From under the covers I emerge

November 12, 2008 at 8:46 pm 22 comments

Beware of the fall cold. Whatever it takes to avoid it—incessant hand-washing, refusing to shake others’ hands, never leaving your house—do it.

I started feeling a little achy and tired on Wednesday last week. No big deal, I figured. Then Thursday I had a fever and my head felt like it was in a vice and my throat felt insanely swollen. Started drinking Thera-flu (my cold remedy of choice, but only the lemon flavor).

I actually went to urgent care on Saturday morning because I saw white patches on my tonsils and freaked out. I thought for sure it was the dreaded strep throat. And I was nervous that I’d give it to Morrow, since we’re kind of hanging out in close quarters on a regular, three-hour basis.

But the strep test was negative—thank God!

Basically I just had one heck of a cold. It’s still hanging on, sadly. And it also passed itself onto my immuno-rockstar husband, which was a huge shock. When you have a husband who never gets sick, you know it’s bad when 1. he actually admits that he’s sick and 2. he takes a sick day.

I think this is the worst sickness I can remember since sophomore year of college, when I got adult croup. I’ll never forget my dear friend Niccole applying ice-cold compresses to my body all through the night while I hallucinated with fever. That’s a serious friend.

I’m finally emerging and feeling a little better each day. But take my advice here, friends. Arm thyself with hand sanitizer and apply it liberally to you and yours.

Entry filed under: Life.

Books on stillbirth and miscarriage Beyond Presents, Food, and Endless Events

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leslie  |  November 12, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    The other day I bought a small can of Lysol — they make it in travel size now. Fits in my purse. I haven’t used it yet. I’m thinking it may come in handy in a public restroom. I’m not a germophobe. I’m a sucker for anything smallish.

    Have you ever tried Zicam? I’ve heard it’s great if you use it at the first sign of cold symptoms.

    Glad you’re on the mend!!

    And since Abe’s feeling flu-ey — have you seen “Man-Cold?” It’s hard to gauge someone’s sense of humor from a blog, but you may get a laugh from it. I did. I hope your little men stay healthy!

    Reply
  • 2. Leslie  |  November 12, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    In case I misspelled Zicam, try Zycam. I don’t know which is correct. All these made up words and trendy spellings confuse me.

    Reply
  • 3. laura  |  November 12, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Ugh I’m with ya! I just got a nasty stomach virus, recovered for 2 days then woke up with this yucky cold. On top of that I am 19weeks pregnant….fun times 🙂 Hope you are feeling better soon and that the bug stops here!

    Reply
  • 4. Jennifer S  |  November 12, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Awww… so sorry you were feeling so bad. I haven’t had a cold like that in forever and certainly wouldn’t wish it on anyone, much less a new mom!

    Reply
  • 5. crystal bowers  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    i’m a big fan of zicam too! the kind you put up your nose.

    and sleep.

    but i suppose that’s a tad hard with a little babe.

    and i’ve seen that man-cold clip before. makes me chuckle much.

    Reply
  • 6. Chelsea Bass  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Sorry to hear that. Perhaps someone already suggested it, but have you tried the Neti Pot?

    Reply
  • 7. Molly Piper  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    Chelsea,

    I have tried a Neti Pot once, but normally just opt for nasal irrigation with a syringe. It’s so gross, yet effective.

    Reply
  • 8. kari  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    I have never commented here before, but I can’t believe there’s someone else in this world that uses lemon Thera-flu as their go-to drug! I love/hate it! I usually make it with half the water it calls for so it doesn’t take me as long to drink (this is the hate part of our relationship), but it ALWAYS works for me (and this….this is the love).

    Reply
  • 9. shawnda  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    oh yikes!!! Advice strongly taken!! So sorry it’s been rough, and so thankful you are getting better!!!

    Reply
  • 10. Lori  |  November 13, 2008 at 2:07 am

    I sure hope you get better soon. It is so hard when you get sick as “mom” because you can’t take a sick day, right?

    Reply
  • 11. Rachel  |  November 13, 2008 at 7:09 am

    the hardest thing is when you get it and have no idea where it came from. I think mine just came from an immunity weakness from being so stressed and so tired. I don’t know anyone that had it before me, but i heard of many who had it after.

    Reply
  • 12. Chris  |  November 13, 2008 at 7:18 am

    I hope you are all well very soon!

    Another tip for trying to stay healthy:

    When you have to sign any papers in public–say, at the doctor’s office, signing a credit card slip at check out, or anything like that, BE SURE TO CARRY YOUR OWN PEN AND USE IT TO SIGN THINGS.

    That way you don’t have to touch the pen that all kinds of possibly sick people have been using all day.

    Reply
  • 13. Stephanie  |  November 13, 2008 at 8:14 am

    I’m an in love with hand sanitizer…..!!

    take care of yourself, molly!

    Reply
  • 14. RaJen  |  November 13, 2008 at 10:13 am

    not fun at all. I am experiencing same in my household, a seemingly continuous cycle of congestion and colds working it’s way from my 7 month old son, to me, to their other mother, to our son’s twin sister. Then healthy for a couple days, then start over.

    Reply
  • 15. Jessie from Columbus  |  November 13, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Cheers for TheraFlu, and for rest! Here’s hoping that you recover quickly. Love your blog.

    Reply
  • 16. MrsMK  |  November 13, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Glad it wasn’t strep! I’m sorry it’s been so rough for you….praying for your little ones to stay healthy!

    Reply
  • 17. Marny  |  November 13, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    Get better soon!!!

    Reply
  • 18. Margaret Vanderford  |  November 13, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    I’m glad you’re feeling better! I’ve been sick all week on our first vacation in a year (if you don’t count maternity leave). Are you guys doing ‘BabyWise’? It sounds like it from your 3 hour remark, but if not, I HIGHLY recommend the book ‘On Becoming Babywise’ It’s a pretty short book, but it’s the only book we read before baby and it was such a blessing. I recommend it to anyone who has or is about to have a baby. Of course we’re first time parents, so since you’ve already been through the baby stage it’s probably a less critical read.

    Reply
  • 19. melissa mailly  |  November 14, 2008 at 9:33 am

    NOOOO!! I read this post a day too late. Last night the slight achiness blossomed into full-blown fever, raging headache and sore throat. And all night the baby was struggling with a stuffy nose and croupy cough.

    Live and learn, though. I’m buying hand sanitizer by the pallet now and not touching anything that any other person might have touched. Kind of “What About Bob”-like.

    Hope your littlest one stays healthy. It’s hard to nurse with a stuffy little nose!

    Reply
  • 20. Christy Tennant  |  November 16, 2008 at 11:06 am

    I’m so with you, Molly. I never get sick. Maybe one cold a year, but I am of the “push through” stock. But this past week, for the past 9 days, I’ve been SICK. Started with the sore throat/achiness 2 Fridays ago. I was scheduled to lead worship for a women’s retreat in the mountains, so I “pushed through” and fulfilled my commitment. Then, I proceeded to take not one, not two, but FOUR sick days as I coped with strep throat and bronchitis. The strep is gone (thanks to antibiotics), but the bronchitis remains. I went to church this morning and my pastor’s wife prayed for me (as I was hacking away) and then gently sent me home about 20 minutes into the service with the admonition “you belong in bed.”

    Well, I’m sitting at my computer. But I am in my P.J.’s. The service will probably be over in about 30 minutes.

    Hope you’re better and back in action soon. (And me too!)

    Christy

    Reply
  • 21. Jesse Hines  |  November 16, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    I’m getting over a cold myself.

    My approach: drink lots of tea, both hot and cold, both red and green. Plenty of water. Gotta stay hydrated. And get plenty of sleep.

    It’s working.

    I try to avoid taking any medication whenever possible. I hate side effects.

    Get well.

    Reply
  • 22. Pam Elmore  |  January 12, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Just found your blog through Rocks in My Dryer.

    Had to comment on the sheer genius of the phrase “immuno-rockstar husband.” Genius!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


