50 Things About Me: More stuff than you probably ever wanted to know.

April 15, 2009 at 1:22 pm 39 comments

1. I always have a glass of water by my bed at night but rarely use it.
2. I was the last kid in my class to lose their first tooth. I think I was in 3rd grade!
3. My favorite flowers are lilies. The stronger the smell, the better.
4. My favorite junk cereal is Peanut Butter Kid’s Crunch from Aldi’s.
5. I’ve only broken one bone in my life—my arm when I was 4 or 5.
6. I used to always get the Presidential Fitness Award when I was in elementary school. My best event was the sit-ups.
7. I think I hate asparagus, but I actually like it.
8. I don’t like raw tomatoes on anything other than a BLT.
9. I had my braces put on and then had my wisdom teeth taken out within two days of each other. It was a rough week for my mouth.
10. I’ve been wearing glasses since sixth grade. I was really excited about it back then, but now it’s not so great.
11. I once sang the National Anthem at a Minnesota Twin’s game. However, it wasn’t as cool as you might think. They pre-record it and you just lip sync because of the reverb in the Metrodome.
12. I grew up in Erie, Pennsylvania.
13. My dad is a retired high school music teacher, and he was my choir director in high school.
14. Abraham and I get addicted to TV shows via the internet.
15. My first job was when I was 13 years old. I worked full-time during the summer at the local amusement park.
16. I’ve only been stung by a bee one time in my life, and that was on my tongue. I was walking and talking and before I knew it there was something weird in my mouth that I spit out. And since it was my first bee sting I didn’t know if I was going to have an allergic reaction, so I was basically just sitting there waiting to see if my tongue was going to swell and choke me to death.
17. In high school I sang Alto II in choir and Soprano I for my voice lessons.
18. I used to HATE mayonnaise. I like it a little bit now, but only on certain things.
19. I only had one pet as a child, a cat named Mork.
20. I’ve never been to Florida. Weird, right?
21. I love staying at hotels with a pool, even now as an adult.
22. I don’t really like eating salad at home. I like it out at a restaurant or even at other people’s houses, but it just tastes different at home.
23. I am really bad at painting my nails. I’m also really bad at remembering to take it off—I just let it slowly chip off.
24. I think my least favorite job would be a waitress/server.
25. I wish I were charismatic/skilled enough to have a TV show. I don’t know what it would be about.
26. I love picking blueberries. I wish I could do it for my job. Just kidding.
27. My favorite fruit is fresh pineapple.
28. I never went off the continent until I was 26 years old, when we traveled to England and Scotland. And I haven’t been off since, but not by my choice. If anyone has an extra house in England/Scotland/Wales/Ireland/Australia (or really anywhere) that they want to let us use, let me know. 😉
29. My favorite salad dressing is probably ginger sesame.
30. My eyes are green, but Abraham says they change color depending on the scenario.
31. I really like putting lotion on my feet.
32. I like it even better when Abraham rubs lotion on my feet.
33. I have only owned one car. It’s a 1996 Honda Accord and it’s been the best car in the whole world.
34. My favorite Blizzard at Dairy Queen is Butterfinger. I think it’s been my favorite since the Blizzard was invented.
35. My hair is naturally curly/wavy, so I have to blow dry it straight. If it’s humid in the summer, I let it go curly.
36. I hate going to bed with wet hair, unless it’s really hot.
37. I loved being in musicals in high school. I wish real life were more like a musical; everyone would just randomly bust into the same song and choreography together.
38. We kind of have a weird, quirky language that we use at home. Even Orison uses some of the vocab we’ve invented.
39. I used to love New Kids on the Block as a kid. I even went to one of their concerts. My mom is amazing; I’m not sure I would do the same for my kids.
40. I don’t know how to snap my gum, which is probably better, because it would annoy people.
41. I never had guacamole until I was probably 25 years old. Now, I love it!
42. I don’t think I would go out of my way to go see the president, any president.
43. My favorite chain restaurant is probably Chili’s.
44. I have 8 nieces and nephews.
45. I’m not a big pet person.
46. I always talk about wanting to live in the “fake country”—I want the scenery of country but also be able to get to Target in 10 minutes, tops.
47. I over-pack for every trip.
48. I’ve only been camping one time in my life—last summer. It was definitely car camping, where your car is within 50 yards and you have fully-functional showers and flushing toilets. I liked it a lot more than I was expecting to, and we’re even talking about doing it again this summer.
49. I keep my external hard drive in a fire-proof box. If I lost my pictures, I think I would cry for days.
50. My favorite music is probably alt. country/folk.

Entry filed under: Fun, Life.

Are you as distracted on the internet as I am? A poll. Do you want to die this Mother’s Day?

39 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bryan DeWire  |  April 15, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Regarding #19, was the cat named after Mork from the Nick at Night show Mork and Mindy?

    Reply
  • 2. Kendall  |  April 15, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    I could “amen” at least a dozen of these. 🙂 Especially18, 23, 31, and 32 (except instead of “Abraham” it would read “Kurt” ;))

    Reply
  • 3. henny  |  April 15, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    usually i hate these little things… but I was bored and got sucked in. and then spent most of the time shaking my head in agreement or laughing (sometimes both).

    my favorite that I agree with (you know, in case you really wanted to know) :

    8
    22
    46

    I’m gonna have to make a list like that later. it seems oddly fun!

    Reply
  • 4. OM  |  April 15, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    I got stuck on the one about losing your first tooth. Do you now have really nice teeth? Somebody once told me that people who lose their teeth later end up with the nicest, healthiest teeth.

    Reply
  • 5. jessicamelling  |  April 15, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    I’d like to hear more about the your family’s quirky language!

    Reply
  • 6. Susan  |  April 15, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    My friends always tried to paint me as a freak for not enjoying raw tomatoes.

    Reply
  • 7. Andrea  |  April 15, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    What a fun post! I had a great time reading it. It makes me feel better that there’s at least one other person my age out there who’s never been to FL.

    Reply
  • 8. andrea_jennine  |  April 15, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    #4 – My husband calls it Peanut Butter Man Crunch (so he doesn’t feel sheepish buying it; we don’t have kids)!

    Reply
  • 9. Joe  |  April 15, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Oh, a Butterfinger Bilzzard…What I would do for one of those right now.

    And, it’s not England/Scotland/Ireland/Wales/Australia
    BUT
    we have a house for you here on the dusty side of Africa

    Reply
  • 10. Cara  |  April 15, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    oops, that was me, not Joe. We’re even now.

    Reply
  • 11. Melissa Parnell  |  April 15, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    I always take a glass of water to bed, and never use it.

    Jon wanted me to say “62, what, what” in reference to your Presidental Awards in sit-ups. Apparently that was his best event.

    I will go with you any day to DQ. I would just get the chocolate chip cookie dough blizzard instead.

    This was so much fun, I love this kind of thing.
    Oh, and have you seen the SNL about High School Musical:

    Reply
  • 12. whimzie  |  April 15, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    You don’t know me,I just lurk here, but I was very happy to see #22 on your list. I thought it was just me. I really wonder why that is! I can add exactly the same ingredients as a salad that I love at a restaurant and even use the exact same dressing, but it’s just not the same!

    Reply
  • 13. crystal bowers  |  April 15, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    concerning number 37… have you seen this before?

    it makes me chuckle a bit.

    Reply
  • 14. Melissa  |  April 15, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    I am with you on #35 (straight in the winter, curly in the summer), but I’m searching for new summer curly hair products… do you have any suggestions???

    Reply
  • 15. Michael Smith  |  April 15, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    #37 – Sometimes in our house life really IS a musical! It’s amazing!

    I was a music major and choral director for a while, so I’m always humming something. And then my wife will frequently just burst into song – but not a song I know. She just sings whatever she wants to tell me.

    Okay, more detail than anyone cares about – but life as a musical is incredible!

    Reply
  • 16. Jawan  |  April 15, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    I think we might be twins. I nodded my head in agreement at almost every factoid. In regards to #50, you would seriously love the band ACT OF CONGRESS out of Birmingham, AL. They have a country/folk sound (think NickelCreek) and sing tunes about Jesus and secular stuff. This is not a shameless plug for them. I’m just a huge fan and thought you could add some more songs to your itunes list. Check them out: http://actofcongressmusic.com. Oh yeah, JJ Heller is another good one, too. http://jjheller.com/home.asp

    Ok, enough with the links.

    Reply
  • 17. Molly Piper  |  April 15, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Bryan: Actually the cat was named by my childhood best friend who had a cat named Corky, and she wanted our cats’ names to rhyme.

    Andrea_Jennine: I LOVE that someone else feels the shame of the PB Kid’s Crunch. Abraham’s gonna love the new name.

    Cara: we must be more careful when sharing computers with our husbands in the future! Or maybe not, the mix-ups are just too funny! And if I could somehow ship you a Blizzard, I would.

    Melissa: That SNL video was HYSTERICAL!

    Reply
  • 18. Molly Piper  |  April 15, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    Michael Smith is my new hero, folks! We sing a lot of things around here, too—not normal things, either.

    Reply
  • 19. Shana Brath  |  April 15, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    #16- Our daughter, Karissa was stung on the tongue last fall at the apple orchard. I didn’t witness it, but apparently it was on her apple when she took a bite- YIKES! The story is much more entertaining when she tells it.
    #23- I think I still have a little speck of polish on my toes from last time I painted them (last summer)…..

    Reply
  • 20. christen  |  April 15, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    Could you share some of y’all’s vocab? I think that would be a fun post, or comment.

    Reply
  • 21. Nikki W  |  April 15, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    My sister is in England right now and just took a tour of Ireland/Scotland/Wales with some Australians.

    I don’t know if that counts for anything.

    🙂

    Also, I am extremely jealous of her (In the most Christ-like way possible :)).

    Reply
  • 22. Jane Swanson  |  April 15, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    So fun to read, Molly!

    At our DQ, we order a Coffee Oreo blizzard, which isn’t even on the menu, but they make it up special for us and it is SOooo good!

    Reply
  • 23. Pam  |  April 16, 2009 at 7:37 am

    I love Orison’s singing videos but perhaps you can post one of you sometime!

    Reply
  • 24. Stephanie  |  April 16, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Presidental Fitness Award!!! I love it!!!

    Reply
  • 25. Ebe  |  April 16, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Wow…that was intense. So much Molly, so little time.

    I can’t believe you never had guacamole growing up! Crazy!
    Isn’t it the best stuff ever?

    I’ve only been off the continent to visit Scotland too. Oh, Scotland, how I miss you.

    Reply
  • 26. Tara  |  April 16, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    I go back and forth between Butterfinger and Oreo. My brother used to always get Nerds Blizzards. I don’t think they even sell that anymore!

    My hubby and I have a sort of “quirky language”. Ours is more like we say words like a kid learning how to talk. “Sketti” for spaghetti. “Puter” for computer. “Lellow” for yellow. “Poon” for spoon. “What doin’?” for when we’re in the other room and want to know what’s going on. We are absolutely pathetic.

    There are a ton of these words and I should write them down because they are funny! We always warn each other that when we have kids they are going to get made fun of in school for talking funny when they actually believe they are saying words correctly!

    We are in process of moving to the *real* country, and I am SO torn about that. I love the land the view and the fresh WV mountain air….but I grew up in St. Louis Park! We literally WALKED to the mall!!!

    Reply
  • 27. Tara  |  April 16, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    Here’s mine! (It’s 100, beware!)

    http://taralynn819.blogspot.com/2008/12/youre-so-vain-you-probably-think-this.html

    Reply
  • 28. Kelly @ Love Well  |  April 17, 2009 at 11:23 am

    How annoying would it be if I commented on every item that made me want to issue a reply of some kind?

    For example: Don’t you love Stargazer Lilies; they have such a strong, almost intoxicating scent.

    I love fresh blueberries.

    Oh! Fresh pineapple! I love that too.

    Do you still sing a lot?

    I would also cry if I lost my pictures. I try not to be obsessive, but I do have them backed-up in two locations.

    And … if you want more, just let me know.

    Reply
  • 29. JenR  |  April 17, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Lilies are my favorite flower. In fact, I planted a bunch of different lilies around our house and I secretly call our home “Lilyhaven”. I have a not-so-secret desire to be like Anne of Green Gables, and this is my homage to her.

    As for impromptu musicals, have you heard of improveverywhere? Youtube them-you will not regret this. I spent many hours laughing at the stuff they do. Their food court musical is my favorite: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dkYZ6rbPU2M. Other good ones are their Abercrombie stunt, boat tours in NYC fountain, synchronized swimming, pretending to be U2 on top of a rooftop in NYC.

    Reply
  • 30. shawnda  |  April 18, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    loved reading all this about you : )

    we have some of our own words too! : ) Haha! Wombingalow, moochie-moochie co-mama, bickett to name a few : ) It’s fun!

    Reply
  • 31. Chris  |  April 18, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    I know what you mean about nail polish. I noticed I still have a little patch of toenail polish on one piggy leftover from last summer!

    Reply
  • 32. Mary  |  April 21, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    I could not agree with you more about #37!! How fun would that be?

    Reply
  • 33. ame i.  |  April 21, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Yeah, all that is probably more than I wanted to know about you, but I read every word anyway. hmm, that may mean there is something off and/or odd about me.
    Wait, never mind! That may mean there is something off and/or odd about you! That sounds much more betters. Let’s point at you instead of me 🙂

    Reply
  • 34. Erin Craig  |  April 27, 2009 at 8:26 am

    I was just introduced to your blog by my husband who reads your husbands blog. I am glad he did because I am really enjoying yours!

    Oh and #37! When I was in high school our choir took a trip to Ceder Point and we decided to walk around singing and dancing like we were in a musical for a whole day. It was very fun!

    Reply
  • 35. Lacinda  |  April 28, 2009 at 9:58 am

    #22! I thought I was the only one who did this! I was just telling someone the other day that I don’t like spinach. Then I remembered that I actually love spinach salads when someone else makes them, just not when I do.

    Reply
  • 36. Rachel  |  April 29, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Great list Molly! I can’t believe how times I said, “Me too!”

    When you find #46 will you please let me know?

    Glad to you back in town!!

    Reply
  • 37. Tilliewager910  |  May 10, 2009 at 10:13 am

    my mommy shops at Aldi =)

    Reply
  • 38. Nixter  |  May 10, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    I also went to watch a New Kids concert – shhhhh don’t tell anyone 😉

    I also am English but now live in Australia – we only live in a little unit so maybe one day when we move to a bigger house you cans tay there 😉 I am off to visit family in England in 2 weeks with my little 5 months old – YIKES!

    Reply
  • 39. Mike Neglia  |  May 16, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Re: 28

    I’m a pastor of a church in Cork, Ireland and one of our members is a businessman who has two houses, one in the country and one in the city that he uses when he has to do business in town and to pop in to from time to time. He’s told me if I ever have guests or visitors they are free to stay in his city house (since he only occasionally uses it).

    I’d love to officially and specifically invite yourself and your family out to Ireland! (shoot me an email if you’re interested)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


