The Meat Sauce…

October 26, 2008 at 7:57 pm 14 comments

Some of you have asked for the meat sauce I made a couple weeks ago. So here it is, compliments of Rachael Ray.

I’ve used this recipe many times now. I’ve done it with the mushrooms, without the mushrooms, with more spices (garlic, allspice, salt, pepper), and sometimes with tomato paste to thicken a little.

When I read through the reviews of this sauce, most people liked it, but the main complaint was that it was watery. I have to agree. I would probably add tomato paste each time. And the recipe calls for allspice, which is definitely unique for a spaghetti sauce. Personally, I like it. I think it’s interesting.

Abraham really likes this sauce and requests it a lot—spaghetti is definitely his favorite food. It makes me feel good to make a sauce from scratch that will roll his eyes into the back of his head.

Entry filed under: Food.

What’s up with our kitchen? Dinner on Friday night is covered.

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Noel  |  October 26, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    This looks great! I’d say it’s time for me to pass the spaghetti-tradition baton to you, Molly.

    Reply
  • 2. Abraham Piper  |  October 27, 2008 at 6:19 am

    No, we need 2 traditions. That way there’s more spaghetti.

    Molly’s sauce on weekdays and Mom’s on Sundays.

    Saturdays we can eat something else. Maybe leftovers.

    Reply
  • 3. Mom  |  October 27, 2008 at 7:52 am

    What a diplomat you are, Abraham.

    Reply
  • 4. Pam  |  October 27, 2008 at 8:01 am

    Wow!! When I read that the Pipers often requested Spaghetti on birthdays (in “Treasuring God in our Traditions) I had NO idea that the obsession went that far. Abraham REALLY likes spaghetti …lol
    The recipe seems excellent. I always wondered what the “secret” spice in Bolognese sauce was. I think adding tomato paste is a brilliant idea not only to cut down on water but also because paste seems to add a little sweetness to cut the acidity.

    Reply
  • 5. Chris  |  October 27, 2008 at 9:14 am

    Thanks for sharing–yummy!

    Reply
  • 6. MrsMK  |  October 27, 2008 at 9:17 am

    I want to make my husband’s eyes roll back into his head….in a good way, of course!
    Unfortunately for me, he hates spagetti! Oh well, I know what I will be making for the boys next time he goes out of town!!

    Reply
  • 7. Nikki  |  October 27, 2008 at 9:19 am

    Oh, yum! I love Rachael Ray stuff. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 8. Jennifer Sabin  |  October 27, 2008 at 9:58 am

    Rachel Ray puts allspice in almost all of her italian dishes… it is a staple in her pantry.

    Reply
  • 9. Mike & Jolee kretsinger  |  October 27, 2008 at 11:31 am

    Thanks Molly for passing this on! I enjoying cooking and I’m always looking for new recipes. My husband finds it amusing as I look through my cooking magazines or cookbooks and find pure delight in a salad recipe or whatever it might be…meal, dessert etc. 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Barbara  |  October 27, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Here is an entirely unrelated comment, and one that is potentially stalkerish at that. Nevertheless, here I go. Let me just say that one of the highlights of this blog and 22 words is the lovely Piper banter back and forth. How much fun to see the “real people-ness” of a much admired family. Thanks for being vulnerable and real enough to let all of us in on that. (and of course for sharing things like spaghetti sauce and paint colours. I think if your sauce bubbles onto your backsplash it will go nearly unnoticed if you paint the orange-ish shade!)

    Reply
  • 11. carissa  |  October 27, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    thanks for the recipe! :] cooking (and sharing what you cook) is so much fun. i feel like i’m learning to really appreciate food in a different way lately, and i find the more i appreciate food for what it is, the more i find myself eating properly. i don’t know if anyone else would agree.

    Reply
  • 12. stacey  |  October 28, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    I’ve done this sauce……..it is good. There is a recipe for chili on williams sonoma website that also uses the beef stock…I bet he’d like that also.

    Reply
  • 13. My Twenty Cents Keeps Moving  |  October 28, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    At the risk of seeming stalkerish (this is even worse than Barbara’s) I dreamed last night that I was at your house. My kids weren’t there and your kids weren’t there, but my mom and I were working in your yard. (And I don’t even work in the yard at my own house LOL.) Needless to say, it was a strange, yet vivid, dream.

    I am spending too much time on Google Reader I am afraid.

    ~Leslie

    Reply
  • 14. Kelly  |  October 29, 2008 at 9:08 am

    In the spirit of the previous somewhat stalker-ish posts, I’d like to say that Noel’s recipe of spaghetti sauce is the only one (of many, many, many attempts) that my husband and I could agree on after five years of marriage. (five years of trying to agree on spaghetti sauce! who’da thunk it?!)
    Anyway, for the last four years, I have served it every Monday night on our family “Spaghetti Mondays,” with few exceptions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


