My first poll: Are you like me?

October 21, 2008 at 7:57 pm 26 comments

Here’s a simple equation for getting me to fall asleep:

Movie + Laptop + In bed

So now I’m curious (and eager to try out this new polling feature on wordpress):

Entry filed under: Fun, Life.

Team Cooking What’s up with our kitchen?

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. My Twenty Cents Keeps Moving  |  October 21, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    I clicked on occasionally but felt the word wasn’t strong enough. More like frequently. And once or twice at the actual theater– Kung Fu Panda comes to mind.

    Leslie

    Reply
  • 2. Katie  |  October 21, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    I can be asleep before the opening credits finish.

    Reply
  • 3. Jessica  |  October 21, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    If the movie is that bad, I shut it off long before I fall asleep!

    Reply
  • 4. Rachel  |  October 21, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    My equation for falling asleep is me in bed with will & grace reruns playing. I usually end up asleep pretty fast with that.

    Also – I just saw your new about page… SO awesome – love it!!

    Reply
  • 5. sarah vrolyk  |  October 21, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    Your simple equation for falling asleep is identical to mine! My husband always laughs at me when I tell him we should get the laptop and watch a movie in bed … because I’ll be asleep within ten minutes!

    Reply
  • 6. Nikki  |  October 21, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Before I was married I would often fall asleep to a movie playing on my laptop (I didn’t have a TV in my room). Now that I’m married I DO have a TV in my room, but my husband can’t fall asleep with it on! So if he’s gone for some reason I’ll fall asleep to a movie or (usually) Nick at Nite.

    Reply
  • 7. Elizabeth Esther  |  October 21, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Nothing puts me out faster than a movie in bed (or on the couch). Yep. Girls Night In? Um. It’s embarrassing. I’m snoring 15 minutes in and my girlfriend was like: um, I’ll just go home!

    LOL!

    Reply
  • 8. Chris  |  October 22, 2008 at 3:58 am

    Yes, I’m like you. I would have chosen ALMOST every time because there are a few that I have made it through.

    I think I was like 43 years old before I ever saw the end of THE SOUND OF MUSIC.

    Reply
  • 9. Michelle- This One's for the Girls  |  October 22, 2008 at 4:45 am

    That’s why I have to rent. It takes about 3 tries for me to finish a movie. I blame it on my Proverbs 31 industriousness. My body simply doesn’t know what to do when I am motionless. 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. amanda  |  October 22, 2008 at 6:26 am

    HI! I’m with comment one- frequently would define me for sure. My husband has been proud in recent months- I’ve been able to stay awake through a few that we’ve seen.

    Reply
  • 11. Chelsey  |  October 22, 2008 at 7:23 am

    I used to fall asleep EVERY TIME I watched a movie. But that was when I loved watching Mulan with my college friends. Now that I’ve got a boyfriend who loves action movies, he won’t let me fall asleep, and even if he did, I wouldn’t be able to.

    Reply
  • 12. katherine (senor elefante)  |  October 22, 2008 at 7:29 am

    my hubs teases me, but i love to fall asleep while watching movies. however, i often do make it through — if i’m tired, its a great way to spend the evening: hubs gets to watch his movie and i get to fall asleep!

    Reply
  • 13. Johnathon  |  October 22, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Movies usually aren’t a problem for me. I tend to save my dozing for more embarrassing social situations.

    Reply
  • 14. Rosanna  |  October 22, 2008 at 8:49 am

    I never, ever fall asleep during movies. Well, okay… maybe once or twice, but usually it’s too interesting for me to zonk out. My “instant sleep” equation is: Rob reading + bed = Rosanna sleeping. Now that’s a combo that knock me out almost every time! His voice is just soooo soothing… 🙂

    Reply
  • 15. Jane Swanson  |  October 22, 2008 at 10:35 am

    Wow! I thought this was something just “old” people like me would do and I only do it occasionally!!

    Reply
  • 16. Angela  |  October 22, 2008 at 11:57 am

    I almost always fall asleep through a movie. Before I had a baby, that was what I did for my Sunday afternoon nap. It can be my favorite movie, but I’ll still fall asleep. And, yes, I’ve been known to fall asleep in the theater too. What a waste of money!!

    Reply
  • 17. Carol  |  October 22, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    I never fall asleep watching a movie in bed! In fact, sometimes I will watch until 2:00 a.m. and I have to make myself shut off the DVD player and get some sleep. Looks like I’m the oddball of your responders. 🙂

    Reply
  • 18. Maggie  |  October 22, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    The only type of movie that really conks me out is one that is about a sports team or an individual athlete achieving something grand. Especially if it is based on real events. Yawn. I’m getting tired just thinking about “Remember The Titans”.

    The only exception that I can think of would be “The Cutting Edge”. Great flick.

    But I haven’t watched a move in bed for years. Maybe I’ll give it a whirl next week when he’s traveling. “We Are Marshall” might help me catch some Zzzz’s while the hubby’s away.

    Reply
  • 19. Melissa Parnell  |  October 22, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    In the ol single days, I’d nightly fall asleep to a movie/TV. But my anal-retentive sleeping partner (don’t worry, he is also my husband) cannot sleep with any sounds other than a fan (and currently it is both the ceiling fan and a regular fan) and zero lights. We have to turn all charging cell phones face down.

    When he leaves, I think watching a movie in bed is the only perk!

    Reply
  • 20. jennapants  |  October 22, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    do you mean, how often do i watch them to fall asleep? or, on the occasion that i watch a movie, do i often fall asleep?

    i’m just so unsure and want to answer as accurately as possible.

    (enter kevin voice)
    this is very important.

    Reply
  • 21. 'Guerite ~ BoldLion  |  October 22, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    I never have fallen asleep during the movies. I don’t think that I ever had to watch the movte in my bed.

    Me as a woman, I do know that I will fall asleep during the real live Ballet that is not in a movie. Someone will have to carry me home or wake me up.

    I guess that I am an odd one!

    I do enjoy reading your blog!
    ‘Guerite ~ BoldLion

    Reply
  • 22. artsieandie  |  October 22, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    I rarely fall asleep, but I also rarely remember the movies I’ve seen. It’s sort of fun, because I feel like I’m watching an almost-new movie every time. ha ha

    Reply
  • 23. Marie  |  October 22, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    I get my movies from the Netflix queue, so they’re something I really want to watch. If I’m tired, I just go to bed. Never fall asleep during a movie – then I’d have to waste time watching it again.

    Reply
  • 24. Chris  |  October 25, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    Well, Molly, it seems we are among the elite fewer who do fall asleep:)

    I also tend to fall asleep when I am a passenger in a car traveling on a highway–say 25 minutes or more–not always, but often.

    Reply
  • 25. Ellie  |  October 26, 2008 at 8:12 am

    I only do if it is a movie my husband picked that I am totally not interested in but pretending to like for his sake.

    Reply
  • 26. robyn  |  October 28, 2008 at 7:21 am

    please do a political poll, I’d be so curious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


