What’s up with our kitchen?

October 22, 2008 at 8:40 pm 32 comments

Awhile back I solicited your opinions about countertops. For those of you newer to the scene, we are in the throes of a kitchen remodel at our duplex (which just happens to be next door to our current house). We are still living in our other house, but plan to move over to the duplex as soon as the kitchen is done or as soon as we secure renters for our current house, whichever comes first.

We have wonderful tenants in the first-floor unit of our duplex, and we will move into the second-floor unit and finish out the attic/3rd floor this winter with the rest of our bedrooms and another bathroom.

Remodel

The original upstairs unit had two bedrooms, one that shared a wall with the kitchen. Since we’re planning to build 3 bedrooms in the attic (yes, it’s that big), we figured we really didn’t need that other bedroom, so we knocked out the wall between the back bedroom and the kitchen. We’ll use the old bedroom space as our eat-in area. I’m imagining that the kids will play there a good deal, too, since it’ll be right in my line of sight.

Countertops

For countertops, we decided to go with Quartz. We got a tremendous deal on them through a special that was running with Home Depot, and decided we’d just go for it. All the laminate we looked at was just not doing it for us, but we figured because of cost we’d have to go that way. We were pleasantly surprised with the deal we got.

Contractor

Abraham’s brother is our contractor, and he has a wonderful company called Piper Construction. Working with him has been great.

Design

We’ve really liked our designer with Home Depot. He’s been awesome through this whole process. I’m sure the experience varies dramatically depending on the designer you’re paired up with, but the guy we got has been wonderful.

We also ordered our cabinets through Home Depot. Planning that out with the designer was a lot of fun. And our designer took a lot of time to explain things to us, which helped us to trust him a lot more.

Decorating

The drywall is hung and the mud is dry. That means it’s time to paint! Here’s the fabric I’m basing my color choice on:

It’s brighter/bolder in real life. I really want a funky kitchen. If I go with my default color choices, it’s all going to be earth tones. It’s just who I am. But I want to be funky, so I’m just going for it! I really want to be Anna Marie Horner, but don’t have the creativity or gumption on my own. My color scheme usually ends up looking like something you’d see in Indiana Jones.

BUT… the paint is going on the walls today! Here are my color choices… (I’m nervous, so nervous).

The orange and blue are for sure. I haven’t decided on the third green color so I just put that one in as a place holder. It’ll probably be something close to that, though.

What’s next?

The cabinets will be hung, the floors will be refinished (hardwood), the appliances and countertops will be installed, and we’ll be good to go. Sounds easy, right?

In all seriousness, there was a point in the early days of planning this remodel that we thought we would possibly live over there in the duplex while the construction was going on. When I look around at the mess that will someday be my home, I think I would have literally gone insane with a new baby, a curious 3-year-old, lots of dust, nowhere to put our stuff, etc. It’s good that God derailed that initial plan.

Entry filed under: Life.

My first poll: Are you like me? The Meat Sauce…

32 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Valerie at Home  |  October 22, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    I think I’d go with a slightly grayer shade of green, but I am loving the fabric and colors. They’re beautiful and funky without being weird. It’s so much fun to get to design new stuff and it’s wonderful to have a beautiful new kitchen that perfectly fits your needs, but the work to get from design to reality is a pain! I feel for you.

    Reply
  • 2. Kristin  |  October 22, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    I LOVE that fabric and those colors! I can’t wait to see finished pics! What color/finish are your cabinets? It’s going to be awesome. I’m so glad you did get a good designer. Praise the Lord for derailing your plans in moving in…it would have been stressful. Living through this summer, yes, it would have been stressful :). So, quartz? I bet it will look really great! Can you tell you struck a cord? Ah, design.

    Reply
  • 3. Kate H  |  October 22, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    I totally love that fabric, who is it made by?

    Reply
  • 4. jennapants  |  October 22, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    i’m so frip-frappin excited to see it come together!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Greta  |  October 22, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    I’m lovin’ the fabric and paint colors too! I hope we’ll get to see plenty of finished=project-pictures!

    Reply
  • 6. TN Lizzie  |  October 22, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    I found your blog while searching for pipe! LOL
    Don’t know where you are, but here’s a table you need:
    http://memphis.craigslist.org/fuo/889730929.html
    Isn’t it cute!!

    Have fun cooking up YOUR kitchen!

    <

    Reply
  • 7. Heather  |  October 23, 2008 at 5:18 am

    I LOVE that fabric and paint!! What fun! My house doesn’t reflect my personality at all. My kitchen is Up North woods cabin that we remodled about two years before we bought the house…I like it, but not like me.

    My livingroom and diningroom are functional, but drab. Just last night my husband asked what color I’d want the livingroom. We’ll see we may go bold!

    I hope we get to see pictures and I was wondering about the countertops. Glad you got a deal!
    HP

    Reply
  • 8. Sunny  |  October 23, 2008 at 5:27 am

    When you get doe with your house, want to send Ben and Melissa our way to remodel ours? We are buying a house and moving in with less than 5 weeks until Baby’s due date. I must be crazy.

    Reply
  • 9. JessicainFlorida  |  October 23, 2008 at 5:40 am

    Oh, Molly, I think your choices are just gorgeous! What a happy place your kitchen will be, even in the drabs of winter. I can’t wait to see the “before” and “after” pictures.

    Sending you an e-mail about a possible special delivery…

    Reply
  • 10. Barbie  |  October 23, 2008 at 7:02 am

    I’ve always wanted to do a kitchen remodel…have fun:).

    And I think your color schemes are great. Looks like a fun kitchen to do work in.

    Reply
  • 11. Courtney  |  October 23, 2008 at 7:40 am

    Hey, I have that fabric in my stash! Amy Butler’s Belle Gothic Rose in Blue to whomever it was that was wondering. Beautious! Are you making curtains and such with it?? She has a coordinating stripe that would look really great as a table runner or placemats since it’s less busy. I REALLY like the paint colors you chose. I’m THRILLED that you decided on the quartz from Home Depot, you’re gonna LOVE it. Which color did you choose?

    Reply
  • 12. Rachel  |  October 23, 2008 at 8:25 am

    you won’t regret the bright colors, i’m sure if it. it will be awesome!!!!

    and i agree, so much better that you weren’t there during teh construction stuff. we’ve had that going on at our house (not by choice) and its enough to make you insane.

    Reply
  • 13. Jenna  |  October 23, 2008 at 9:24 am

    I love, love, love those kitchen colors!! I am so excited for the day that I can paint without having to ask landlords (such is the life of a renter). This process is so exciting. Thanks for letting us live vicariously through you!

    PS- What are you going to do with the fabric?

    Reply
  • 14. Christen  |  October 23, 2008 at 11:33 am

    I love your colors and fabric, too – totally the look I was going for when we moved and got to paint everything, but I think you’re going to be more successful! We have an orange kitchen and I love it – it’s my favorite color of all in our house! Have fun!

    Reply
  • 15. andrea_jennine  |  October 23, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    I love your choices! We just moved in and did lots of painting, and the wall colors I like best are the colors I felt the most trepidation about when choosing them – including a dark, rusty-orange bedroom!

    Reply
  • 16. Stephanie G.  |  October 23, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    Molly, come on…you’re totally funky and not at all drab! When you need help painting, please let me know; I can wield a roller like a champ 🙂 I’m also a dynamite taper (or so I’ve been told).

    Reply
  • 17. MrsMK  |  October 23, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who fights the Indiana Jones palette! Let’s hear it for funky!!

    It all sounds so great!

    Reply
  • 18. Crystal  |  October 23, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Oh! That is going to be such a fun kitchen! I’m not sure i would have been brave enough to go with that much color. I think the Gothic Rose fabric is a good choice, and I never noticed the fact that it would probably go well with my dream set of Fiestaware in crimson and peacock!

    Reply
  • 19. Jane  |  October 23, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    L*O*V*E your colors choices, Molly! I think a funky kitchy kitchen is the way to go. I personally have a BRIGHT RED SINK in my kitchen that coordinates with Mary Englebreit stuff. Maybe I’ll make it a blog post someday soon!
    Carry on my girl! You’re doing great!
    ~jane

    Reply
  • 20. Pam  |  October 23, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    I really would like to see photos when this kitchen is done. I need some help believing that I too can be free from the earth tone drab!
    And, I have to admit that when I read that you all would be living in the duplex while the renos were happening I KNEW it was going to be a HUGE stressor but I didn’t have the guts to write it in my comments. I’m glad God derailed that plan for the sake of your sanity, your marriage and your health!

    On another note, it was so refreshing to see that contractors can be honest and forthright in their dealings (I love your brother-in-law’s website). We’re renovating 2 bathrooms and we’re so tired of the “pay me cash and I’ll give you a good deal” philosophy. When we insist on paying the tax and getting a bill they bolt.

    Reply
  • 21. Shannon Archer  |  October 23, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Wow, those colors are awful…JUST KIDDING! Very happening…especially for MN! Is the fabric for the curtains? tablecloth? Is your sewing-crazy husband going to make them? Let me know if you want to go thrifting or antiquing for funky decorations…

    Reply
  • 22. stacey  |  October 23, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    I really like that fabric…………just remember…..it is ONLY paint…the cheapest thing you will ever do to your house, if you don’t like it, you can ALWAYS change it. No biggie.

    Reply
  • 23. danielle  |  October 23, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    this makes me very excited to see it.

    Reply
  • 24. Tiffany  |  October 24, 2008 at 9:42 am

    i love love love the fabric and colors. let me guess….crafty planet? amy butler fabric? i’m a fabric junkie and love that store. 🙂 we did a similar paint scheme to yours in the kids bedroom….we actually painted the wooden floor in our upstairs that torquoise color. my husband (who seems to always have an opinion about decorating…odd) talked me in to it. i wanted white. boring. well, he convinced me to NOT do white and i LOVE it. i think you’ll love the funky colors. what you chose will make a very fun, lively kitchen and you’ll want to be in your kitchen all of the time. that’s good! enjoy! can’t wait to see the end result.

    Reply
  • 25. Chris  |  October 25, 2008 at 5:36 am

    It’s going to be so beautiful! 🙂

    Reply
  • 26. Chris  |  October 25, 2008 at 5:45 am

    AND thanks so much for the link to Anna Marie Horner. I immediately sent it to my daughter. It is so much like her. She’s only 14 and about a year ago designed and redid her bedroom (with dad’s help–it was so much fun seeing them work together like that). This has inspired me to revamp our homeschool schedule to include the home ec honors program that we were going to do. It kind of got put on the back burner this year when she started a new co-op, but we will definitely have to put it back on the schedule.

    Thanks again for the inspiration.
    I’m guessing you will post progress pictures as you go along?
    Blessings,
    Chris

    Reply
  • 27. Beth  |  October 25, 2008 at 8:06 am

    Molly, my husband and I (well, mostly him) remodeled a farm house last year. Thankfully we did not have to live in it while we were working there. Like you, I decided to be brave and just do what I wanted. It’s only paint after all!! I love it now. My kitchen is red. I remember the day it was painted I stood in shock and wondered what in the world I had been thinking. But it all came together in the end. Be brave, not beige. (I love IKEA, too!)

    Reply
  • 28. stacey  |  October 26, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    I also love quartz and I cannot WAIT to see pics of what you guys have done. How exciting!

    Reply
  • 29. Andrea  |  October 27, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    I love, love, love your color choices. Being in a base house we are not allowed to paint the walls and I can’t wait for the day when we own our own house and can do whatever we want to the walls.

    Reply
  • 30. robyn  |  October 28, 2008 at 7:20 am

    oh, i love the colors you chose. can’t wait to see pictures.

    Reply
  • 31. shawnda  |  November 10, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    SOOOOOO cute! Can’t wait to see pics! I’m down to only 850 in my reader! : )

    Reply
  • 32. Andy Gammons  |  February 10, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Molly,
    I just called Ben yesterday about coming to our house to do an estimate on some remodeling. He asked me how I had hear about him. I told him that “We go to Bethlehem’s North Campus . . . and I read your sister-in-law’s blog.” If we do decide to go with him, I think he should give you a cut.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


