Cake Wrecks

October 15, 2008 at 9:25 pm 25 comments

These days, I really appreciate the laughable moments in life. They’ve been fewer and farther between in the past few weeks, but there is one blog that makes me laugh every time I go there.

The Cake Wrecks blog is absolutely hysterical. All the cakes she features are “professionally” made. But the best part is the way she writes about these wrecks. I’ve laughed so hard I’ve cried.

In the past I’ve harbored the guilty pleasure of reading a couple blogs that make fun of celebrities’ fashion choices, but felt like that might not be the best way to spend my day, laughing at other people. But when it’s a cake, you can just laugh!

I totally didn’t know this was happening when I originally wrote this post, but Cake Wrecks is in the running for “Best Humor Blog” in the 2008 Blogger’s Choice Awards. You have to set up an account to be able to vote, which annoyed me, but I had to vote for her. After you read a few of her posts you’ll know why.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Food, Fun.

Remembering Our One-Year-Old Team Cooking

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  October 15, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Okay, I admit pretty funny! I was a little wary, but I needed a laugh tonight. Thanks for making my evening a little lighter.

    Blessings,
    Amanda

    Reply
  • 2. Megan  |  October 15, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    That was hilarious. I’m suddenly not feeling nearly so bad about the last birthday-mound-o-frosting (I mean cake) I served for my 5-year-old’s birthday last week…

    Reply
  • 3. mo willis  |  October 16, 2008 at 3:50 am

    i came, i laughed, i cried. i may have to go through some old photos…..

    Reply
  • 4. Nanette  |  October 16, 2008 at 6:16 am

    I was laughing so hard I was crying! An instant new favorite – thanks!

    Reply
  • 5. JenR  |  October 16, 2008 at 7:07 am

    Molly, I am so glad you visit that site! “I want sprinkles” is my most recent favorite, but there are so many to choose from. This site has brought laughter into my life when I so dearly needed to laugh. I cannot wait until Andy gets home and we can laugh together at these wrecktastic creations!

    Reply
  • 6. Shannon Archer  |  October 16, 2008 at 7:14 am

    This is SO funny. She should completely win the award. Since I am a sports fan, I especially like the description of a the hockey game that incorporates aspects of several different sports…and I bet there were some who didn’t even know that is what she was doing! Very, very funny! Thank you!

    Reply
  • 7. Kendall  |  October 16, 2008 at 9:42 am

    You weren’t kidding… the sexual harassment cake STILL has me laughing out loud. 🙂
    Grab the smiles and laughs where you can, my friend… still keeping you guys in my prayers.

    Reply
  • 8. Kim  |  October 16, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Okay…hilarious site…but as I make my daughters’ cakes and always have, I’m scared to keep looking through it! I can think of a couple of pics she’d love to have!

    Reply
  • 9. Angela  |  October 16, 2008 at 11:27 am

    I really enjoy having Cake Wrecks on my blogroll! Jen never fails to brighten up my morning when I see her latest addition. I’ve also gained the habit of checking my local grocery store’s cake displays just in case I find a wreck-tastic cake 🙂

    My very favorite so far is the Olympic Rings cake (http://cakewrecks.blogspot.com/2008/08/in-honor-of-2008-olympic-games.html). It’s simple but I laughed so hard I cried when I saw it for the first time!

    Reply
  • 10. Chris  |  October 16, 2008 at 11:39 am

    Thanks for sharing this fun site:)

    Reply
  • 11. Chelsea Bass  |  October 16, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Thank you so much, Molly. That was just what I needed today. Another old favorite of mine- Engrish

    Reply
  • 12. Patty Broberg  |  October 16, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Thanks for the laugh! I needed one today, too 🙂

    Reply
  • 13. Jessica  |  October 16, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Thanks for that. I laughed hysterically for quite a while.

    Reply
  • 14. Larry  |  October 17, 2008 at 5:42 am

    Another good laugh is this little youtube skit where a comedian manages to seamlessly link 30 years of changing music/dances…

    Reply
  • 15. Jen D  |  October 17, 2008 at 7:00 am

    Hilarious!!! My husband and I stayed up waaaay too late laughing at all the wrecks! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 16. Jessie from Columbus  |  October 17, 2008 at 9:07 am

    How hilarious! It’s addictive!

    Reply
  • 17. Carol  |  October 17, 2008 at 9:28 am

    There are three websites I go to regularly for a pick-me-up. Sometimes a couple of them can be a little iffy. But they are:

    http://www.cuteoverload.com (a great one for showing children pictures of animals — they have a “cats-and-racks” section and a “Cute or Sad?” section, both of which are unnecessary and the baby talk captions are a little crazy-making to me. But I love most of the photos and videos.)

    http://www.engrish.com (not english but engrish — photos of poorly-translated English signs in other countries — hilarious)

    http://www.apod.nasa.gov/apod/archivepix.html (NASA’s Astronomy Picture of the Day — I go to July 22, 2008 and watch “Happy People Dancing on Planet Earth” every day)

    Reply
  • 18. Carol  |  October 17, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Correction: It’s http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/archivepix.html. Leave out the www.

    Reply
  • 19. Shari  |  October 17, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    I stayed up until midnight two nights ago reading through that hilarious blog. :o) It’s on my Google reader now.. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 20. Melissa  |  October 17, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    My husband and I have both added this to our Google reader.
    HI-LAR-EE-OUS.
    We actually sat in bed last night reading them (nerdy, I know).
    Thanks!

    Reply
  • 21. bean  |  October 19, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    thank you!!! that site is hilarious and is now in my reader as well. 🙂

    Reply
  • 22. Rita M.  |  October 20, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    thank you! thank you so much for this I have been laughing for the past 20 minutes now! 😛
    God bless ya!

    Reply
  • 23. Neely Tamminga  |  October 24, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    cake wrecks is way better than any of those other celebrity-bashin’ sites. thanks for replacing a bad habit with a less-bad habit.

    Reply
  • 24. Katie  |  October 25, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Could not believe how hilarious. I am not a huge blog reader but I keep up with Abraham’s and yours and now I guess cake wrecks. My fav is the cookie monster one. I laughed and cried and laughed and cried and then I showed my husband and I laughed and cried some more. Thank you for suggesting it!

    Reply
  • 25. Martina  |  November 19, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    Thank you, Molly! Since I saw this post, I added Cake Wrecks to my blog reader. Several times it has been a much needed laugh in the middle of my day. Thanks for sharing!

    PS. More photos of Morrow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


