And the winner is…

November 30, 2008 at 12:40 pm 4 comments

Casey Zachary!

Casey is one of my male readers (way to represent!). He entered the contest to win the nursing cover for his wife—what a good guy!

Casey was kind enough to provide a little information about himself and his family that I found very interesting and thought you might find it cool too.

He provided a link to his sisters’ blog, nurses who are “kicking butt” in Haiti.

About himself he said:

I am currently a stay at home pops/ part time seminary student. My wife and I live in Seattle where she is completing her residency in internal medicine, after which we plan to head to Haiti and love on some Haitians ourselves… for as long as we both shall live.

I found his family’s interest in Haiti particularly compelling after having read an Associated Press article about Haiti last week. (via Shawnda)

Sometimes when I read articles like this and see pictures of starving children, my reaction is to turn off emotionally, because it just seems like too much—the need is so overwhelming.

I’m thankful to be able to put names and faces to people who are rising to the challenge. It’s inspiring, and it brings me to a place where I can pray, think about how we can be involved, etc.

So congrats, Casey, and God bless you and your family in the work you’re doing!

Entry filed under: Giveaway.

What makes it a special Thanksgiving meal for you? If I don’t learn…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. watchingthewaters  |  November 30, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Yay Casey! We’ve been following Lori & Licia and your Dad for several years now and are so, so proud of the work they are doing in Haiti. We are anxious for your whole family to be together again, and happy for you that you won this contest!

    Reply
  • 2. Tina  |  December 1, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    Very happy for the winner, even though I really wanted that awesome cover!

    When I read the story, I was even happier! Congrtulations Casey

    Reply
  • 3. jennapants  |  December 1, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    congrats to casey. great blog, too.

    Reply
  • 4. robyn  |  December 2, 2008 at 7:43 am

    What a neat story!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


