Taking Paper Snowflakes to the Next Level

December 4, 2008 at 12:22 am 31 comments

I just watched this short video on how to make awesome looking paper snowflakes! I’m totally not artistic, so I’m always looking for easy ideas that I might actually have success with.

If I get around to this, I’ll post some pictures of how they turn out! If you get around to it, make sure you blog about it and show me!

(via Modish)

Entry filed under: Crafts.

If I don’t learn… How to Fold a Fitted Sheet: A Video Tutorial

31 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  December 4, 2008 at 7:13 am

    Oh we are going to do this today!!

    My 3 1/2 year old just watched the video and now he’s yelling, ‘Paper, we need some paper. Where are you paper? Mom we need some paper!”

    Maybe we’ll do it this morning!

    Reply
    • 2. Sarah  |  December 10, 2009 at 10:09 pm

      OMG! That’s so cuute.

      Reply
  • 3. Marlene  |  December 4, 2008 at 7:21 am

    We are definitely going to be making snowflakes today! Thanks for posting this video. Love your blog BTW!

    Reply
  • 4. rachel  |  December 4, 2008 at 7:40 am

    This is how I’ve made paper snowflakes for hte last few years. It really works awesome! They turn out so perfect and really interesting. People are always like “woah, i can’t believe you made those!”

    Reply
  • 5. robyn  |  December 4, 2008 at 8:02 am

    love it!

    Reply
  • 6. Heather  |  December 4, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Okay…that is super easy! Mine are resting under my husband’s ESV study bible…anyone who has one knows how HEAVY they are 😉 I’ll post pictures later on my blog.

    Reply
    • 7. Juliet  |  December 6, 2009 at 4:38 pm

      Haha, I know! I get my workout just carrying that Bible around at church!

      Reply
  • 8. jennapants  |  December 4, 2008 at 9:19 am

    yes! it IS all in how you fold it. once i get started, i am ADDICTED to making snowflakes for a few days. i stick them all over my windows where they stay for a good five months…because i live in minneSNOWta

    Reply
  • 9. Stacey  |  December 4, 2008 at 10:47 am

    BTW…I made those &*&^%$) or should say I TRIED TO MAKE THOSE (**&^%$) Paper Cranes that were a kit in Pottery Barn. Lord Have Mercy…………you have to have a Black Belt in Origami to make a Paper Crane People………..I turned mine into Swans instead………much easier.

    Reply
    • 10. j.d. stegall  |  December 30, 2009 at 12:42 am

      good stuff maybe i can get the girls to check this out

      Reply
  • 11. Mrs. Erven  |  December 4, 2008 at 11:22 am

    My first graders will be following the video along today. We’ll see how it goes!

    Reply
  • 12. Abbie  |  December 4, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    Looks very fun! We’ll have to try this.

    Reply
  • 13. Susan  |  December 4, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Love love love this video! Thanks for sharing- can’t wait till the kids wake up from nap to get cutting!

    Just found your blog today and have been so blessed by your openness and vulnerability in sharing your story. You are one gifted writer, as well!

    Reply
  • 14. Jan  |  December 4, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    Molly, part of why these turn out so nice is that real snowflakes are actually six-sided – all of them. That’s the way God made them.

    Maybe I will have to try these with the Jones girls. Thanks for posting.

    Reply
  • 15. Elizabeth Esther  |  December 4, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    oooooooo! I’m adding this to next week’s advent calendar! “Make snowflakes with Mommy! Watch Molly’s video first!” LOL.

    I’ll let you know when I blog it. So fun! Thank you, Molly!

    Reply
  • 16. Ali  |  December 4, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    Oh, wish I could make paper snowflakes and still look like a sensible human being – people who display snow features for Christmas look like crazy people down here in Australia (but for some ridiculous reason most of us still push on with roast turkey and hot pudding – then we all flake out in front of the air-conditioner for the afternoon. I think snow would be much more fun!).

    Reply
  • 17. Stephanie  |  December 4, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Well, I didn’t make snowflakes, but you did inspire me to find a you tube video on oragami angels and birds!

    Reply
  • 18. Maggie  |  December 5, 2008 at 12:13 am

    This is great! We’ll have fun making and stringing up snowflakes tomorrow. Many thanks!

    Reply
  • 19. Tiffany  |  December 5, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    oh my! i love it! me and jeneva are off to make some amazing snow flakes RIGHT NOW!!!

    Reply
  • 20. Barb Romanowicz  |  December 5, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    I enjoyed the snowflake demo! I’m going to try it and wow my friends. They’ll just think that I’m an old pro! (emphasis on old!) Love you!!

    Reply
  • 21. ruthanneclare  |  December 6, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    just left you a message on your contact page about this.

    Reply
  • 22. carissa  |  December 7, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    i totally tried it to help decorate a guys’ dorm for a christmas party. at first, the snowflakes came out nice and neat but boring (my fault). eventually i figured out how to make them more intricate (don’t be afraid to cut a LOT away) and was quite pleased. :]

    Reply
  • 23. jennapants  |  December 7, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    it’s time molly. i want to see snowflake pictures.

    of course…i haven’t started making mine yet.

    but, i think i speak for all us molly stalkers–or shall i call us “mollkers”?–that we are ready to see your flakes!

    ❤
    jenna

    Reply
  • 24. jennapants  |  December 7, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    dang. i was hoping it would look like a real heart like on facebook

    : (

    Reply
  • 25. Lindsey  |  December 9, 2008 at 12:42 am

    I did this today with the 3 year old I nanny for, and it was a big hit! Well, AFTER I suggested we watch the proper folding techniques, which was met with a resounding “I can do it MYSELF” followed with frustration over crappy snowflakes and a mini-tantrum. Then everybody calmed down and we watched the video and followed it like civilized people with great success. They’re now hanging in the window.

    Reply
  • 26. Jessica  |  December 9, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    What a good idea – I wouldn’t have thought of folding the paper differently like that… I’m definitely going to try this out this year!

    My cousin is 17 and does super fancy, intricate, paper snowflakes. She doesn’t fold hers though… I can’t resist the urge to brag! Check them out: http://www.abarrelofbakers.com/Hannahsartwork.html

    Reply
  • 27. Lesley  |  December 10, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    Molly,

    My son and I LOVED doing this yesterday! My son has a hearing and vision loss and really enjoyed watching that video! We have some pretty sweet snowflakes to show for it too. It was so relaxing to sit and cut! Thanks for sharing.

    Lesley

    Reply
  • 28. kendra  |  December 10, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    I guess I was taught at a really early age how to do it right 🙂 I’ve never made square snowflakes, even in 2nd grade 🙂 Our first year of marriage we made a million and hung them from the popcorn ceiling with tacks and clear nylon thread and had a little wonderland!

    Reply
  • 29. jessicaauner  |  December 11, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    thank you so much for this video Mrs Piper. My sons and I cut out a stack of them and then took clear thread and clear tape and hung them at different lengths from the ceiling in the livingroom and foyer… Thank you so much, you made it snow in our house … in Georgia!

    Reply
  • 30. Melissa Williams  |  January 4, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Hey Molly,

    If you like making snowflakes, you might enjoy trying the 3-D variety. Directions can be found at:

    http://www.wikihow.com/Make-a-3D-Paper-Snowflake

    They’re a little time intensive, but pretty easy 🙂

    Reply
  • 31. Jennifer S  |  March 4, 2009 at 7:46 am

    So did you ever make these?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


