Happy 29th birthday, Abraham.

December 12, 2008 at 5:13 pm 12 comments

My husband turns 29 today. I don’t take it lightly anymore that for 29 years his body has functioned the way God intended it to—lungs breathing, kidneys filtering, brain firing. Sometimes I sit next to him and marvel at it. Both of us have all the parts we need to function, and they’re both working independently of each other, not run by any type of machinery—just these self-contained systems that work without us telling them to.

I know that at any moment just one of these things could be different: his lungs could stop breathing, his kidneys could stop filtering, his brain could stop firing all the neural signals and we would be changed. Forever changed.

Not only does his body keep working as it should, but there is a whole different dimension of humanity that makes us more than just Homo sapiens existing next to each other.

He has a heart.

He has emotions.

He has a soul.

And he’s chosen to share all of these things with me, another gift that I don’t take lightly. Here’s to another 29 (dare I ask for more?) together, Lord willing. I love you Abraham. Happy birthday.

Entry filed under: Family.

When I am afraid, I put my trust in Elton John. We’re moved (kind of)!

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kaysie  |  December 12, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    Aww… this is sweet. Happy Birthday to Abraham! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Kara Chupp  |  December 12, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    You share a birthday with our daughter Selah…we’ll remember to pray for you as we thank God for her time with us.

    Reply
  • 3. shawnda  |  December 13, 2008 at 12:56 am

    Happy birthday, Abraham!

    Reply
  • 4. casey zachary  |  December 13, 2008 at 2:03 am

    perhaps with each year comes more wisdom, so this year should be 29 words instead of 22.

    Reply
  • 5. Chris  |  December 13, 2008 at 7:21 am

    My husband has a kidney transplant, so this post speaks clearly to me. Every day is a gift…

    Happy Birthday, Abraham!

    Reply
  • 6. Heather  |  December 13, 2008 at 7:53 am

    Happy Birthday!

    Reply
  • 7. Vicky  |  December 13, 2008 at 8:26 am

    For those of us beyond 58 (29 + 29), daring to ask for another 29 seems rather shallow!

    Reply
  • 8. Jane  |  December 13, 2008 at 9:55 am

    Happy Birthday Abraham! And yes, I know what it’s like to be forever changed,as do you.

    Reply
  • 9. Stacey  |  December 13, 2008 at 10:38 am

    Happy Birthday Aber!!!

    Reply
  • 10. Nancy S  |  December 13, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Sobering thoughts.

    I also have them as I look at my husband (who has several health problems). I get great comfort remembering Colossians 1:17: that in Christ, ALL things hold together, including every living system in my husband’s body. Jesus will literally hold my husband together as long as it’s His pleasure to do so.

    And I don’t need to worry about the future, because The Lord is good and his love endures forever.

    Reply
  • 11. Katie @ Heart Gone Walking  |  December 17, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    This is why I love your blog. You have a wonderful way of expressing how and why we love and care for one another. Thanks for sharing your heart.

    Reply
  • 12. Stephen  |  December 31, 2008 at 10:35 am

    Happy belated birthday to Abraham! He shares a birthday with my little sister.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


