Are you as distracted on the internet as I am? A poll.

April 1, 2009 at 7:28 pm 20 comments

So many times I go to post on my blog or write an email or just look something up on the internet, and before I know it I’ve been sucked into the vortex of social networking applications. Does this happen to you?

I suppose if I were really organized and disciplined, I would make a list of internet to-dos and complete those first. And then I could visit my social network sites. I’d probably get more done, but I’d be so anti-social!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Fun.

Encomium to the Internet 50 Things About Me: More stuff than you probably ever wanted to know.

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bryan  |  April 1, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    Great question! I like your blog a lot- it’s so real and down-to-earth. What’s your answer?

    Reply
  • 2. Debby  |  April 1, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    Yes, it frequently happens to me. I’m not on facebook or my space or twitter…but I have my favorite blogs on my blogger dashboard (and some by email).

    I was just going to post a picture for my mom, when I saw this 🙂 I’m going to go try again!

    Reply
  • 3. Charles Vanderford  |  April 1, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Yeah, like right now, I’m supposed to be watching a movie but instead I’m blog-reading. : /

    Reply
  • 4. boysmum2  |  April 1, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Hear this all the time through blogger.

    Reply
  • 5. Amy @ Muddy Boots  |  April 1, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    My feed reader is a BLACK. HOLE.

    Reply
  • 6. The Beautiful Life  |  April 1, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Uh…oh yeah! I wish it weren’t so, but I do the same thing. And what’s worse, I have an internet business, so I kinda HAVE to be online all day — if only my computer just would resist turning the corner and heading to all these great blogs and to Facebook! 🙂

    I must say, getting a Blackberry has actually helped because part of my downfall was going to the computer because I ‘had to check my email” (legit) but then the mesmerization happened… Now, if I get an email it comes through on my Blackberry — while I’m doing things I SHOULD be doing! 🙂

    Ruth

    Reply
  • 7. Brook (Matt5verse6)  |  April 1, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    I have to be careful as to how much time I spend in various places on the internet. Generally, I am on the computer (mainly studying God’s word) while my children are working on school work. That is, of course, if I am not helping them with what they are studying. 🙂 I do have a Facebook account and a Twitter account however I have to do my business there quickly…log in, post, check messages, and then book it out of there before I get caught up for hours! I also check email quickly and blogs very quickly. I scan through a list of all of my favorite sites to see if they have anything of interest to read, pick out a few that peak my curiosity, and place them in tabs to read when I get the chance some time throughout the day. The best ones I link to my blog…and sometimes I blog what’s on my heart or what God is currently teaching me. All of this I have to do in short doses throughout the day otherwise nothing gets finished…including chores. 😦

    Reply
  • 8. Becca  |  April 2, 2009 at 9:54 am

    I frequently get so caught up in my feed reader and checking other peoples blogs that I have many tabs open (currently 8!) of things I want to read (or remind myself to look at later) and then hubby will get on the computer and then close my browser! Although it is rarely life shattering. It is funny how much time can be spent when you don’t mean it to. And speaking of that, I should write that email I got on for and get back to the laundry while baby is still sleeping!

    Reply
  • 9. Rachel  |  April 2, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Facebook will be the death of me. In a completely amazing way.

    Reply
  • 10. Angie  |  April 2, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    I have my laptop in our bedroom (I’m recovering from some health stuff, so I spend a lot of time there), and our desktop is on a desk in our kitchen… it’s all just way too accessible! Self-control… sigh.

    Reply
  • 11. Jennifer S  |  April 2, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    I call it “chasing rabbits” when I find myself lost in the online world. I am usually reading “good stuff,” like blogs of like-minded women, theology blogs, the world’s headlines, and writing meaningful correspondence to long lost friends. But it just takes so much time out of my day…

    Reply
  • 12. Kendall  |  April 3, 2009 at 8:37 am

    Good – it isn’t just me!
    I have a cup of coffee that I rapidly cooling in the living room because I just walked down to the office to “turn on the computer”. And have checked my email, gmail, my reader and three people’s (including your) blogs. I haven’t even got to facebook yet…
    And I LOVE coffee.
    Sigh…

    Reply
  • 13. Sturgmom  |  April 3, 2009 at 9:17 am

    I couldn’t even vote- I get sucked in equally by all three! Although my feed reader is getting less attention due to how overwhelmed I’m becoming by the sheer number of unread feeds I have. I’m hopeless!

    Reply
  • 14. LadyHarley  |  April 3, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Happens to me ALL the time! However, I’ve found it to be a great place to get comfort & encouragement, when needed.

    P.S. I voted other… & that would be Multiply! Even though I’ve recently have started Twitter & yesterday signed up with Facebook. (Only because friends had requested me to… not that I needed another thing to do!!)

    Reply
  • 15. Ebe  |  April 3, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    I’m not into Twitter. It kinda freaks me out. And I quit Facebook about a year ago.

    But my feed reader…yes, I could spend hours reading the blogs of friends and their friends and the friends of friends of friends and so on and on and on…

    Ah, the Internet. What did we do before you came along??

    Reply
  • 16. Caryn  |  April 3, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Girl, I know what you mean…that’s why I refuse to get Facebook for now. Like right now I’m suppose to be doing my finances but I’m on your blog!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 17. charity  |  April 3, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    Facebook is like dating a guy you know you shouldn’t. You are absorbed by him and never talk to any of your friends, who worry incessantly about you as all good friends should. One day you wake up and realize how bad he is for you and realize that you should end it with him, except you cant becuase you cant imagine your life without him and they very thougth scares you.

    Thats how bad my relationship is facebook right now. I need to end it. But yet…

    Reply
  • 18. SharonAbelle  |  April 4, 2009 at 9:37 am

    I’ve deliberately drawn my blogging/Facebook type boundaries pretty narrowly. I also try to keep the expectations of others low with regard to how frequently I’m going to play blog games/poke/send gifts, etc. etc. etc. etc. etc., because I realized early on that that particular beast is never satisfied.

    Reply
  • 19. SharonAbelle  |  April 10, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    A little different slant here….but I also keep “the guilts” down by remembering that 25 years ago, I may have spent the morning:

    1. Calling someone to arrange for a lunch date.
    2. Stop by the bank to withdraw cash.
    3. Read the newspaper headlines.
    4. Watch the morning news.
    5. Call the school to check on sporting event dates.
    6. Go to Penney’s to see if boys’ jeans were on sale.
    7. Have devotions.
    8. Dig through pile of things to find photos for brother.
    9. Check weather report for weekend.
    10. Phone call to make reservations for backpacking.
    11. Balance checkbook and pay bills.

    Guess what? Now all of that and more is done on line. So most of the time I am online, I’m not “wasting time on the internet”. I’m living my life and taking care of relationships and responsibilities! Internet activity does not necessarily mean I’m using my time badly.

    Reply
  • 20. Rebekah  |  April 14, 2009 at 8:06 am

    I’m an internet junkie as well- and more so in the recent months to find support or get my thoughts out- I’m passing this sisterhood award along to you because I love the way you share the random (ie internet polls) with the deep (the way grief looks 18 months later)- http://mylifeafterlevi.blogspot.com/2009/04/sisterhood.html
    take care! <

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


