Thanks God, for watching over a klutz like me.

February 3, 2009 at 9:48 am 14 comments

Anyone who knows me well can tell you that I’m a klutz. I’m not well-known for my nimbleness in comportment. That doesn’t mean I’m not coordinated, though. I’m kind of a mixed bag.

It’s not uncommon (as in every other day or so) for me to spill something really annoying—sugar, a huge pitcher of water or juice, etc. But at the same time I’m pretty coordinated for sports. Weird, huh?

Perfect example of my predicament: I find myself regularly thanking God out loud while I’m preparing supper as he protects me from myself. Probably once a week I slice into one of my fingers, only to be stopped short at the last millisecond by those ever-helpful fingernails he gave me. “Thank you Jesus for fingernails!”

Yesterday I was able to marvel anew over one of the other body parts I take for granted all the time. I was walking out of a building, not paying attention (of course), and all of a sudden there was a major jolt in my gait. I had unknowingly negotiated a step.

BAM! I felt my spine absorb the shock. I swear I felt that reserve adrenaline in my body come up to the front lines.

And instead of collapsing into a crippled pile of bones and muscles, I just kept walking! As I walked the next few steps I thanked God for the intricacy of my spine—all those vertabrae and muscles and disks working together to cushion my klutziness. And the reflexes… even the klutziest among us has them! Incredible.

I don’t know about you, but instances like that remind me of how near God is to me all the time. Even when I’m not thinking about him, walking along cluelessly, he’s gracious to walk beside me and intervene for me—a protector, a guardian.

And more than that, all the time I’m not thinking about it, Jesus is making intercession for me with his Father, pleading that the wicked and clueless and rebellious be reconciled to God through the blood he shed on the cross. All the time saying, “Yeah, I know she doesn’t deserve it. But I love her—klutziness, cluelessness, rebelliousness, and all.”

Entry filed under: Faith, Spoutings.

Did you watch the Super Bowl last night? A Less Painful Exercise Solution: Community Ed!

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chelsea Bass  |  February 3, 2009 at 11:11 am

    I, too, am very clumsy, but not uncoordinated. It is an odd thing!

    Reply
  • 2. jennapants  |  February 3, 2009 at 11:48 am

    I, too, have thanked God for fingernails several times during food prep. I often thank God out loud when I’m driving. So many close calls.

    And, I’m a total klutz. My family called me “Grace” growing up because I have none when it comes to walking, eating, and so forth.

    I find that it feels more natural to thank God for the little things (like a parking spot, not the little things that are enormously valuable like adrenaline and fingernails), than to *ask* him for little things.

    Reply
  • 3. patty broberg  |  February 3, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    I thank God out loud all the time, too.

    Just a hint on the cutting your fingers that I just learned recently… when you’re cutting, you’re supposed to hold the item with your fingers in the shape of a “claw”… which basically means to hold it with your fingernails straight down into it, or even a little bent back in, so that the knife bumps your knuckles (in theory) instead of cutting a nail or finger. It’s a little awkward to learn, but it’s helped me lots!

    Reply
  • 4. Melissa Parnell  |  February 3, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    thanks for the reminder that even in our absent thoughts Christ is still working on our behalf. I can really overlook the simple and subtle ways in which God has protected me.

    jenna- my family calls me “Grace” too. I’m so accident prone!

    Reply
  • 5. Tabitha  |  February 3, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Beautiful! I am a major klutz, too, and this post is a great reminder to take notice of the little ways that God protects me day in and day out. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 6. Anie  |  February 3, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    amen from one klutz to another!

    p.s. my family calls me grace too!! hehe… i sense a theme.

    Reply
  • 7. Shannon Archer  |  February 3, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    I cannot WAIT to go to aerobics with you tonight and see if your theory holds up:-)

    Reply
  • 8. Sarz  |  February 3, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    Its like you are inside my head talking about me! Amazing isn’t it… for example He knew just how much I would need tough shin bones. Why am I always bashing them into something?

    Reply
  • 9. p  |  February 3, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    Definitely! Wow, thanks for writing this. I definitely realized how wonderful God had made our bodies after I temporarily lost some function that I had always taken for granted. Then, I realized how much I need Him even to live day to day. What a marvelous God we have!

    Reply
  • 10. Karla  |  February 3, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Amen! Thank you for that very timely reminder!

    My husband often sighs, in the other room, when I am working in the kitchen. “Oh, no…what did you break now?”

    Reply
  • 11. Ashlee  |  February 3, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Maybe you should get a Pampered Chef Hold’n’slice to protect your fingers.. you can use it to hold things down while you’re cutting so you don’t a) have to hold raw meat w/ your hands or b) cut your fingers. They’re pretty cheap. If you need to know where to get one, let me know (I’m a consultant). Maybe I should do a give-a-way on my blog for one or something! haha I’ll let you know if I do.

    Reply
  • 12. shawnda  |  February 3, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    Oh good! I’m not the only klutz! ; ) Only, I’m worse, I think!…b/c I actually take the fall : ) I don’t know if you heard about my fall down the stairs via facebook….yes….but glory to GOD that Micah was safe – I’m convinced the Lord kept that baby in my arms! If he would have fallen, I don’t think he’d be alive. That’s how bad it was! Praise God for His amazing protection indeed!!!

    By the way – I LOVE your new pic on your blog – soooooo cute! And the one of Morrow is precious! That is one cute kid! : )

    Reply
  • 13. Chris  |  February 3, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Those are good testimonies! Every day we all have so much to be thankful for. (I’m a klutz, too–but not coordinated in sports, unfortunately.)

    Be sure to be careful on the ice. Our dog Ginger gets the paper every morning. Every so often, on Sundays when the paper is really big, a little bit falls out of the bag that the paper gets delivered in. Last winter I didn’t see that the driveway was icy halfway down (it just didn’t show up at all). When I went out to get the rest of the paper, my feet slipped right out from under me and I hit my head really hard–just a little concussion they think–but my head hurt for months!

    I’m so glad I wasn’t in pj’s that day. Bill had to come out and pull me off the ice. It’s interesting because he is always reminding all of us to CLOSE THE DOOR when the weather is cold–even if we’re just running out for a minute–wanting to conserve heat. But that day I forgot to close the door. He said it was a good thing because if the door had been closed he would not have heard me cry out and I could have been lying there on the driveway for awhile.

    Reply
  • 14. Corrine  |  February 17, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Its completely reassuring to know there’s other klutz out there. Sometimes as I completely make a fool of myself for knocking something over or tripping over my own feet, I find myself wondering “does this only happen to me?!” So today I find myself thanking God that there are others out there who suffer from Klutzyness as well! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


