A Powerful Video

October 10, 2008 at 3:19 pm 10 comments

I’m totally copying my friend Jenna’s post from yesterday, but this was such a good idea, I wanted to link here too.

Last week I posted about the Art*Music*Justice tour, but I didn’t realize that this video was available on YouTube. Good find, Jenna!

Every fall our church focuses on missions for 2 Sundays in a row, with all kinds of various events on the days between. So with that in mind, I want to ask God what he wants for our family on a more international level.

This is one of the videos shown at the concert, and I just loved it, in a very brokenhearted way.

Incidentally, Sara Groves and her family will return to Rwanda in March with Food for the Hungry, and they are working on adopting an entire village through the contributions they get until then. They also gave an open invitation at the concert to anyone who wants to join the team.

I’ll just insert the video now…

Have a great weekend.

[via All The Way Home]

Entry filed under: Faith, Life.

I’m no economic expert, but… Remembering Our One-Year-Old

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly @ Love Well  |  October 10, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    We are big-time supporters of Food for the Hungry. I’m so glad Sara is working with them — and that you gave them a shout-out. It’s a great organization.

    Reply
  • 2. Kristin  |  October 10, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    thanks for sharing about this. I think we are going o try to go to the concert here. I loved the video too.

    Reply
  • 3. Lynnette  |  October 10, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Hello. I just wanted to say that I’ve read through some of your stuff on my friends blog http://www.raising-arrows.blogspot.com I thought it was really great. You and I have something in common. I’ve never had a stillborn child, but I’ve lost three children: Samuel 1992 (anencephaly), Josiah 1995 (Diaphragmatic Hernia), Anna 2004 (CHD, Heterotaxy). It’s a difficult road, but God is good.

    I just wanted to say hi! Come visit me! http://www.lynnettekraft.blogspot.com and http://www.growingthroughaffliction.com (If you have anything that might be useful on the site – including your story – I’d love to share it on my website).

    Lynnette Kraft

    Reply
  • 4. Rachel  |  October 10, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    thank you for sharing that! I didn’t realize that was the inspiration for that song, it totally opened it up to me in a brand new way. wow.

    Reply
  • 5. jennapants  |  October 11, 2008 at 11:32 am

    oh molly. you didn’t need to give me any cred!!! i hope that this video gets posted on a lot of blogs. it’s a tender challenge to us to DO *something* for the oppressed.

    Reply
  • 6. Chris  |  October 11, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    It’s overwhelming to think of what the people of Rwanda have been through. Thanks for sharing this need.

    Another organization that has opportunities for people to help others in very practical, tangible ways is The Voice of the Martyrs.

    You can check out the projects at http://www.persecution.com.

    For the Action Packs project, for example, you can fill a bag with blankets and other supplies for people in countries where there is great need. It’s a neat project to do as a family or small group. It seems like such a small thing, but with numerous people participating, a lot of lives are touched.

    And our family devotions have been enlivened by getting their e-mail updates. Each week, three or four stories come through with corresponding scriptures and ways to pray for suffering people, and for the persecutors. Often the persecutors are so touched by the prayers and love of the Christians, that they become believers.

    I don’t mean to distract from the cause you posted about, just to mention another member of the team of Christians that is working to help the suffering.

    Reply
  • 7. robyn  |  October 11, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    okay, i’m crying now. how beautiful!! thanks for posting this!!

    Reply
  • 8. Amy  |  October 21, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Sara Groves showed this video while she sang this spring at the International Justice Mission event in Mpls, it was so moving, I am glad I got to see it again. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 9. Amy  |  October 22, 2008 at 9:03 am

    My friend, Alyson, made me aware of this amazing documentary about the individual reconciliation occurring in Rwanda called ‘As We Forgive’
    The tagline is,’ Can mercy restore what genocide destroyed?’
    Please visit Alyson’s review here:
    http://winterispast.blogspot.com/2008/05/tough-to-reconcile.html
    and you can visit the film site here;
    http://www.asweforgivemovie.com/

    Reply
  • 10. Kaylene  |  October 31, 2008 at 7:58 am

    thats the best music video I’ve ever seen. Its so much more than just music.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


