Hot weather is good for… naps.

June 24, 2009 at 4:18 pm 13 comments

Last week we moved Orison and Morrow into the same room. I thought for sure it was going to be the end of naps as we knew them. But it’s been good so far!

For Morrow, I just secured a sheet around Morrow’s crib so he can’t see out and he goes to sleep just fine. I’ve always found that if you treat a baby like a bird (cover their cage and they sleep), you usually get a good nap out of ’em.

For Orison, who’s always been kinda chatty at bedtime, he needs to “help Morrow” take a good nap by being quiet himself.

And since it’s unusually hot around here, I think Orison goes to nap intending to not sleep, but the heat just lulls him into dreamland. And thus, how I’m finding any time to post!

I know for those of you in Southern regions, 90+ ain’t no thang, but around here it’s a big deal. But since we wait for it for sooo long in this climate, I want to enjoy it, thank God for it, not complain it away.

And if it helps my kids nap, all the better!

Uh-oh… time’s up.

Entry filed under: Family, Morrow, Orison.

Grief Resources Over at Family Life A Vacation from Perfectionism

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dinamcb  |  June 24, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    I used to love it when the kids would actually BOTH nap – at the same time even! What sweet bliss!

    Nowadays – *I* want a nap! So many directions to run every day – it’s amazing how crazy life gets when the kids are all teenagers!

    Enjoy these precious days!

    Reply
  • 2. WhiteStone  |  June 24, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    Oh, I like that idea of the sheet covering! Yes, we wait so long for summer but I’m grateful this past spring has been long and moderately coolish. Today I sat out on the deck in 90 degree weather and because the humidity was down a bit from yesterday, it was enjoyable.

    Reply
  • 3. marion  |  June 24, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Even us southerners (Texans) are having a hard time with the heat this summer…..103 degrees today and even hotter tomorrow.
    Enjoy the 90″s !!

    Reply
  • 4. Heather  |  June 24, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    I remember thinking putting my two boys (15 mos. apart) in the same room would be a nightmare…but that was over 2 years ago and now they just have so much fun talking and giggling themselves to sleep! They actually never have woken each other up!

    Reply
  • 5. Chris  |  June 24, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    Treat them like a bird–that’s so sweet 🙂 I wish I had known that when my kids were that age!

    I’m with you–enjoying the heat as much as I can–winter’s are beautiful when there’s just the right amount of snow to be safe, but the cold months are so long…

    Reply
  • 6. Dorothy  |  June 24, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    Found out! Molly you have discovered the REAL reason I don’t turn the second floor AC on until after nap time. The soporific effect!

    Reply
  • 7. Rebecca  |  June 24, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Room darkening blinds & the white noise of a floor fan both help a lot too :>)

    I love the little birdie comment as well!

    Reply
  • 8. Elisabeth Haggard  |  June 26, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    You’ve got us beat. Here in Seattle we start to whimper when the weather gets beyond 80 . . .

    Reply
  • 9. Gill  |  June 29, 2009 at 2:18 am

    My youngest daughter responded well to being treated like a bird. She began the ritual by herself by pulling her dress over her head when she went to sleep. This exposed the frilly underwear to the world so we gave her an old pillowcase. At the age of five she would still sleep as soon as we put this over her head – really handy during sermons as we attended a church with no creche facilities!!

    Reply
  • 10. Em  |  July 3, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    ah – but is it good for knitting???

    Reply
  • 11. Sarah Mae  |  July 8, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Molly, it’s so cool to find you in the blogosphere! I have no idea if you remember me or not, but we went to PSU and Navs together – I am Renee Behringers sister-in-law Sarah (formerly Clark). I was two years below you.

    Anyway, I look forward to reading more of your blog! 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. courtney tipping  |  July 8, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Thanks so much for your transparency, know I’ve written a few times, but I just ordered one of the books you recommended…and
    I totally find my heart in the same places you’ve been and probally still wrestle with.

    Reply
  • 13. Kristina  |  July 23, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    That is funny! I am definitely going to try to make our daughters crib so that she can’t see out! That’s a great idea that I had not thought of but think we could use! She is 9 months old and just wants to stand all of the time! Even through her usual nap time! Maybe if she couldn’t see out it would help…well I can hear her now, gotta go!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


