Did you watch the Super Bowl last night?

February 2, 2009 at 12:06 pm 24 comments

Being a native Pennsylvanian, I was excited that there was a western PA team in the game. From as far back as I can remember, the Steelers have been my dad’s football team.

My older sister learned to say “Pittsburgh Steelers Number One!” as early as she could put the words together intelligibly.

So I was happy with the outcome of the game, especially those last 20 minutes. It was a really good game!

But I have to say that I was disappointed with the way in which “my team” won. It seems like every other play someone was throwing a punch or kick, or there was an unnecessary roughness call. That made me sad. I want my team to demonstrate good sportsmanship while they’re winning.

Any observations from the game?

Entry filed under: Fun.

Abraham’s a blogging genius—go vote for him! Thanks God, for watching over a klutz like me.

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anita  |  February 2, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    The commercials were very toned down and there were more Pepsi and Coke commercials then beer commercials.

    Being from Missouri and being a huge Warner fan, my family rooted for the Cardinals. They almost won!!!

    oh…Bruce Springsteen! If a 59-year-old wants to bust out the power slide, more power to him. But, you know, maybe next time we should see if we can’t make sure that his crotch isn’t going to plow into a camera first.

    Reply
  • 2. carissa  |  February 2, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    haha. bruce springsteen.

    i usually watch the game, but this time i was too busy cooking/talking/playing with kids. plus my team lost in the wildcard game and i was bitter. i DID see #92 score that touchdown for pittsburgh, though. he looked like he was going to die afterwards, haha.

    Reply
  • 3. Molly Piper  |  February 2, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Anita,

    LOL!!!! I couldn’t agree MORE!!! It was horrific!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Molly Piper  |  February 2, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    We kept wondering aloud, “Is he drunk?”

    Reply
  • 5. Abraham Piper  |  February 2, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    I wasn’t wondering. I guarantee it.

    Reply
  • 6. Ebe  |  February 2, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Oh, I’m sorry I missed that.

    Hubs and I made sure we went online to see who won so he wouldn’t be completely behind the times at work today.
    And yes, we are white…and we like to tell people ‘we don’t have cable’ just for laughs.
    We also like outdoor activities and can’t survive without coffee, but I digress; I wonder if the half time show is online somewhere…

    Reply
  • 7. Melissa Parnell  |  February 2, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    i don’t know of a super bowl (besides this one) where the game was actually better than the commericals. I was very disappointed with the commericals, and the game was extremely good.

    My dad is a huge Steelers fan also. He used to taunt me that the Steelers QB, Kordell Stewart, was a better QB than my childhood crush, Troy Aikman. My dad still refers himself as ‘the bus’ in reference to Jerome Bettis. Needless to say, he called me before the game still taunting me and referencing himself as ‘the bus.’

    Reply
  • 8. Barnabas  |  February 2, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    As a point of defense for the Steelers, The Cardinals were the exceptionally chippy, dirty team in this game. Sure, Pittsburgh was a bit dirty themselves, but largely as a response to Arizona’s dirtiness. I don’t think you need to feel bad about the way they won. It was a fair and good game and a fair win.

    Reply
  • 9. Liz Holst  |  February 2, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Observations from this football loving household – growing up in MN I have NEVER been a Steelers fan. As I watched the game last night I was quickly reminded of why it is I have not been a fan – they play dirty!! You are right Molly – Barnabas – I totally disagree with you. Anders kept asking “Why do the Steelers keep punching people even when they’re already in a big pile?” That summed it up. IN SPITE of all that – it was at least an exciting game to watch. Ah…football!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Rachel  |  February 2, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    I was bummed! I wanted the Cardinals to win…mostly because I’m a Kurt Warner fan and they were the underdogs. It would’ve been exciting to see them win their first trip to the Super Bowl.

    That being said, I have to agree with the sportsmanship thing. There were so many yellow flags thrown, it was like watching a Raiders game.

    Oh well, they are passionate I guess.

    Reply
  • 11. Rachel  |  February 2, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    I also agree with Melissa about the commercials. Not impressed at all.

    Reply
  • 12. jennapants  |  February 2, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    wait. i just voted that i watched the game last night. but, i think i only watched for five minutes. anyway, it was a superbowl night at our pad.

    by the way, molly, avery woke up this morning wondering if he would be drafted out of college. (he’s 8 for those of you who don’t know him.) AND, i had to pick him up from school b/c a kink in his neck was SO painful and distracting. definitely a result of his stress last night. poor cardinals fan.

    Reply
  • 13. Zach Nielsen  |  February 2, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    These last two years have been the two best Super Bowls I have ever watched. Too bad for Kurt Warner. Wanted to see him get it done. What a great game though. So fun to watch.

    Here are my thoughts about the halftime show:

    http://takeyourvitaminz.blogspot.com/2009/02/boss-at-halftime.html

    Reply
  • 14. danielle  |  February 2, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    i really don’t like the steelers. my dad conditioned me not to…but my mom loves them (well…i think she started while we were in high school)

    i wasn’t surprised, because i feel like they usually play like that. they try to get away with things. i don’t know…they make me feel weird.

    a lot of the fans are annoying, too.

    Reply
  • 15. Nikki  |  February 2, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Yep, that was brutal to watch… I was reminded again and again why I so dislike the Steelers (and the Raiders, for that matter). And it seemed like Arizona got called for minor and/or nonexistent penalties, while Pitt got away with everything. #92 should have been thrown out of the game in the 4th quarter, for example!

    Can you tell I’m bitter? We were cheering for the Cardinals, but just because Kurt Warner is such a cool guy. 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. André  |  February 2, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Oh yeah, I watched. I was rooting a lot for the Steelers! (I’m not even American, and I’m not that into American football, but I have some friends from Pittsburgh, so…)

    What a game, what a game!

    Reply
  • 17. 'Guerite ~ BoldLion  |  February 2, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Yes! I did watch it with my wonderful Church family together for this Super Bowl. What a game to watch and a very close call at the end. I was shouting for my team to win and my friend were shouting for their teams to win too.
    I was pulling for Cardinals because they used to be St. Louis Cardinals which was my home for 7 school years. I am from NC. Most of my friends were pulling for Stealers.
    I don’t like commericals at all. We all did pause during the commericals times.
    I wish that the teams on both side would behave and not act like bad boys.
    I can’t wait to watch another one again and the Final Four in BasketBall games for the UNC-Carolina if they are in it again.
    Hungry to eat His Word,
    ‘Guerite ~ BoldLion

    Reply
  • 18. jamie  |  February 2, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    I don’t usually get into football as I don’t understand a lot of the plays, and didn’t start watching the game until into the 4th quarter, but loved what I saw. I was rooting for the Cards because I’m from STL and they were the team here when I was a kid, plus I love Kurt Warner. My favorite play was when Fitzgerald broke into that crazy sprint… cool stuff. I was surprised at how much I got into it.

    Reply
  • 19. Chris  |  February 2, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Although we’re from Western PA, our family rooted for the Cardinals. We are all fans of Kurt Warner. Each person in our family has a different favorite team. If none of our teams were playing, we would have been for the Steelers.

    I was also disappointment with the fighting/ unnecessary roughness. It seemed like whichever team was fighting to come back from behind and get ahead was the team to be called for this. I guess that’s a lesson on how easy it is to get carried away and hurt others when we’re trying to win or gain something for ourselves.

    Reply
  • 20. Melissa Parnell  |  February 2, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    oh, and molly, did you know that the all schools in PA were on a 2 hour delay because the Steelers won?! I heard it on the after-game talk.

    Reply
  • 21. Dabney  |  February 2, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    I, too, thought the steelers played dirty. We watched at a friend’s house and new to turn off the tv during the commercials, but thought we should have during some of the game as well! My 2 and 4 year old kept saying “that’s not nice”! Well stated!

    (BTW, I am a distant reader and have enjoyed reading your blog over the past few months! I think I found you through titus2talk).

    Reply
  • 22. Christopher  |  February 2, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Besides the fact of his crotch being shoved up in the camera lens, the one thing I am sure of is that I have no idea what he was saying when he was singing.

    Did any of y’all catch the fact that the roadie almost fumbled the catch on the telecaster (guitar) at the beginning. That would have topped off the half-time performance.

    Reply
  • 23. Angie  |  February 3, 2009 at 3:25 am

    My take is that the Steelers played well and rightfully won; however, their glory in their win was cheapened by their consistent unsportsmanlike conduct… and post-game arrogance. Such a contrast with teams like the Colts and Tony Dungee. Makes me sad.

    Reply
  • 24. catherine  |  February 4, 2009 at 1:39 am

    I think that’s a great point to make. More and more it seems like our teams, or sports heroes are the guys with the biggest punch and the greatest egos. I want some humility back in the game.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


