Boy Sweaters for My Knitting Audience

January 3, 2009 at 5:41 pm 30 comments

This summer I worked on sweaters for the boys to wear this fall and winter. I chose Berroco’s Comfort yarn in a variegated blue called Military Mix.

For Orison’s, I used Knitting Pure and Simple’s Children’s Neckdown Cardigan. This is a pattern you have to purchase, but it’s very good. It would be well worth your $4.

orison-sweater1

For Morrow, I chose a free pattern for a little ribbed jacket, since I wasn’t sure what size he’d be this fall and winter. I love this pattern too, and I was so pleased with how it turned out.

morrow-sweater1

Entry filed under: Crafts.

Extended Scripture Memory for Kids (and parents) The Holidays, 15 Months Later

30 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nikki  |  January 3, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    I don’t comment very often, but I have to say that those are absolutely beautiful! Great job! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Jennifer S  |  January 3, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    These are cute… I am impressed with your talent. My fingers can’t do this sort of thing. Where is Abraham’s sweater and photo?

    Reply
  • 3. Courtney T  |  January 3, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    I love it! The boys are getting so big and so cute!!!

    Reply
  • 4. jennylovesjohn  |  January 3, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    Good grief, that’s adorable!! The sweaters are just beautiful, but those boys are just too cute!! My husband and I LOVED the video of Orison quoting Luke 2. We, having 3 boys, loved the fidgeting! 🙂 🙂 You all are just a precious family!! Morrow is such a chunkster!!

    Reply
  • 5. linda  |  January 3, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    i like those large wooden buttons!!! thanks for sharing the knitting tips and for sharing such beautiful pictures of your boys! i just learned to knit this winter and i think i might try making a sweater for some cute kids at my church. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Dawn Becker  |  January 3, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    Those are incredible Molly! Beautiful.

    Reply
  • 7. Jess  |  January 3, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    This is so cute! I actually just learned to knit when I was with my mom over Christmas, I’m excited to try projects like these when I get more practice.

    Reply
  • 8. Hannah  |  January 3, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    I just bookmarked the same sweater as you made for Morrow yesterday–honest! So I ever post a picture of the completed project, I’m not copying you. 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Ashley Robbins  |  January 3, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Adorable! Impressive talent. I tried to knit a scarf once and it ended up all wiggly!

    Reply
  • 10. Crystal  |  January 3, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Oh, they look great. I haven’t had the attention span to knit an actual sweater yet, but I might have to check out these patterns.

    Reply
  • 11. Rita M.  |  January 3, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    awww too cute! man I still haven’t dared to knit sweaters :/ it frightens me for some reason…but these are great!

    Reply
  • 12. 66books365  |  January 3, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Very cute! I wish I knew you IRL so you could teach me how to do that!

    Reply
  • 13. Kate  |  January 3, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    outstanding!! and morrow is adorable. looking like daddy, i think!

    Reply
  • 14. Molly Piper  |  January 3, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    Yeah, Jennifer S, Abraham’s been hounding me for a sweater of his own, but baby sweaters are just so much faster! The thought of an adult sweater is a little too daunting right now.

    Reply
  • 15. Jane  |  January 4, 2009 at 9:15 am

    SO beautiful, Molly. You are very talented. I love the patterns and yarn that you chose.

    Reply
  • 16. steph  |  January 4, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    CUTE!!!!! I love these sweaters!!!! So SO cute!!

    Reply
  • 17. MrsMK  |  January 4, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    WOW!!! These sweaters are just perfect!!! What adorable boys you have to put in them, too!

    Reply
  • 18. Erin  |  January 4, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Those are beautiful – you are so talented! Your boys are also adorable. 🙂

    Reply
  • 19. Jennifer S  |  January 4, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    If you get started now you could have one done for next winter. 🙂

    Reply
  • 20. Kelsey  |  January 4, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    Oh those are so adorable!! I wish that I knew how to knit! That should be on my list of 2009 goals!

    Reply
  • 21. Caryn  |  January 4, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    Girl, those are too cute! I wish I knew how to knit!!!

    Reply
  • 22. stacey swanson  |  January 5, 2009 at 10:48 am

    Those turned out great Molly……..grandma-ma would be proud. Janae and I can’t knit a stitch.

    Reply
  • 23. robyn  |  January 5, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    they look sooooo adorable! good job!

    Morrow looks so big already! so cute.

    Reply
  • 24. Julia  |  January 5, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Hi Molly! I don’t know if you remember me from the Desiring God conference…I’m Jane Swanson’s daughter… but I just wanted to say ‘hi’ and happy new year, and I am totally envious of your knitting skills! 🙂 Your boys are beautiful! (I think I can get away with saying that at this age.. right? 🙂

    Reply
  • 25. Another Smith  |  January 5, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    I’ve just become part of your ‘knitting audience’ since my husband gave me knitting “stuff” for Christmas. I can’t imagine I’ll ever be able to do anything as amazing as those sweaters, but that is a great goal to set for myself. Very impressive!

    Reply
  • 26. Tracy  |  January 5, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Wow! I wish I could knit like that! Great job!

    Reply
  • 27. mamie  |  January 5, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    hi molly, i came over from rajen due to her post today. thank you for the way you shared what we who stand outside of the loss can do for our friends. i found out yesterday about the loss of a little one and found myself floundering, trying to figure out what to say that would ‘help’ though my heart knew that was not what was needed.

    it was also neat to click through here and find some knitting, i love both and the little guys look very handsome indeed. i am an obsessive knitter and am always on the look out for great pieces.

    Reply
  • 28. Melissa Parnell  |  January 5, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Molly, you never cease to amaze me with your knitting skills. very cute sweaters, but even cuter boys!

    as for a sweater for Abraham, you should knit him a smoking jacket! Jon is bringing back with him his great (dead) grandfathers smoking jacket. it is a little weird for me, but he is really excited about smoking his new pipe in his (new to him) smoking jacket.

    Reply
  • 29. Liz Holst  |  January 5, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    The sweaters are adorable Molly!! Well done! How easy is that one for Orison!!! I’m on my 4th one for baby gifts!! Happy knitting!

    Reply
  • 30. christen hill  |  January 6, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    cute! i’m way too impatient to knit. my son has a half knit blanket that he’s going to have to be satisfied with.

    morrow looks like our 4 month old, canaan! i guess they all look similar around this age, but they really do look alike i think!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


