30til30: My favorite blog series from one of my favorite people.

March 23, 2009 at 11:22 am 12 comments

My best friend, Danielle, has been counting down on her blog to a very important milestone: her 30th birthday. She’s been writing a post each day for a month about a significant person/event/experience in her life that has shaped her. It’s sheer genius.

I’ve been meaning to link to this series for weeks now, but yesterday’s post about Felicity was especially powerful for Abraham and me, as we watched the 18-month mark of her death pass by. We spent time crying, talking, processing, reminiscing (as much as a bereaved brain can), and wondering about the future.

Danielle has loved me for as long as I can remember, and as the years have marched on, she’s just widened and expanded her love to include every new member of my family. She’s a sister, sister-in-law, and aunt around here. Her specific love for my daughter continually blesses me. She’s honored the life that Felicity lived, even if it was only in my womb. For this, I thank God. And I thank her.

Danielle, I love you more than I could ever express. Happy early birthday.

Entry filed under: Family, Felicity, Grief.

Saturday Snap Encomium to the Internet

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MrsMK  |  March 23, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    What a blessing! My sister is the same….and it really soothes my heart!

    Reply
  • 2. Andy Gammons  |  March 23, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Thanks for pointing to this post from your sister. Isn’t it weird to think that there are people all over the web that are walking this road with you. My family prayed for yours a year and a half ago. I have bee less than faithful in this. I prayed for you all again at my desk today. I am thankful that your weakness has pointed to God’s strength.

    Reply
  • 3. Ebe  |  March 23, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    That was so beautiful.

    I am sure she holds a special place in your heart for loving and grieving Felicity the way she does.

    Reply
  • 4. Angie  |  March 23, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Beautiful. Simply beautiful.

    Reply
  • 5. Kate  |  March 23, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    i was grieving with you. i love you all – Ab, Molly, Orison, Felicity and Morrow.

    Reply
  • 6. Shannon  |  March 24, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    I loved this sentence: “Molly and Aber aren’t strong: God is.” Lots of teeth in that.

    Reply
  • 7. karla  |  March 24, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    My heart is with all of you. The 22nd did not pass around these parts without many prayers and tears and great stories shared. We love you all.

    Reply
  • 8. Tina  |  March 25, 2009 at 9:08 am

    Being loved so deeply by a friend such as Danielle is a wonderful and rare treasure, but I think you already know that. Cherish it.

    Thank you, Molly and Abraham, for sharing your hearts so deeply about your Felicity and the journey you travel each day because of her. You have taught me so much.

    Reply
  • 9. Amy  |  March 26, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    danielle’s post & series was great. i realized in reading her comments that i need to read your blog more 🙂

    you’re awesome!

    Reply
  • 10. Melissa Parnell  |  April 23, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    i heart danielle. i am so thankful you have her.

    Reply
  • 11. jamie k  |  June 21, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    i know what you mean! it’s precious to have friends, family etc remember your child/children that have died.
    our sons names is simeon- he is now with Jesus! recently my bst friends sister decided to name her son simeon- my friend is having the hardest time with this name because she said she only knows one simeon! it’s precious to have friends that continue to love the children that have died!
    it means the world to us moms! (and dads)

    Reply
  • 12. Nana  |  June 21, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    Molly, my heart is sad for your loss. I truly can’t imagine how you must feel without your dear Felicity. Somehow, though, in following your blog for the last many months, I can’t help but feel that God must be strong enough to set you free from this grief. This sadness can’t stay with you if He indeed is able. I think that perhaps the crux of the matter is that you want what God said “no” to, and that cannot be reversed. Is God’s decision good? Was He right in taking Felicity when He chose to? I would never guess it isn’t horribly painful, but because God is doing what is best for Felicity and for you, it seems that there must be a peaceful place He has for you that no longer includes grief. That peaceful place could be found in acknowledging the rightness of His choice over man’s, despite the longing and pain and confusion and anger. I believe God loves to offer freedom to you, and that His very best and highest will for you would not include this continual grief.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


