What I probably won’t be making for Valentine’s Day.

February 10, 2009 at 8:54 am 31 comments

In my delusions of homemaking grandeur, in which I am perfectly organized and endlessly motivated and nothing ever happens to derail me from my perfectly-laid plans, I imagine myself doing all kinds of things.

I have dreams of being a crafty woman. Everything I touch would turn beautiful.

Something about Valentine’s Day is pretty to me. I like the colors, I guess. Soft pinks, shades of red, all offset with some white… so pretty. Yeah, I know it’s a Hallmark holiday, but I like love. Love is good.

I’ve come across some Valentine’s Day projects in the past couple days that have me dreaming… that’s probably where it’ll end, though.

These are the ones that’ve caught my eye particularly:

Skill level: Easy

I think these heart doilies made out of napkins are adorable (via Martha Stewart, the one who inspires many of my delusions):

heart-doilies


Skill level: Intermediate

If I were a scrapbooker, another one of my grand delusions, I’d be all over these 3D paper decorations.

3d-heart

Skill level: Are-you-freakin’-kidding-me

All of this is made of cake. All of it. Not much more to say about that, except not gonna happen. Major props to Bakerella on this one.

heart-cake-bakerella

What are your favorite Valentine’s Day crafts? Nothing’s too remedial to share (trust me, I’m the world’s worst artist). But if you have mad skills you’ve been wanting to show the world, I promise I’ll still like you.

Happy crafting, whatever shape it takes this week!

Entry filed under: Crafts, Food, Fun.

Get Me to the Church on Time: Tips for Getting out of the House Happily on Sunday Mornings A Requirement-free Giveaway: Make Your Favorite Picture a Poster

31 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marla Taviano  |  February 10, 2009 at 9:06 am

    I saw that cake earlier this week. Amazing. I don’t have a crafty bone in my body. I’m doomed to admire everybody else’s brilliance from afar.

    Reply
  • 2. Jenna  |  February 10, 2009 at 9:23 am

    I love these little knit hearts from Mochimochiland: http://mochimochiland.com/weblog/2007/02/free-pattern-hearts/

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  February 10, 2009 at 9:51 am

    That cake thing is evil! I can’t stop thinking about it. I am 35 weeks pregnant…I think I have to go find cake to eat SOMEWHERE. Even a cake donut would be ok with me at this point.

    Reply
  • 4. Noel  |  February 10, 2009 at 10:01 am

    One missing fact with each of these.
    1. Skill Level: easy
    Time level: intermediate-high

    2. Skill level: intermediate
    Time level: high-extra high

    3. Skill level: whatever
    Time level: Is this your full time job?

    Reply
  • 5. Tabitha  |  February 10, 2009 at 10:17 am

    I haven’t done any Valentine’s Day crafts/gifts since I was a kid, but as this year is the first time I’ve ever had a boyfriend on V-Day, I’m giving it a go…with something reallllllly pathetically basic. I bought a 100-piece puzzle, put it together and flipped it upside-down. I’m going to write out a bunch of things I love about Joe on the back, then take it apart and put it in a box decorated all cheesy and saying, “I love you to pieces!” And just for kicks, I also bought a ton of Reese’s Pieces and put them in a jar (which I might also decorate if I’m feeling ambitious) for another “love you to pieces” theme. I’m all about the cheesiness, here.

    PS – That cake? Holy cow, it’s ridiculous!

    Reply
  • 6. Nikki  |  February 10, 2009 at 10:42 am

    Oooooh, I am full of crafty delusions, too. It’s funny, I just blogged about that yesterday. In my dream world I could sew, knit, make adorable jewelry, and be the world’s most amazing scrapbooker. And baker. I’d make all kinds of amazing Valentines goodies in all these mediums.

    In reality I was thinking of maybe making some heart shaped sugar cookies, frosting them with storebought icing and decorating them w/ some of the sprinkles that have been sititng in my pantry for 2+ years. Oh yes, and I am definitely thinking that the PIllsbury storebought dough might do the trick.

    Reply
  • 7. Amber  |  February 10, 2009 at 11:06 am

    OK, Tabitha’s ideas aren’t THAT cheesy – at least I don’t think so! 🙂

    That cake is amazing. I’m seriously impressed. I think I’ll go for the heart doilies. There’s more of a chance of those getting done. 😉

    Reply
  • 8. Kim  |  February 10, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Not so much “crafty” but two fun things — I put fun Valentine scrapbook paper in a few frames for an easy decoration. And I picked up paper valentine placemats at Target after Valentine’s Day two years ago that I label with each family member’s name and we all go around and write a “why I love you” on each person’s placemat.

    Reply
  • 9. Crystal  |  February 10, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Seriously. I think you’ve been reading my mind lately.

    I’ve come across a couple of things lately that I’ve thought about attempting. Like this mobile–only with paper:
    http://www.potterybarnkids.com/products/vd300/index.cfm?pkey=gthmoccval

    This necklace with the big kiddo because far-away grandmas love mail:
    http://jas.familyfun.go.com/crafts?page=CraftDisplay&craftid=12114

    And then these little pins are just so cute:
    http://www.purlbee.com/valentine-heart-pins/

    But, alas, in real life I’ll probably be doing great to help Jonathan label pre-made valentines for his friends.

    Reply
  • 10. beth  |  February 10, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    One year I did the old kindergarten “crayons-melted-with-an-iron-between-sheets-of-waxed-paper” in all shades of pinks and reds. Then I cut them into hearts of varying sizes and hung them in my window with thread so they were free floating. The light would shine through them and it had quite a pretty effect. (I’m sure I got the idea from Martha back in the 90’s…)

    Reply
  • 11. Lindsey  |  February 10, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    Chocolate molds! Yes, it sounds kind of old-school but I did it as a kid in the 80’s and now do it with the kids I nanny for. So it’s kid-friendly and requires no skill whatsoever. The chocolates (in different colors and flavors) and molds are at craft stores like Hobby Lobby and Michael’s. You can buy little heart molds, melt the chocolates in the microwave, spoon them in and stick them in the freezer. A few minutes later when they’re hard, flip the mold over and pop them out. Incredibly easy and they look fancy. Score!

    Reply
  • 12. jennapants  |  February 10, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    MOLLY!

    Those napkin/doilies look awesome!! I totally want to do them. Brent and I talked yesterday about Valentine’s Day.

    Me: You wanna do anything for Valentine’s Day?
    Brent: You mean like something other than getting Indian after the kids go to bed?
    Me: No. That’s a good idea.

    Aren’t you all so jealous over our romantic aspirations??? Maybe I’ll make some doilies to go under our Palak Paneer and Tikka Masala.

    Reply
  • 13. Melissa Parnell  |  February 10, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    the only thing homemade I would do for v-day is a card. nothing more than a folded piece of white paper with stick people, asymmetrical hearts, and my uneven handwriting.

    but even that seems to be unlikely.

    Reply
  • 14. Christine  |  February 10, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    I love how all Valentine Day crafts are very girly, really I do. But as a mom of boys I am trying to make them more up their alley. So, we haven’t done it but will later. I found some wooden cutouts of a train and a plane that are blank at the craft store (25 cents!) and some glitter glue sticks and foam heart stickers and will let them decorate their plane and train.

    Reply
  • 15. Em  |  February 10, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    LOL….. I did some serious drooling earlier this week over that cake, (and some Cookie/Brownie Combo that was on the same site).

    I think paper hearts might just be more my level, and must add that they probably won’t be too ‘heart shaped’ either.

    Reply
  • 16. Shannon Archer  |  February 10, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    I saw Andrea Tjarks make a heart cake one time by making half of the cake in a square pan and the other half in a circle pan. Then she cut the circle in half, turned the square cake like a diamond and added the half circles to the right and left sides on top…I know…so easy but still brilliant, right!?!? Maybe we will make a heart cake for the family, that’s probably it though.

    Reply
  • 17. Chris  |  February 10, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    I collect cookie cutters, and I found a set of four that spells love. There’s a L, a V, an E and a heart shape for the O. I’m hoping to make these by Saturday. If not, I’ll just put my pre-cut Pillsbury Dough Boy cookies in the oven. Everyone loves those, too:)

    Reply
  • 18. Jenni Naselli  |  February 10, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    This year I taped easel paper to the floor, poured red finger paint on it, and let my 8 month old go to town in it! 🙂 I got some cute handprints but mostly just lots of red smears. After the paint dried, I cut up her painting into heart shapes, wrote “Hand-Painted for You by Kara Marie – 8 mos” around the edges, and mailed them to the grandparents. It was easy and fun!

    Reply
  • 19. Jess  |  February 11, 2009 at 8:54 am

    I’ve been trying out a new “craft” –needle felting. It”s been fun! I made this pin for my sweet mother-in-law http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3496/3272187858_7d5261cb13_b.jpg
    see http://www.feltedflowers.weebly.com for others! It looks hard but it’s really not.

    Happy Valentine’s Day 🙂

    Reply
  • 20. krdugan  |  February 11, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Scroll down to the middle of this post (http://bakerella.blogspot.com/2009/02/easy-and-easier-valentine-treats.html) at Bakerella & there is a really easy & super cute Valentine treat!

    Reply
  • 21. jennifertobler  |  February 11, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    For my daughter and my husband, I made this: http://aliedwards.typepad.com/_a_/2008/01/post.html It wasn’t too hard… I was able to make it while watching TV!! It is cute and super sweet.

    Reply
  • 22. Tracy  |  February 12, 2009 at 2:40 am

    This February marks my husband’s 20th anniversary of being cancer free, so I am throwing him a surprise party on Valentines Day to celebrate what God has done in His life. But, I think I am with Noel regarding “time” so my grand delusions of making all the food for 20 people (plus kids) and still keep it a surprise has changed to others doing the cooking for me AND I’m asking everyone to bring a chocolate dessert. Since forestry is his background, I’m using tree seedlings to decorate. My kids are making Valentines Day cards for their friends out of construction paper–probably not a big deal to all of you in the US, but to a missionary, construction paper is a goldmine (smiles). I’d have better luck making those choclates out of cake then I would that pretty scrapbook paper heart—where would I get that here?

    Reply
  • 23. Em  |  February 12, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Why is it ‘special’ days creep up on you and take you by surprise? One minute you have loads of time to get organised, and so, inevitably you don’t. Then, all of a sudden the day is upon you, and you remain unorganised…with dreams of lovely Bakerella cakes, (OK I was never going to make that), in tatters on the floor.

    If I remember to buy a card I shall think I have done well……who says romance is dead? LOL

    Reply
  • 24. artsieandie  |  February 12, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Molly,
    This is unrelated to your topic (besides the fact that ALDI does have a small selection of pink and red treats right now). I don’t know which ALDI you go to, but I figured it’s the Franklin one. Have you tried the Lake Street one? Not a difficult drive and I’ve found it SO MUCH NICER with kids. The lines in the mornings when I go are never long. And, the store is just newer and cleaner. Thought you might want to know if you’d not tried it.

    Reply
  • 25. Ruth  |  February 12, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    I made these yesterday with a little friend of mine for all her friends and family….they are Super easy and Super fun!
    http://inchmark.squarespace.com/inchmark/2009/2/10/my-little-valentine.html

    Reply
  • 26. Sarah  |  February 13, 2009 at 12:37 am

    Hi!

    My kids and I made sparkly Borax crystal hearts to give as Valentines.
    They were fun, but making close to thirty of them was a bit much. Ten would have been much more fun.
    Here’s the link to my post about them:
    http://thoughtsfromthesecondfloor.blogspot.com/2009/02/valentines-day-project.html

    Reply
  • 27. Rachel  |  February 13, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    Okay, I love Bakerella, but that cake is out of control! I am definitely questioning the edibility of that box of chocolates.

    I think those heart doilies would be fun to try. I’ve always wanted to make those paper hearts out of recycled Christmas cards as a Christmas ornament. The “high-extra high” time commitment as Noel pointed out has so far deterred me.

    Ava and I love making Valentine’s day crafts together. One of her favorites is the heart sun catchers we made a few years ago (http://badgersontheloose.com/2007/02/07/i-wanna-do-more-crafds/). I pretty sure the craft came from an old issue of Martha Stewart Kids.

    This year we made a paper tissue heart wreath (http://badgersontheloose.com/2009/02/12/tulle-tissue-throat-tickles/) out of cardboard, glue and tissue. It was simple and not as time consuming as I anticipated.

    Hope your Valentine’s Day party at Orison’s school went well. 🙂

    Reply
  • 28. Rachel  |  February 13, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    I’m also pretty sure that I wrote: “I pretty sure”. Brilliant!

    Reply
  • 29. Mozi Esme's Mommy  |  February 15, 2009 at 1:37 am

    Those cakes are GORGEOUS! But I would never spend my time extravagantly like that – I value my “me” time too much! So my crafts are all things I do with my baby girl, these days, like stickers and rubber stamps…

    Reply
  • 30. andie  |  February 16, 2009 at 8:13 am

    I read you need some good donut shop references….. from Jenna’s blog.

    http://www.meloglaze.com/

    It’s near Lake Nokomis. You have to bring cash.

    Reply
  • 31. Beth  |  February 20, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    I love your blog….you are so real! I often feel so guily for falling short of my own standards….which are often “delusions of homemaking grandeur”!!!!! SO… the next time time I see that ‘whatever’ that I think I should be doing, I’ll think of my delusions and laugh instead, being thankful for who God made me to be…… an unorganized homemaker with beautiful projects that usually remain in my head!

    Blessings

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


