Election Results

November 4, 2008 at 10:21 pm 26 comments

Abraham and I flipped through our local channels last night, all the while adjusting our rabbit ears.

One of the things Abraham mentioned while watching that really struck me after he said it was, “It’s incredible. We’re watching the first African-American become President.”

It really is incredible.

Just 41 years ago, there were still laws on the books in many states outlawing black-white intermarriage. Only 41 years ago.

Regardless of what people might believe politically, it is a historic moment.

Entry filed under: Spoutings.

Halloweekend Language Lessons on Election Night

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katrina  |  November 4, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    It’s true. I thought the same thing. To think that African American children have a role model in him is quite remarkable. I didn’t realize that until tonight–they’ve never seen another person with their same skin color in the highest office in our country. For that, I am very excited.

    Reply
  • 2. Becky  |  November 4, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    This is so true. I don’t like it that Obama is our next president, but God saw fit for it to be so. And this is such a historical moment! I wanted to cry, not because I like him, but I’m excited for him and what this means to African-Americans. Oh well:)

    Reply
  • 3. Elizabeth Esther  |  November 4, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    It is a beautiful thing. And not so long ago women did not have the right to vote! So, tonight, despite our policy differences, I am proud to be an American (well, I always am!) and I will support and honor President Obama. Obviously, I’m still up! How funny that I checked your blog right after election results. Well, it’s only 9:45pm here in CA. God Bless The UNITED States of America!

    Reply
  • 4. jeremy  |  November 5, 2008 at 12:13 am

    historic in that there has never been a more pro-abortion candidate elected to the office. a sad day in America, indeed.

    Reply
  • 5. carissa  |  November 5, 2008 at 12:50 am

    re: the above comment – yes, VERY sad in that respect. but positively thrilling for the reason molly mentioned.

    i actually cried over both.

    Reply
  • 6. MamaD  |  November 5, 2008 at 5:23 am

    In all sincerity, I do not understand.. I think a pro-abortion president, who wouldn’t even vote for laws against infanticide while in the IL senate is a very poor role model for African American children (as mentioned in comment 1), not to mention all other children and adults.

    Wouldn’t the true measure of whether or not our country has gotten beyond race be that the color of someone’s skin is a non-issue?

    Reply
  • 7. Caryn  |  November 5, 2008 at 6:07 am

    You are absolutely correct!!!

    Reply
  • 8. Chris  |  November 5, 2008 at 6:43 am

    Yes, it is historic and wonderful in many ways–and very scary and disappointing in other ways. I’m so glad that it is really God who is in control of our lives and the world. I think the Lord is going to do far above all we could ever ask or imagine (Eph. 3:20-21) in these next four years.

    Reply
  • 9. jeremy  |  November 5, 2008 at 6:51 am

    carissa,

    would you agree that all of the people who are shouting “historic” are thinking in the same way as people in the 50/60’s in that, they are making much of race (of course not exactly the same, but do you understand my point)? i don’t care about the man’s skin color; the guy is going to be complicit in cold blooded murder. i also wonder if people who are making much of this “historic” night would have had similar sentiments about Hitler (Well, it is a tragedy that he killed 6m jews, BUT…)

    ps Molly-nothing personal. my wife and i here in denver enjoy your blog.

    Reply
  • 10. Jessica  |  November 5, 2008 at 7:10 am

    That may be true, but his complete lack of morals negate the good of that historical moment. MamaD said it well.

    Reply
  • 11. Dawn Becker  |  November 5, 2008 at 7:51 am

    History has been made. And now what is the future of abortion in America? Will he, as he said he would, sign the Freedom of Choice Act? If so, all the hard work that went into parental notification, partial birth laws, etc will all be undone. God help us!

    Reply
  • 12. Pam  |  November 5, 2008 at 8:05 am

    That sums up my thoughts.
    I’m not American and I live in a country that has legalized abortion for a long time now (still horrific) but I couldn’t help but be amazed that I had witnessed a historic moment. I also think that there are other horrible injustices that have been tolerated by christian Americans for way too long but somehow I’m confused as to why those issues get so little attention in christian circles. People still look to the U.S. for a christian example and I must say one of my greatest obstacles in sharing the gospel is the negative image portrayed by the American Christian right (of course not everyone, but many of the most vocal ones). It’s sad…

    Reply
  • 13. Courtney  |  November 5, 2008 at 8:18 am

    MamaD summed up my thoughts quite well. I don’t care what color his skin is. I have siblings who are black, white and Asian, I don’t even notice color. What I do notice is a murderer. I think that a murderer makes a downright awful role model for everyone. Praying fervently that God would melt his heart and save his soul.

    Reply
  • 14. RaJen  |  November 5, 2008 at 8:52 am

    i’m speechless at the comments above

    Reply
  • 15. Amber  |  November 5, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Yes, a historic moment. In 100 years we can look back on this as the day free market capitalism took it’s dying breath. *sigh*

    Reply
  • 16. Staci at Writing and Living  |  November 5, 2008 at 9:01 am

    I agree.

    Reply
  • 17. gretchen  |  November 5, 2008 at 9:04 am

    Well said, Molly. I don’t understand why more conservative Christians don’t recognize and celebrate the strides our country has made. It’s a proud moment for our nation.

    Reply
  • 18. Julie  |  November 5, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Racial issues are so deep in this country – even in 2008.

    And up until a few years ago. I had no clue. I grew up in the suburbs of Ohio, and knew no different race or culture until my 20’s came along.

    I now work with youth in the inner city.

    I don’t agree with his politics. However, to have the first African American President elected last night – and then to go into work today to a community where everyday these children pass a mass burial site for “blacks” from the hurricanes of 1928 where hundreds of bodies were just dumped….. I think that his election could give them a tangible hope that they have a chance in this country.

    I have young children tell me that they are dumb, they have no expectation of getting married or even finishing school let alone college, statistics tell us that more will end up either pregnant, in prison, or dead rather than complete high school.

    I couldn’t help but see the face of one of my kids on Barack Obama last night.

    My feelings are just so torn today – on one hand I am glad that these children have a story of someone they can relate to in office.

    On the other hand, I am so very grieved that it is a man that beyond the color of his skin, and the circumstances of his life, goes against Biblical Principles we try to teach these kids.

    Obama is not our Messiah.
    He is not their hope.

    In God we do NOT trust – Mark Driscoll
    http://theresurgence.com/in_god_we_do_not_trust

    Reply
  • 19. RaJen  |  November 5, 2008 at 9:31 am

    In a letter by Thomas Jefferson, regarding the establishment of the First Amendment of The Constitution of The United States, principles upon which this great nation was founded: “… no man shall be compelled to frequent or support any religious worship, place, or ministry whatsoever, nor shall be enforced, restrained, molested, or burthened in his body or goods, nor shall otherwise suffer on account of his religious opinions or belief; but that all men shall be free to profess, and by argument to maintain, their opinion in matters of religion, and that the same shall in no wise diminish enlarge, or affect their civil capacities.”

    Reply
  • 20. RaJen  |  November 5, 2008 at 9:32 am

    and further, he stated: “”Believing with you that religion is a matter which lies solely between Man & his God, that he owes account to none other for his faith or his worship, that the legitimate powers of government reach actions only, & not opinions, I contemplate with sovereign reverence that act of the whole American people which declared that their legislature should “make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof,” thus building a wall of separation between Church & State.”

    Reply
  • 21. Molly Piper  |  November 5, 2008 at 10:14 am

    While I understand peoples’ disappointment in this result, and I share in it regarding such issues as abortion and socialization of government, I think it’s still possible to marvel at some aspects of his victory.

    Reply
  • 22. Jen D  |  November 5, 2008 at 10:32 am

    I agree and I was thinking the exact same thing…way too late last night! Regardless of my political beliefs and the dissapointment of not seeing who I voted for win, it was amazing to think about the change that has occured in our countrly in less than 50 years that has allowed for an African-American to become president. Actually, I think it is quite amazing…and can only be attributed to God. God does have a purpose in Obama’s presidency and although I also do not share in Obama’s views regarding abortion and socialization, I do not think those differences in view limits God to using Obama for His purposes and plan.

    Reply
  • 23. Katrina  |  November 5, 2008 at 10:43 am

    We cannot ignore what an African American president means to others who share his skin color…I am sincerely excited for my American brothers and sisters for that reason.
    With that said…with all the statements above (above this comment)…God still saw fit to have our next president be Barack Obama. I will honor him with my respect and prayers.
    God wasn’t sleeping when he was chosen. Whether or not I voted for him or agree.
    And, as far as depravity goes…I am depraved, yet, God gave me children to raise and a husband to serve. I’m not qualified for any of the privileges God gives me in my life and I certainly don’t deserve salvation–but I am thankful for it.

    Reply
  • 24. Lesley  |  November 5, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    I understand that the first African American elected as President is historic…but, a man should not be judged based on the color of his skin but on the content of his character. When I think of his character…it makes me sad. But I have been convicted to pray for Mr. Obama DAILY…that he trust Christ as his Lord and Savior and surrender his life to do the will of the Lord. Christians…please join me. God can do anything…what more important prayer could you have for our president…

    Reply
  • 25. amandaginn  |  November 5, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Thank you for this post and your comment, Molly.

    Reply
  • 26. Maddy  |  November 5, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Very historic! Thanks for helping others see that as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


