Halloweekend

November 3, 2008 at 12:49 am 32 comments

Good Monday morning, blog readers!

Well all this Halloween talk has got me feeling kind of batty (nudge-nudge). I’m glad it’s over.

We did the Chipotle run on our way out to a bonfire at a friend’s house. We definitely didn’t go all out this yearβ€”it was just too rushed. We all sported a tinfoil feather in our hats and that was that. I don’t think they even check because they’re so stinkin’ busy.

Orison dressed as a lion, and had lots of fun at the bonfire playing with the other kids and taking a tractor ride. Somehow, even without trick-or-treating, we ended up with ridiculous amounts of candy. At this point it’s being used as incentives for taking good naps. We like to call them “blessings” in our house.

So what’s your plan for getting rid of the candy? I’m really, really trying not to eat copious amounts. Actually, it’s not candy in general. I could do without the Skittles, suckers, etc. But the chocolate… totally my weakness. I would like to eat a whole bag of Snickers in one sitting.

But… after 18 months of nearly consecutive pregnancy, that’s probably not the best idea.

Other than Halloween, the weekend was pretty good. Our weather in Minneapolis has been incredible this past week. For it to be November and not wearing coats is pretty much unheard of. We’re just trying to enjoy every bonus day we get at this point.

I ended up taking a ridiculously long nap on Sunday afternoon, thanks to my wonderful husband and woke up completely disoriented because it was as dark as night outside. Yes, “fall back” totally screwed me up.

Usually the day after the end of Daylight Savings time (you know, the one where it gets dark at like 4pm???) is one of my least favorite days of the year. It just depresses me. Abraham, on the other hand, loves it. So I’m glad I slept through the painful part, watching the sun sink out of my kitchen windows at 3:30 or something. Eventually I get used to it and I hardly notice anymore, but those first few days are just sad!

But I woke up to a dinner of Trader Joe’s Mandarin Chicken and rice, thanks again to my industrious husband.

Now it’s 11:45pm and I’m not tired at all. Can you tell that’s why I’m rambling? Abraham’s offering to read to me out loud from Merriam Webster’s Concise Dictionary of English Usage if that would help (seriously, he reads that). And I should be asleep in about 2 minutes.

Entry filed under: Life.

Halloween Costumes of Yore Election Results

32 Comments Add your own

  • 1. joabandemily  |  November 3, 2008 at 1:07 am

    ideas for the candy- hang it up for the birds to eat (see which they go for first) or just throw it away. I think so often we have the clean plate mentality with candy! Sometimes it is just better off in the ground than on our hips….I feel your pain! Happy Fall

    Reply
  • 2. Kari  |  November 3, 2008 at 1:36 am

    I just told my husband last night that we should send some candy to my brother who’s in college. He will work it off much faster than we will!

    Reply
  • 3. Cara  |  November 3, 2008 at 5:04 am

    Send the candy to your missionary friends, where Snickers and Skittles don’t exist!

    Reply
  • 4. Chris  |  November 3, 2008 at 5:32 am

    I like the other ideas better, but my husband just takes ours to work. It evaporates by lunch time.

    I teach piano at home and have a candy dish for the students to get a treat after their lesson–so we have that candy around besides what the kids get at parties. My students might forget to finish the assignments in their theory books, but they never forget to check Mrs. D.’s candy dish–just what the parents want:)

    Reply
  • 5. watchingthewaters  |  November 3, 2008 at 6:28 am

    I let my kids gorge on candyfor 2-3 days after each “candy-related holiday”. So Friday night, they could eat 7 pieces of candy each (7 seems to be enough to make them not want more, but not enough to make them sick). Saturday they ate 7 after lunch, 7 for afternoon snack, 7 after dinner. Same with Sunday. Monday morning, all candy goes to work with Daddy. Or goes in the garbage, I don’t care. As long as it doesn’t go on Mom’s hips.
    Corey
    http://www.watchingthewaters.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 6. C.  |  November 3, 2008 at 7:39 am

    I’m glad I’m not the only nerdy one. I read the Oxford English Dictionary (the set with the magnifying glass) for fun. I like reading commentaries too. My favorite is JC Ryle, but I dig Matthew Henry as well.

    Reply
  • 7. Mrs Tiab  |  November 3, 2008 at 7:42 am

    Send you candy to the soldiers in Iraq or give it to your local foodbank.

    Reply
  • 8. Jen Balsbaugh  |  November 3, 2008 at 7:58 am

    We came home with 14lbs of candy and by the time I was out of bed on Saturday the kids had it sorted. One bowl of chocolate, and one bowl of the other stuff. I only had to correct them that Tootsie rolls are not really chocolate. (by the way it broke down into 10lbs. of chocolate and 4 lbs of the other stuff).

    Reply
  • 9. andrea  |  November 3, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Molly — you are much better about limiting candy for yourself than we are at our house! Katie, Steph and I went to Target and Wal-Mart on Saturday morning looking for discounted Haloween candy! They didn’t really have good deals but we were ready to buy lots of it, if it had been there….

    Reply
  • 10. rachel  |  November 3, 2008 at 8:58 am

    I am the same way with the chocolate!!! i can’t resist it. But, we haven’t had halloween candy in a few years now because we don’t have kids and don’t trick-or-treat ourselves! the first two years when we gave it out I totally used it as an excuse to gorge on candy on halloween night. I regretted it later.

    i feel the same way about fall back time, but for me its better because i absolutely LOATHE getting up in the darkness and coldness in the morning. I can’t take it, it makes me so sad and depressed, so its nice that its a little bit brighter in the mornings now.

    you’re funny when your wide awake πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 11. Jawan  |  November 3, 2008 at 9:08 am

    He reads that book because he’s trying to find filler words to make a total of 22. Also, the big words make him sound smart.

    Reply
  • 12. Melissa Parnell  |  November 3, 2008 at 10:29 am

    as for candy, you could just send it over to your neighbor, who is also a chocolaholic. πŸ™‚

    and as for Abraham, he is a language freak of nature…

    Reply
  • 13. Greta  |  November 3, 2008 at 10:47 am

    What a sweet husband you’ve got ;).
    And your kids were adorable little Halloween animals!

    Reply
  • 14. Rosanna  |  November 3, 2008 at 11:01 am

    I can’t believe you don’t like the end of daylight savings time!! I think it’s better than Christmas… when else do you get the gift of an HOUR? πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 15. Pam  |  November 3, 2008 at 11:09 am

    I totally get you Molly! I was so depressed yesterday when my kitchen darkened at 4:30 😦 . I couldn’t even console myself with the extra hour of sleep because kids can’t be programmed to sleep in so my day began at 5:00 am…

    Reply
  • 16. Gina  |  November 3, 2008 at 11:44 am

    Well I’ll let you keep the chocolate…but you can send the skittles my way!!! We don’t do Halloween and didn’t get any candy! lol

    Reply
  • 17. Dani  |  November 3, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    That is so true about the candy!! I don’t really like chocolate except in candy!! I could eat M & Ms all day as well as reese’s. I am glad that ya’ll had a great fall day! I too don’t really like it getting dark that early but I do LOVE it being light out when I get up at 6:30. It’s nice! πŸ™‚ newaz…
    ~Dani

    Reply
  • 18. Jane Swanson  |  November 3, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    I’m with you. I will miss the light and shun the darkness.
    I, too, took a nap yesterday afternoon, after a baby shower I attended and before my small group bible study. I couldn’t believe it was so dark when I woke up and grabbed a slice of Papa John’s pizza on the way out the door. We are blessed women to have husbands who feed our family while letting us sleep, tho’ I think it was easier on my hubby to order pizza! Good work Abraham!

    Reply
  • 19. Michelle- This One's for the Girls  |  November 3, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    Oh how I hate “fall back.” Totally depressing. If only I were in charge. πŸ™‚

    My dentist pays $1 per pound for Halloween candy and then sends it overseas. Neat idea! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 20. stacey  |  November 3, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    Again, no Trader Joe’s……….do you like inflicting pain on me??

    Reply
  • 21. Tracy  |  November 3, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    The candy–just throw a bunch away when the kids aren’t looking! Ha ha. That is what I do. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 22. MrsMK  |  November 3, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    Molly, what a fun post!

    My husband and I were joking that we need a safe/dispenser for our candy…..every 24 hours, a kiddie sized bag of peanut M&M’s will be released….

    Reply
  • 23. carissa  |  November 3, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    i really hate the end of daylight savings, too. good for you for sleeping through the sad part of the day.

    i didn’t get any candy whatsoever, but if i had received a windfall like everybody else, sending it to a missionary seems like a good idea. i remember when i went to Japan, American candy was practically like gold among the younger missionaries.

    Reply
  • 24. jennapants  |  November 3, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    i totally napped yesterday, too. that’s somewhat notable since i nap approximately two times a year. something in the air, perhaps.

    anyways, jenny at a-latte-talk posted a link to recipes that you can make with halloween candy.

    i think we’re going to straight up eat our candy plain…and fast.

    Reply
  • 25. 'Guerite ~ BoldLion  |  November 3, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    I would take the chocolate because I don’t gain weight on this. Just Dark Chocolate Please.

    I didn’t go trick or treat.

    I love this time of the year because it is beginning to get closer to Christmas time. I like to sleep in extra hour.

    I love nap time and do take them most of the time if I am not working during the day time. Sunday afternoon nap are my favorite time.

    I love to read books (John Piper and other like that), and I do read some from dictionary to look up and build up words. I do have a brother who used to love reading encyclopedia when he was a kid.

    Share the candy with other!
    ‘Guerite ~ BoldLion

    Reply
  • 26. Aimee  |  November 3, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Theres some great suggestions on what to do with all the candy/chocolate over at this blog post:
    http://simplemom.net/what-to-do-with-halloween-candy/

    I’m with you on the daylight saving thing – the ‘extra hour of sleep’ doesn’t seem to work when you have children! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 27. Alicia  |  November 3, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    I’m not good for advice on chocolate and self-control, but I’ll through a standad time idea your way. We like to begin lighting candles at dinner and around the house when it gets dark earlier. It just makes everything about the dark seem cozy instead of depressing.

    Reply
  • 28. Tracy  |  November 4, 2008 at 12:20 am

    I like the “send it to the missionaries” idea. Particularly, the smarties, licorice, runts, any choc/peanutbutter combination……..(in other words, anything) (smiles)

    Reply
  • 29. Ellie  |  November 4, 2008 at 8:51 am

    We sorted out all the chocolate and kept that, and then used lots of the other stuff to fill up gaps in our shoe boxes for Operation Christmas Child for Samaritian’s Purse. It always comes time right after Halloween to make those up, and a great way to get rid of candy quickly and feel good about it, too.

    Reply
  • 30. Staci at Writing and Living  |  November 4, 2008 at 11:46 am

    I’m with Abraham. I like the short days. I like when it gets dark, and I can close the curtains and turn the lights on and be cozy and snug at home with my family. Just the thought makes me want to get up and put on a pot of soup. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 31. Alison  |  November 4, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    We don’t really do Halloween down here I hear you on the snickers! I did a very stupid thing last week and bought a bag of mini-snickers on sale, to keep in my office drawer, to be rationed out for when I NEED chocolate. You can imagine how that turned out …

    In my case I just have to do what it takes to remove the temptation …

    Reply
  • 32. kendra  |  November 5, 2008 at 12:08 am

    Some dentists buy kids’ candy…

    a friend’s buys it for $2 a pound, so the kids get cash, and then he ships it overseas to troops! How cool is that?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


