My friend’s in the news!

December 25, 2008 at 8:52 pm 13 comments

The Minneapolis Star Tribune ran an article today about my friend Dorothy and her family.

Why should you read it?

  • She has 10 children, 7 of whom are adopted. (If that alone doesn’t have you curious…)
  • She’s faithful to her calling to be a Christian in her neighborhood, loving her neighbor as herself.
  • She’s a nurturing mother to all her children.
  • She’s one of the most joyful people I know.

There’s also a beautiful slideshow you can view.

I’m thankful to know a woman like Dorothy. She’s taught me so much. I love you, Dorothy!

bodes

Entry filed under: Faith, Family.

We’re moved (kind of)! The best Christmas present I ever got.

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jane Swanson  |  December 25, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    It was a joy to view the Faith of this beautiful Family lived out in the slideshow and seen on their faces. Thank you for sharing about them. You are a blessed woman to have Dorothy for a friend.

    Reply
  • 2. Tina  |  December 25, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    I was so blessed by reading about Dorothy and her family, Molly. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  • 3. Debby  |  December 26, 2008 at 6:16 am

    I met Dorothy only once when I first moved to mpls almost 5 years ago (she took the time to take me, a complete stranger, to coffee & show me around town). I was stunned then and continue to be at the energy and joy and selflessness that God’s given her to love and serve her family. And many others.

    Love & Blessings to you,

    Debby

    Reply
  • 4. Kelly @ Love Well  |  December 26, 2008 at 8:00 am

    I saw that too, Molly. I read Dorothy’s blog when I can, so when I pulled up the Strib yesterday and saw the front page, I recognized the faces right away. What a great story. May God get the glory, and may people’s hearts be tendered toward the orphans who need homes.

    Reply
  • 5. Noel  |  December 26, 2008 at 8:52 am

    Great family. Great portrait.

    Don’t you want to hire the photographer who could get great faces on ALL those kids at one time!

    Reply
  • 6. Denita  |  December 26, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Oh what a wonderful family! They truly reflect the Son’s selfless, loving qualities. May they be forever richly blessed with His endless abundance!

    –Denita

    Reply
  • 7. Tara  |  December 26, 2008 at 10:43 am

    They remind me of my cousin Jason and his wife Janelle who are on the brink of adopting 5 foster children this year. They also have an infant of their own. The remarkable thing is, Janelle is 25 and Jason 28with six kids!!! They are amazing!

    Reply
  • 8. MrsMK  |  December 26, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Thanks for sharing this inspiration, Molly!!

    Reply
  • 9. Dorothy  |  December 26, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Thanks for the sweet words and encouragment – love you to pieces!
    d

    Reply
  • 10. Every year: new baby, new Bible! « Strengthened by Grace  |  December 27, 2008 at 7:01 am

    […] December 27, 2008 by strengthenedbygrace Our Sunday School class discussed James 1:26,27 last week about ministering to orphans.  Well, here’s a great, uplifting story! (HT: Molly Piper) […]

    Reply
  • 11. Amanda in TX  |  December 29, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing this story. What this family is doing has been on my own heart to do since I was a teenager. It is so wonderful to read about families that are actually thriving in the ministry of adoption to which God has called them. It encourages me to believe that the desire God has put on my heart is possible.

    Reply
  • 12. robyn  |  January 5, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    that is so amazing!! what a wonderful family. “If every church adopted one child there would be no more children in foster care” that is pretty inspiring. I often wonder about if we should adopt. Maybe someday. : )

    Reply
  • 13. Jeff Frazee  |  January 28, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    Praise God! It’s so good to see families obeying. I found your blog through your husbands… I’ll go vote to him right now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


