It’s been an eventful couple weeks for Orison’s head.

May 13, 2009 at 10:12 am 26 comments

Ever since our first-born son arrived on the scene, people have commented on the size of his head. When we was six months old, he was something like 1oth percentile for height, 3rd percentile for weight, and 90th percentile for head size. The kid has a large noggin.

His head has been the center of much drama in the last couple weeks.

Act I: I got Orison off the school bus last Friday and was told by his bus driver that there would be a message on our answering machine from the preschool director, because during school that morning, he had decided to cut his hair.

I suppose I never thought to tell him, “Never cut your own hair.” I guess I didn’t want to give him any ideas.

But at school that day, while they were potting their Mother’s Day flowers (which of course meant that the teachers were trying to handle 17 4-year-olds in a project that involved copious amounts of dirt), Orison sauntered off to the writing center and snagged himself a pair of scissors.

He then proceeded to hide behind a bookcase in the reading area and go to work! He snipped some hair from the sides, the back and the front. Apparently, after a few minutes, he popped up from behind the bookcase and exclaimed to his teachers, “I’ve been cutting my hair!”

Needless to say, he looked really funny. And because Abraham was busy with a conference for work at the time,  he had to stay that way for two days until the situation could be remedied. Every time I looked at him I wanted to laugh!

Orison's hair

So he ended up with a pretty short buzz cut, just in time for summer. Which leads us to…

Act 2: While Abraham was shaving Orison’s head, he got to the one side and said, “Uh… what’s this?”

He had uncovered a scabby, scaly patch on the side of Orison’s head. I knew right away what it was. “Ringworm!” I exclaimed.

You might wonder why I was happy to have made the discovery. But it’s been driving me insane for months! Orison has developed splotches of ringworm on his torso that I’ve been treating with topical cream, but they never seem to get any better. I had searched through his hair many times before, looking for a patch in his scalp, but never found one under his long tresses.

It was like solving a mystery. I felt guilty that I hadn’t seen it before, but more than that I was just happy to know the cause!

So a trip to the dermatologist and a few scrapes of the head patch yielded a new prescription that should blast this out of his system once and for all.

*Intermission* Nice, uneventful rest of the week and Mother’s Day weekend.

Act 3: About an hour before we were supposed to head off to dinner at a friend’s house Monday night, we heard a thud from the kitchen followed by a loud cry.

We met somewhere in the middle between him running to us and us running to him. He had been messing around on a step stool in the kitchen and had fallen off backwards and hit his head on one of the handles to the kitchen cabinets.

He had a small, but pretty deep, split on the back of his head. Of course Abraham and I went back and forth about whether we should take him to the ER or not. Since it was in his hair, a Band-Aid wasn’t going to stick, unless we shaved it. And then we’d have to be really diligent about making sure he didn’t mess with it, that his butterfly Band-Aids were staying on correctly, etc.

After about a half-hour of discussion, we decided I would take him in. Three hours, three stitches, and a popsicle later, we emerged. He did a fantastic job laying still for the suture nurse and remained very calm through the whole process.

Orison's stitches

Needless to say, I’m ready for the Head Trauma Drama to be over. Everyone just take your bow and drop the curtain already!

Entry filed under: Family, Orison.

Do you want to die this Mother’s Day? Mother’s Day 2009

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kasey  |  May 13, 2009 at 11:58 am

    My son’s pediatrician gave me a lesson on how to respond to head injuries, because he said, “Let’s just face it. You’ve got a boy. There’s going to be head injuries.”

    My little one has a large head also. He’s pretty bald even at 1 year, which makes his head look even bigger.

    Reply
  • 2. kcperritte  |  May 13, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    My favorite part is when he exclaims he has been cutting his hair….so funny!

    Hope things slow down for ya!

    Reply
  • 3. Jake  |  May 13, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Pros and cons of our kids growing up in the age of the blog:

    Pro: world gets to see your sweet combover.
    Con: world gets to hear about your dermatological issues. (I suffered from these as a child, and still think it cruel that it’s called “ringworm” when it has nothing to do with worms. I take baths, OK?! I take baths.)

    Reply
  • 4. kendra  |  May 13, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    we’re part of the huge head club, too….our boy and girl (4 & 2) both have 90-something percentile heads. usually 95-99th.

    Reply
  • 5. karmat  |  May 13, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Change the names, and this could be our family with our 7 year old.

    When Travis was a few weeks old, his pediatrician expressed concern over the size of his head (not as much as I did during birth, but I digress). The fact that his height and weight was 90th %ile didn’t help, because his head size was off the charts. After I finally convinced him it was a family trait , he relaxed. He is 7 and he and my husband swap baseball caps without any adjusting. Last year, during his first year of football, they had to get middle-school sized helmet for him!

    A month or so ago, he cut his hair. He was already semi-buzzed, so he had an interesting design on the back of his head. No reason why’ he just did it.

    Two weeks ago, he busted his nose playing baseball. A week later, fell backward and got four stitches in his head. Those were removed 2 days ago.

    Someone told me it had just begun . . . . .

    Reply
  • 6. bronzedshoe  |  May 13, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    Hahaha, what a cutie! Who would have ever guessed that so much could happen to one child’s head in such a short period of time?

    Reply
  • 7. Melissa Parnell  |  May 13, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    When I first saw the haircut Orison gave himself, I thought he got a bowl cut!

    I hope all the head drama is over for you guys…and that you have to make no more ER trips this week.

    Reply
  • 8. Lindsey  |  May 13, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    lol Nice stories.

    Yeah, yesterday I bought a hat for my 2 1/2 year old. It says it’s for ages 8 and up. 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. jessicamelling  |  May 13, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    With the privilege of possessing such a head comes the weighty responsibility of caring for it. That’s probably what Orison was trying to do when he went to town on his hair.

    Reply
  • 10. Rhonda  |  May 13, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    That is too funny! My little sister cut her hair when she was little and blamed it on her best friend who was our neighbor!
    All the trauma sounds like me when I was little but it was always my feet. I guess that is less dangerous to injure if you are going to get hurt! I ran nails, tacks and pins up my feet. Got my foot stuck in the spokes of a bicycle and other things. I still don’t wear shoes unless I have to! 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Kristi_runwatch  |  May 13, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Glad you’re surviving the week! “When it rains, it pours” definitely seems like a truism more often than not!

    Reply
  • 12. tiffany  |  May 13, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    great post. i’m glad you have a good sense of humor about the haircut. 🙂

    Reply
  • 13. Chris  |  May 13, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    Brings back the memories!
    My sister cut my bangs quite short when I was little.
    And I still have the scar where I fell and cut my lip on the edge of the kitchen table while doing pirouettes…

    Reply
  • 14. Julie  |  May 14, 2009 at 6:41 am

    This brought back memories for me, Molly. One of our sons has had three sets of stitches in his head alone. He is now an English professor 🙂 (He’s also had two broken bones…another story.) Sometimes I’ve said the Lord knew I never wanted a boring life, and I still don’t have one!

    Reply
  • 15. artsieandie  |  May 14, 2009 at 6:59 am

    ah, Children’s emergency room…. as you have probably seen on our blog, we spent 4 1/2 hours there lately for Byron’s stitches. Sounds like Orison did much better than Byron! It was HORRIBLE for us. 2 1/2 years does make a big difference 🙂
    We did get a popsicle… both of us, after the trauma.

    Reply
  • 16. Debby  |  May 14, 2009 at 7:18 am

    I can resonate more with Act 1, except David gave himself a haircut while under my care. Sigh. I’m glad he didn’t take a chunk outta anything else. Maybe it’s a 4-yr old boy + scissors thing?

    David will also be glad to know that he’s not the only one with a super short buzz. I’ll have to show him the picture. It may give him comfort 🙂

    (Thankfully, we’ve not gotten to Act 2 or Act 3…yet.)

    Reply
  • 17. Lauren Chandler  |  May 14, 2009 at 7:56 am

    Boys 🙂 I love it 🙂 Our son, Reid, had the same experience with the gash in the back of the head and the stitches and a treat. Good times…

    Reply
  • 18. Tony Brott  |  May 14, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Thanks for posting that, Molly. I had a good laugh (about the haircut part). I cut my own hair one time the night before school pictures when I was in early grade school. That episode and the ones you related remind me that kids being quiet doesn’t mean that nothing’s happening!

    It’s also good to see how things that are not part of the plan (unexpected haircuts) work out for good (the discovery of the ringworm patch). God is good.

    Reply
  • 19. Jessie  |  May 14, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Molly,

    This post makes me laugh from the gut (re. haircut!) — something I need this week; thank you!

    I’m always so thankful when you post!

    Jessie

    Reply
  • 20. Pam  |  May 14, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    My brother was always cracking open his head. Now, he’s a PHD candidate in mathematics!
    You got me researching ringworm. I’m wondering if the eczema on my 3 year-old’s body is really ringworm. They look alike.

    Reply
  • 21. Audrey  |  May 15, 2009 at 8:10 am

    That is just hilarious! 🙂 I have three little boys (6, 5, 2) and we homeschool. Thankfully, we are dear friends with the nurses and doctors at our pediatricians office. There came a point a few years ago when I actually felt compelled to ask a nurse, “how many head injuries until you’re required to report us?!” little boys seem to go through phases of clumsiness. My middle one was running into door knobs and chair rails, my oldest fell into a stone fireplace…head first, and my babe wiggled his way out of the double stroller, head first, onto a tile floor at a department store.
    …not to mention, my husband’s entire family has abnormally large heads…completely serious! All three of my boys’ heads were over 14″ at birth.
    don’t little boys make for some GREAT stories!? 🙂
    bless you guys, I enjoy your blog.
    ~audrey

    Reply
  • 22. brenda@coffeeteabooksandme  |  May 15, 2009 at 9:05 am

    It was actually my daughter who made two trips to the emergency room in the same day with a gash to the head. They gave me a strange look at the time but I guess they figured out she was just clumsy and we were not abusive parents.

    Our son ran instead of walking but I guess he was a little more sturdy than his sister. 🙂

    Reply
  • 23. Shannon Archer  |  May 15, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    I cannot WAIT until Orison is older and I get to tell him his mom broadcasted his ringworm over the internet…it’s going to be awesome to watch:-)

    Reply
  • 24. Anita  |  May 18, 2009 at 11:13 am

    As a former hairstylist I can only say kids cutting their own hair is all to common. I remember one time a mom brought a little boy in to me to fix his hair because he decided since he had no hair to shave on his face like his daddy, he’d save his head instead, so he took his daddy’s electric razer and when to town. The only remedy…buzz cut. Nice thing about hair, it always grows out.

    As for the bumps on the head…welcome to the mother of sons club…they will know you by your first name at the ER before it’s all over with. LOL

    Reply
  • 25. Elda Coleman  |  May 24, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    I’ve been remiss in keeping up with your blog. I just read this one and laughed out loud. It gives me somewhat of an idea what to expect with my older grandson. At his last checkup (18 mo), he was 50% for weight, 90% for height, and 97% for head. We joke that he takes after his grandma (me).

    I will have to make sure my daughter keeps up with your blog, because she’s now the mother of two boys. What an adventure it will be for you both. 🙂

    Reply
  • 26. Pamela Rowe  |  June 12, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Large Head Size: When Nathaniel was born, our doctor was very concerned that there was something wrong with him, his head was so huge. I didn’t see a problem (well, except I wouldn’t have minded during birth if it had been smaller.) My daddy could never find a hat big enough for his big square head. Every cap he wore had the back slats busted out to make it stretch to maybe fit….it’s hereditary, and Orison has those Henry genes, too. And for Nathaniel, now his head balances off his size 14 feet really well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


