If I don’t learn…

December 3, 2008 at 12:07 pm 18 comments

We’ve been battling with Orison putting his hands in his mouth a lot lately. It’s a funny little habit he’s gotten into, at just the right time of the year (flu and cold season!).

Needless to say, we’ve been trying different things to help him remember to keep his hands out of his mouth. Recently Abraham taught him a little (kind of) rhyme to help solidify the concept:

“If I don’t learn, I’m gonna get a worm.”

We’ll see if a worm is an effective enough threat.

Entry filed under: Family, Fun, Orison.

And the winner is… Taking Paper Snowflakes to the Next Level

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Greta  |  December 3, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Mmmm, tasty.

    Reply
  • 2. Matt  |  December 3, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Hmm, I hope he doesn’t take that as an incentive, as in the nursery rhyme. “Hush, little baby, don’t say a word, daddy’s going to buy you a long tapeworm.”

    Reply
  • 3. Barnabas  |  December 3, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    You could always go with “If I don’t learn, my mouth’s gonna burn” and then follow up the threat with tabasco or something.

    Reply
  • 4. Tiffany  |  December 3, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    that’s tough. jeneva still sucks her thumb. yes, she’s 5. she does it when she’s tired. i think she has a really good immune system though. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Lori  |  December 3, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    That is so funny! I was just explaining the passing of germs to my girls from India who have never had the winter etiquette talk let alone knew what germs were. You know the list – how to cough in your arm, cover your mouth with a tissue when you sneeze, wash your hands often, don’t drink from someone else’s glass. (They are too old to be putting their hands in their mouth.)

    I just love these girls because they sit there in rapt attention and hang on my every word and instantly believe what I say and desire to obey me. It is wonderful and amazing and I am enjoying every minute of it. Believe me, my bio kids rarely followed my advice and probably thought I was a little cracked to even propose such nonsense. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Shannon Archer  |  December 3, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    In regard to the sucking the thumb and getting sick thing…the healthiest member of our family is my son who sucks his thumb…often.

    Reply
  • 7. Mrs. Erven  |  December 3, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Ha! I’m quite amused. 🙂 I’m 25, and I still bite my nails and put my hands to my mouth when I’m nervous. If you can, please, stop him now! :O

    Reply
  • 8. J. Evans  |  December 3, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    I’m dying laughing. Abraham and Shannon both crack me up.

    This is funny. You could google photos of tape worms… just kidding!!! That would be horrible.

    Reply
  • 9. Kristy  |  December 4, 2008 at 6:38 am

    That is funny! I could totally see my husband making up a similar rhyme. Only a daddy!

    Reply
  • 10. aaron  |  December 4, 2008 at 8:04 am

    Eli had a huge problem with that. He would just jam that whole thing in there. Oddly enough, when we stopped letting it bother us, he stopped. Wish it was like that with everything with kids.

    Reply
  • 11. Debby  |  December 4, 2008 at 8:27 am

    I like that! We’re having a similar experience with David. But we’re also having to teach him that his saliva is not lotion 🙂 Do you have a rhyme for that?

    Reply
  • 12. Stacey  |  December 4, 2008 at 9:37 am

    Little boys ALWAYS have their hands in their mouth….get used to it.

    Trust me on the worm thing…….not a good idea. Those were tactics my grandmother birtciel used on us kids and I grew up scared and needing therapy. Save yourself some money in the end…….slap on some hand sanitizer and let him shove his fist in his mouth. A pediatric cold is cheaper to treat than a lifetime of therapy hahahahaha.

    Reply
  • 13. Matt  |  December 4, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Don’t use your spit to moisturize,
    Germs can make you sick and die.

    Reply
  • 14. Stacey  |  December 4, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Plus I am proof in the pudding………I bite my nails….ALL THE TIME. I am 38 and have bit them forever. I NEVER HAVE THE FLU, NEVER HAVE A COLD, HAVEN’T HAD AN ANTIOBIOTIC IN OVER 4 YEARS. So there………Orison you can come to my house and play tonsil hockey with your fingers anytime hehehehehe.

    Reply
  • 15. Kelly @ Love Well  |  December 4, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Didn’t someone say that during the OJ trial?

    Reply
  • 16. Victoria  |  December 5, 2008 at 12:09 am

    Unless he’s CRAZY about washing his hands, you could try this:

    Tell him that whenever you see him with his hands in his mouth you’re going to have him stop what he’s doing and wash his hands. It won’t be easy, but try to be consistent with it. My guess is that after a while, he’d rather keep his hands out of his mouth than have to stop whatever he’s in the middle of in order to wash his hands all the time!

    Keep trying, it’s more than worth it!

    Reply
  • 17. Ellie  |  December 8, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Another thought – look in his mouth. Is he cutting a molar back there? My sons would have their hands in their mouths more when a new tooth was coming in. Instead of just trying to keep the hand out, I used teething gel and taught him to try rubbing the tooth with his tongue instead.

    Sometimes when we see behaviors, the obvious escapes us. It escaped me until my son was ten and telling me that he puts his fingers in his mouth because his gums hurt…. sure enough, a look inside, and a molar was growing in!

    Reply
  • 18. Christopher  |  December 11, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    I am a medical student who is currently studying worms in Micro right now. Yeah, depending on where his hands have been, on who they have been, and on what they have been, he could get a worm. Google “ascaris” or “schistosome” or “hookworm”, pictures of these may be traumatic to a 4 year old, but then again they may keep his hands out of his mouth.

    Yeah…on second thought the story may change from the red-eyed rhino to the evil tapeworm in my bed…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


