Subscribers, win my favorite read of 2008!

January 10, 2009 at 10:58 am 61 comments

I have three copies of Leif Enger’s Peace Like a River that I want to give away to three of you!

Here’s how to win

1. Subscribe by email or RSS. (If you don’t know what RSS is, my husband can show you. It’s really easy.)
2. Contact me to let me know you’re a subscriber.
3. I’ll draw a winner on Wednesday, January 14th.

Bonus Entries!

If you refer a person to this blog and they subscribe, let me know. I’ll enter your name again each time you do it! (I’ll just be trusting you, so play fair. 🙂 )

Entry filed under: Books, Giveaway.

The Holidays, 15 Months Later Peace Like a River Winners!

61 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jonathan Parnell  |  January 10, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Melissa is reading it now, and I am too, sort of… well whenever I am in a certain proximity to her she wants to read me portions.

    Reply
  • 2. Gayle  |  January 10, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    I’m a subscriber and would love to read your favorite book.

    I hope you survived the holidays alright…….I understand the difficulty at holidays after losing a loved one.

    May your new year be better.

    Gayle

    Reply
  • 3. Cristina Hermann  |  January 10, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    I attend downtown and I’m a subscriber!

    Reply
  • 4. Rachel  |  January 10, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Just subscribed via email. Would love to add another book to my pile that I’m currently reading!

    Reply
  • 5. shari  |  January 10, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    I loved that book!

    Reply
  • 6. Karen  |  January 10, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Molly
    I have been a subscriber for many months. Your posts have alternatively made me cry or laugh out loud. I pray that this year holds more belly laughs than tears.
    Karen

    Reply
  • 7. Leah  |  January 10, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Molly-
    I have been a subscriber for a few months, and I count your renters (the “Carnells”) as some of my dearest friends! Thank you for your transparency, honesty, and faithfulness to the gospel as displayed in your blog. May you have a blessed 2009.

    Reply
  • 8. Cara Herzberg  |  January 10, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Oh I love love love this. Spread the love, share the joy. Lets start an Enger fan club! And did you buy all three of those?

    Reply
  • 9. Erin  |  January 10, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    I subscribed not too long ago, and love book recommendations. I appreciate your honest and authentic faith and real life that you write about here. So real and honest, it spurs me on. Thanks.
    Erin

    Reply
  • 10. Claire  |  January 10, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    I subscribed!

    Reply
  • 11. Pam  |  January 10, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    I subscribed!

    Reply
  • 12. Kate  |  January 10, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    Such a well-written book. Serious page-turner. And funny! I was literally howling over the one part… with the superintendent of the school… and the pilgrim hat? I had to read it aloud to my husband. Good gift!

    Reply
  • 13. laura  |  January 10, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    I’m subbing via RSS. (I just found your blog today)

    Reply
  • 14. Sarz  |  January 10, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    I started reading your blog a few weeks ago from a link at Abrahams – 22 words. Really enjoying it! My fav post so far has been the one with Orisons recitation of Luke 2. Your very encouraging and I appreciate your thoughts! Count me in I would love to read the book.

    Reply
  • 15. Kirstjen Pratt  |  January 10, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    I am a subscriber! Good ‘ole NetNewsWire!

    Reply
  • 16. Julie B.  |  January 10, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    Rec’d this book as a surprise gift from hubby…I think because I had the review up on it from DG on my computer one day. Look forward to reading it.

    Reply
  • 17. Michelle- This Ones' for the Girls  |  January 11, 2009 at 6:39 am

    I’ve been a subscriber for a long time! Does that still count? 🙂

    Reply
  • 18. Liz Holst  |  January 11, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Oh Molly – maybe I need to re-read this book. I just couldn’t wait for it to be finished!! Hope all your winners love it! 🙂 It was probably just me. Enger had been compared to Jon Hassler and that spoiled it for me – he didn’t come close!!

    Reply
  • 19. Debby  |  January 11, 2009 at 7:31 am

    What a great idea, Molly. I’m happy to be a subscriber to your blog via email (but may switch to a feed reader…it takes about a day to receive new posts via e-mail. Either way, I’m a subscriber, sister!). Love! Debby.

    Reply
  • 20. Paula  |  January 11, 2009 at 8:54 am

    I’m signed up! Thanks – this is a book that I’ve been wanting. Also, your openness is wonderful. I love how you write about the big mix that is life.

    Reply
  • 21. Amanda  |  January 11, 2009 at 10:01 am

    I’m a new subscriber…this sounds like a terrific book! Here’s hoping! 🙂

    Reply
  • 22. Jana (sidetrack'd)  |  January 11, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    This is one of my all-time favorite books! I think whoever wins these copies will be well pleased.

    Please don’t enter me in the drawing, we already own the book; just wanted to express how wonderful I think this book is!

    Reply
  • 23. amanda Lane  |  January 11, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    i’m a subscriber! i love this blog and i would love to receive this book! one of my new year’s resolutions was to read more books that aren’t cookbooks (i’m a little addicted, but that’s another issue!).

    Reply
  • 24. Deron Arnold  |  January 11, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    I think the giveaway is great. You and your husband seem to be very generous and friendly people.
    I don’t want to sign up for the book draw as I already have a full plate to read for this New Year and can’t guarantee that I would get to it. But thanks for offering.

    I have two boys about Orison’s age and I love hearing stories about him as well as your parenting experiences.

    Reply
  • 25. Elizabeth  |  January 11, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    I subscribed to the RSS about a month ago. Now I always know when to look for a new post. Our recent favorite is Orison’s recitation of Luke 2, my sons ask that I play it over and over again!

    Reply
  • 26. Kelsey Hill  |  January 12, 2009 at 1:53 am

    I’m a new subscriber, been reading Abraham’s 22 words blog for a while now, so it’s probably time to see things from his wife’s perspective. 🙂

    Reply
  • 27. Ellie  |  January 12, 2009 at 6:30 am

    I subscribed, at least I think I did it right….
    I am still trying to figure the system out.

    Reply
  • 28. Gina  |  January 12, 2009 at 7:40 am

    I’m already a subscriber! Thanks for a great drawing. 🙂

    Reply
  • 29. Jennifer  |  January 12, 2009 at 8:11 am

    Already a subscriber, because of 1) your posts on grieving, and 2) Orison being the funniest kid on the web.

    Reply
  • 30. Amy  |  January 12, 2009 at 8:20 am

    I stop over occasionally, but just now subscribed via Bloglines 🙂 and I’m in total agreement with the above commenter about Orison!

    Reply
  • 31. Kara  |  January 12, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Your blog shows up in my google reader – Does that mean I am a subscriber? I am pretty sure it does : ) And I could definately use a new novel.

    Reply
  • 32. Kristin  |  January 12, 2009 at 9:43 am

    put my name in the hat! I’m already a subscriber.

    Reply
  • 33. Heidi  |  January 12, 2009 at 9:48 am

    I’m a subscriber. My husband wanted this book for CHRIStmas and just maybe I can give it to him for his birthday instead. Thanks for serving all of us with your great blog!

    Reply
  • 34. Lindsey Knott  |  January 12, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Hello!! My name is Lindsey and I am a recent subscriber to your blog. I found out about it through friends of ours (Dave and Heather Castro) who attend Covenant Life Church in Gaithersburg Maryland. I’ve greatly enjoyed reading your posts and thank you for your dedication to the Savior. I would love to have any book or resource your willing to recommend and give away!! Thanks for doing this 🙂

    Reply
  • 35. Kelsey  |  January 12, 2009 at 11:07 am

    I am subscribed! I thought I already was…but I guess not? I am so new at this blogging thing! 🙂

    Reply
  • 36. katherine  |  January 12, 2009 at 11:19 am

    i subscribed. thanks for the chance to win! i love give-aways!

    Reply
  • 37. Kay Lynn  |  January 12, 2009 at 11:34 am

    I’ve been subscribing to your blog for several months now and I always look forward to new posts. It’s nice to know there are other young parents out there who struggle with the same things I do.

    Meanwhile, I would love to win a copy of that book because it is so so good. Loved it!

    Reply
  • 38. Courtney Pena  |  January 12, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    I am already a subscriber and love a good book!

    Reply
  • 39. jee  |  January 12, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    I subscribed!!! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 40. Daphne  |  January 12, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    I subscribe via RSS. 🙂 “Peace Like a River” is such an excellent book; I can’t say no to a chance of owning my own copy!

    Reply
  • 41. Angie  |  January 12, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now, but I hadn’t subscribed. What good incentive. 🙂 I’m subscribed now. Thanks for sharing your world.

    Reply
  • 42. jamsco  |  January 12, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    Okay, I’m a new subscriber. Thanks for the encouragement to finally do this.

    By the way, if I win, I will first hand it over to my wife to read. Jan 14th is her 40th birthday.

    Reply
  • 43. kartoone  |  January 12, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    I’ve just subscribed! Thanks for entering me! Looking forward to following your blog!

    Reply
  • 44. Michelle Mitchell  |  January 12, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    I’ve never heard of it before–I’ll have to look it up.

    Reply
  • 45. Jenn  |  January 12, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    I am a subscriber! I love, love, love your blog!

    Reply
  • 46. Tiffany  |  January 12, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    I’m a subscriber! I’d love to read your favorite book. Thank you for blogging. I truly enjoy reading your posts.

    Reply
  • 47. Heather Castro  |  January 12, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Hi Molly! I just recently subscribed…and I have been so blessed by your blog. We just lost our 5 week old little girl in November and I have been greatly served by your blog. Thank you for all your posts that have helped me in the grieving process. I’m grateful!

    Reply
  • 48. jamie  |  January 12, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    That is one of my favorite books! I am a subscriber and love your blog!

    Reply
  • 49. Michael Ochoa  |  January 12, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    I heard about this book, and actually have it on my amazon.com wish list. I just subscribed. My family likes your blog, especially the post from Orison reciting Luke 2. That was great. Keep it up, you family is a blessing to many.

    Reply
  • 50. Tracie Loux  |  January 13, 2009 at 8:51 am

    Hi Molly,
    Just added you to my reader! I’ve been reading you for awhile though now!
    Headed for Ukraine in 3 weeks to bring our sweet boy home! Would love to take this book with me!

    For permission to view my blog and follow our adoption journey, email me at tracieloux@gmail.com

    Blessings!

    Reply
  • 51. Beth  |  January 13, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Just subscribed. I read this over Christmas vacation on recommendations from your blogs, and don’t want to give it back to the library.

    Reply
  • 52. Amy  |  January 13, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Amy subscribes now, and would love to read the book!

    Reply
  • 53. Lindsay  |  January 13, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    Hi molly! I just subscribed although I have been a reader of your blog for several months now. Thankyou for sharing your journey with us. I am a NICU nurse, taking care of lots of little sick babies and your blog has been very helpful in knowing how to love on and minister to nicu parents. Grace and peace to your family..Lindsay

    Reply
  • 54. Katie  |  January 13, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Can I just say that I really loved this book as well! If you don’t win you should still go to the store and buy it. This man has a way of crafting art and feeling and hope in the way he strings his words together. And the story is good to boot!

    Reply
  • 55. Tammy Schindel  |  January 14, 2009 at 8:16 am

    I’ve subcribed! (I think…if I did it correctly) 🙂

    Reply
  • 56. Anna G  |  January 14, 2009 at 11:34 am

    I did it! I subscribed. Thanks for the helpful how to, I really needed that explanation. I have been curious about that whole RSS thing for a LONG time.

    Reply
  • 57. Deanna  |  January 14, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    I’m a subscriber and would love to be entered. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 58. Tricia  |  January 14, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    I just subscribed and would love to get my own copy instead of the library’s!

    Reply
  • 59. Jon W.  |  January 14, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    At Jenny Rigney’s recommendation I’m subscribing mostly to lengthen the other 58 commenter’s chance 🙂 (And b/c the book really interests me. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 60. greenchickadee  |  January 15, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Is it too late to sign up for the book. I’ve been hearing you rave about them for awhile now and I’d love to read it. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 61. Demian Farnworth  |  January 20, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Hey, I subscribe. But I don’t need the book. You’re husband’s right…it makes my feedreader a better place.

    Take care and thanks for writing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


