baboo” for grandpa, which of course, he is still called Baboo– 8 years later!

    “ba” and “wa” for bread and water (my daughter would cry and cry these two “words” while we would rock her to bed in the weeks following her being weaned– and we would give her bread and water to get her to go to sleep!!)

    Reply
  • 47. Margaret Vanderford  |  October 4, 2008 at 12:06 am

    Our son isn’t talking yet, but I would have been a speech pathologists’ dream come true. I said ‘pahsketti’ for spaghetti; ‘Q-mix’ for music; and ‘A B’ for airplane.

    Reply
  • 48. Kellie  |  October 4, 2008 at 1:56 am

    I think my favorite one from Lucy is dindult for adult. She actually does that w/ quite a few words ie. dingarage for garage. So what is the diagnosis?!

    Reply
  • 49. Larry  |  October 4, 2008 at 5:53 am

    Apparently I said “dazuzz” (= “hot air balloon”). I would be interested to know a speech pathologist’s interpretation on that one, my vote is for “linguistic doofus”

    And as for mispronouncing words being a toddler’s trait, if that is true I am daily cast back into early infancy!

    Reply
  • 50. Larry  |  October 4, 2008 at 5:56 am

    and @ Crystal.
    Mancake is not a mispronounciation of pancake. It is a request for a adult sized portion of breakfast.

    Reply
  • 51. Eva  |  October 4, 2008 at 6:10 am

    My daughter, at age 3, called the sprinkler da wink-ah-leur. Almost too cute to stand. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 52. Janet  |  October 4, 2008 at 6:41 am

    My niece says-

    Pai Nolish for Nail Polish
    Granmuddy for Grandmother
    aggilator for escalator
    beepy doll for baby doll

    Reply
  • 53. Elizabeth Esther  |  October 4, 2008 at 7:37 am

    Oh, I feel the same way! I hated to correct their speech because it was the beginning of the end of their toddlerhood!!

    James could never say his R’s.

    Ricky= Wicky
    Roof= Woof
    Rain= Wain

    Jewel had a hard time with J’s. She called herself “Dew-a” for the longest time!

    All my older kids grew out of their speech issues by age 4, though. Oh, I can’t wait for the twins to start talking. Actually, Jasie started shouting out: “HI!” whenever she seems someone. And both twins say: “Mama.”

    Is 9 months very young for words? Just wondering….

    Reply
  • 54. Dolores Bowers  |  October 4, 2008 at 8:54 am

    Lemonade will always be “lemy-lade” at our house!

    Reply
  • 55. Julie B.  |  October 4, 2008 at 9:02 am

    What a fun post to read through the comments on!

    With Jeremiah’s inability to pronounce “F’s” there are many fun words that come out, but I think my “savorite” is “slip slops” for flip flops.

    Also he named his yellow bus, “white bus because lello is too hard to say.”

    Reply
  • 56. Joe  |  October 4, 2008 at 9:03 am

    Remember hermicame? As in, “Lord, please help the people in the hermicame.”

    Oh, I miss Greta…

    Reply
  • 57. Barnabas  |  October 4, 2008 at 9:20 am

    I used to say Ambleeance for Ambulance. I remember this because I remember my older brother, your husband, correcting me repeatedly. I don’t remember if it was as much fun as what Orison was having in the video.

    Reply
  • 58. Courtney  |  October 4, 2008 at 10:21 am

    My niece used to call me “Aunt Tourtney” instead of Courtney. She also used to call herself a “dirl” instead of a girl.

    The day she said Courtney I almost cried.

    Reply
  • 59. mo willis  |  October 4, 2008 at 11:32 am

    when my ‘baby’ (now 24 and married!) was little and his head hurt, he would say, “I gots a egg-ache”. we still say egg-ache at our house!

    Reply
  • 60. Kristen  |  October 4, 2008 at 11:33 am

    My younger brother called our relatives (the Williams) the Yum-yums when he was a toddler. He also couldn’t pronounce our names, so he called me T.T. and he called himself Dole (Joel).

    Reply
  • 61. Lori Schneider  |  October 4, 2008 at 11:56 am

    My all-time favorite was “hangaber” for hamburger with my son and my daughter could not say napkin. It always came out at “mackin”. She told me the other day (she is nineteen) that she remembers having trouble saying that word and trying so hard to say it correctly. There also was a short while that she said “Chrimas” instead of “Christmas”.

    Our Indian (Asian) daughters had a lot of trouble with words with a hard s or z sound. It always came out as a g. Like when they said shoes they would say “shoeg” or trying to say the z sound would say “shoeges”. They have conquered that one, but still have trouble with “th”. I do not think those sounds were used in their native Hindi language. I don’t correct them too much, after all they have only been here and working on English not quite eight months.

    Reply
  • 62. Barb  |  October 4, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    One of my daughters said squash-squash for washcloth. She also said camwich for napkin (I’m not sure where that came from).

    Now I have a different daughter with apraxia of speech. She says almost every word wrong and we love every single one of them because a year ago she wasn’t saying anything (literally).

    Reply
  • 63. stacey  |  October 4, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Chrimstas for Christmas and it used to be kitmas but changed just recently. Tomonnow for tomorrow…..that is Maxwell.

    Griffin is yogi for yogurt and I could go on and on for him….although he pretty much talks your ear off and will repeat anything. Max said NOTHING at his age. He just looked at you like you were nutz.

    Reply
  • 64. Neely Tamminga  |  October 4, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    True to his latin roots, Samuel asks for “Bah-pah-ole-ee and chiz, peas” when he wants guacamole and chips (please). Great post idea.

    (in 22 words!)

    Reply
  • 65. Keri Rosen  |  October 4, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    My daughter, now 38, said “napnutz” for napkin and “Chritmit” for Christmas. My niece couldn’t say her hard “C”s’ so she would say, “Sit on the chouch wif me” or “Chum here”. The whole family still says “chouch”, much to her dismay. My younger sister said “hopasic and popasic” for hospital and popsicle.

    Reply
  • 66. Kathy  |  October 4, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    break -thiss for breakfast, Hossabo for hospital, hepicopper for helicopter, Daba for his name, Parker. My daughter is 9 and STILL has a really cute way of saying theater. I hate to correct her because I love it. I don’t even know how to write the way she says it!

    Reply
  • 67. robyn  |  October 4, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    65 comments?! reading those could be a very time consuming task. I know, I’m adding to it.

    I love this! Noah has trouble with the “th” too he says “fank you” he also says “nuffin” instead of nothing and “eiver” instead of “either”.

    Hope you are doing well. How is little Morrow?

    Reply
  • 68. amy  |  October 4, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    oh my word! That video was adorable!! I haven’t had it in me to correct any of my boy’s mispronounciations yet. I thing one of my favs is hanaburger for hamburger.

    I’ll really miss it when they start saying everything correctly.

    Reply
  • 69. Mrs. H  |  October 4, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    The one that got mispronounced the most (b/c she was so into Disney princesses) was the word “princess” in which she said, “prin-sen” πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 70. Melissa Parnell  |  October 4, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Jonathan just confessed a phrase he struggled with when he was younger. He always got confused and said…”I don’t matter. It doesn’t care.”

    Oh, and we love being the Carnells. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 71. Ann  |  October 5, 2008 at 9:18 am

    “hang-gerber” for hamburger

    When our youngest was three, one day he asked for “a chee”.

    A “chee”? I asked him to repeat it, and he was quite persistent. I had no idea what he was talking about, so finally I had him take me to the kitchen to show me. He pointed at the package of cheese slices in the refrigerator. My response, of course, “Oh, honey, that’s ‘cheese’!” His response? “But, Mommy, I only want one!”

    That was a little scary!

    Reply
  • 72. Sharon  |  October 5, 2008 at 9:28 am

    That video is so cute. Gives me an outloud chuckle this morning.

    I love the unselfconscious delight that he expresses when he laughs and covers his mouth with both hands! …and realize this is the quality of joy and delight the Father doesn’t mind seeing in me.

    Reply
  • 73. Mrs Tiab  |  October 5, 2008 at 11:10 am

    My brother (now 38) used to say I’m boring for I’m bored or ‘it’s human’ outside for it’s humid outside. My nephew (now 11) used to call pancakes ‘panycakes’ and pinecones ‘pineycones.’ My sister and I still comment on it:)

    Reply
  • 74. Sarah Shackelford  |  October 5, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    My 3 yr. old son has started saying “lasterday” (yesterday). Not sure where he picked it up, but I like it!

    Reply
  • 75. Sandy Harberger  |  October 5, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    The video of Orison is simply adorable! I love doing speech therapy with kids his age. It’s really so much fun. I love how proud he is of his new sound!

    Reply
  • 76. Leslie Camp  |  October 6, 2008 at 9:37 am

    My son used to call pancakes “hanpakes.” We still call them that now and he gets mad!

    Also, my niece called popsicles “pocolas.” We also still say that, too!

    Are we messing our kids up?

    Oh, and my daughter has a blanket she calls her “Baps.”

    Reply
  • 77. mary foreman  |  October 6, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Hi Molly,
    We are friends of Sam and Christen Hill in PA (Christen lived with us), and I have enjoyed reading your blog (just wanted to identify myself and not be anonymous :)). We’ve been praying for you and your family.
    My favorites are:
    My 6 year old still says callepittar for catepillar. She used to say woobie for movie (loved that one!).
    My four year old says waybe for maybe.
    My one year old is just cute in everything he says. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 78. Ashley  |  October 6, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    My older 2 called their baby brother JonaFan…it was catchy so we did to for a while.
    My oldest son used to say “adagain” for again. My husband will still say it occasionally because it was so cute.

    Reply
  • 79. Nanette  |  October 6, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Everyone in our house knows that marshmallow is pronounced “marshapillow”.

    Reply
  • 80. Nanette  |  October 6, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    and my son invented the word “praybee”, which is a combination of “probably” and “maybe.”
    As in “Praybee we can go to the park today, Mom!” He is 4 and I have never told him that it is not a real word – I love it too much.

    Reply
  • 81. Deanna  |  October 6, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    I found your blog this past week after attending the blog meet at the National Desiring God conference…what a fun blog and neat family you have.

    My 3 1/2 year Caleb has Apraxia and is missing a lot of sounds so I could share some pretty funny names for words, but my favorite by far is “otay” for “okay”. I love it when he is asked to do something and there is a long pause between the o and t sounds. He has made huge improvements with speech therapy and appreciate your occupation so much!

    Reply
  • 82. amanda  |  October 7, 2008 at 6:37 am

    My son calls all candy “meena”. I think it started with trying to pronounce m and m’s. He’s 20 months. What I think is also funny is when he says words correctly in the right context. Like if we are turning a fast corner in the car or he is about to fall off a bed, he’ll say “whoah!”

    Reply
  • 83. Chris  |  October 7, 2008 at 10:18 am

    I thought of another–our son called the flyswatter the waterfly…

    Reply
  • 84. Elizabeth  |  October 7, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    My 5-year old still says “breakthast” and “vetinarian.” I’ll never correct it!

    Reply
  • 85. Donna @ Way More Homemade  |  October 7, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    daughter said “lellow” for the longest time. She has passed on calling the restaurant “Old MacDonalds” to her little brother. He says “sumking.” Although his pronunciation is much better than hers ever was.

    Reply
  • 86. a suburban housewife  |  October 8, 2008 at 6:07 am

    My 6 year-old still says “pracfist” instead of “practice.” Love it! It’s his last “wrong” word, and I can’t make myself corrrect it πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 87. Laura Owings  |  October 8, 2008 at 9:01 am

    Here’s some of my favorites from my two-year-old daughter:
    bru-ella = umbrella
    g-ella = gorilla (can you tell her best friend’s name is Ella?)
    mirrr mirr = more
    firr = four
    Monny = Mommy (I actually love this)
    honey = money (coins for her “honey” bank)
    nopes = nope
    note = no

    I’ve thought about correcting some of them, but I just think they’re adorable and I’m not ready for her to “grow up” yet.

    My friend’s three-year-old daughter used to say “frog” like the f word, and it caused her lots of embarrassment when she’d see a frog on something and yell it out in public. I do believe that’s one of the funniest I’ve ever heard of, but I’m also kinda glad it wasn’t my kid!

    Reply
  • 88. melissa e  |  October 9, 2008 at 11:05 am

    hee hee…I still get a chuckle from this one:
    My now eight-but-thentwo-year-old daughter said “ding-doll” instead of “Engdahl” in reference to our friend’s last name. When we laughed, he got all offended and thought we taught her to say it that way! Because of his personality, his reaction made it even funnier! (shhh…don’t tell him I said so!)

    Reply
  • 89. Leah  |  October 9, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    We have never met, but are good friends of the “Carnells”. My daughter is almost two years old, and my favorite thing to hear her say is “Sleeping Beauty”. She doesn’t have the movie, but she can identify most Disney Princesses! Anyway, she says “See-ya Booty” for “Sleeping Beauty”. It is adorably cute, and will inevitably send me into giggles when she says it.

    Reply
  • 90. Eddy Barnes  |  October 10, 2008 at 7:42 am

    My wife and I babysat for three little ones, ages six, four, and two. The two older were boys, and the youngest is a sweet little girl. As my wife fed the two year old, the little one would continually say “tane too mah-mee” for “thank you mommy.” It hurt, it was so cute.

    Reply
  • 91. Remembering Our One-Year-Old « The Pipers  |  October 14, 2008 at 12:25 am

    […] Felicity’s birthday day. Incidentally, he still calls them “pupcakes,” and his speech pathologist mother doesn’t correct him because I think it’s too cute. I know he can say cupcakes, so I […]

    Reply
  • 92. Eva  |  October 15, 2008 at 6:29 am

    I have to tell you that my 4 year old daughter (who’s had her share of speech issues due to fluid in her ears) was with me when I watched this video. She can now say the TH sound because of watching your son. Thanks for the therapy…should I give you my insurance information, or expect a bill? πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


