Blogs I Read: Honey for a Child’s Heart

July 13, 2009 at 12:35 am 19 comments

Gladys Hunt, author of the book Honey for a Child’s Heart, writes on her blog about instilling a love of Mother Goose into our children from an early age.

I’ve wondered what collections are best, and always felt overwhelmed by the number of options out there. Gladys gives a few recommendations to moms like me!

I would highly recommend subscribing to this blog. You know how some experts can make you feel really stupid and guilty about all the ways you’re failing in their particular area of expertise? Not Gladys! I’ve never felt guilted by anything Gladys has written about reading to children. Her posts are always interesting and give me new ideas for encouraging literacy in our family.

I really hope you enjoy her blog as much as I have!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Books.

A Vacation from Perfectionism We used to be happy people… I even have proof.

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren  |  July 13, 2009 at 5:31 am

    Yes! I agree with you completely.

    I have enjoyed her blog, as well as her book, “Honey for a Child’s Heart”. And you are right- I never feel guilted by her writing, but rather encouraged as if a wise mentor and friend is sharing some of her insights with me.

    Reply
  • 2. andie  |  July 13, 2009 at 8:29 am

    YAAAY~ thanks for mentioning this. I have really benefited from her book as I reserve library books for the kids.

    Reply
  • 3. Guinever  |  July 13, 2009 at 8:35 am

    I didn’t know she was blogging. I’ll have to go check it out. I love Hunt’s book. You can often see me late at night on the computer, reserving books from my library, with her book open in front of me.

    Reply
  • 4. Sara  |  July 13, 2009 at 8:37 am

    So glad you mentioned this – just last night I picked up her book again before bed to get some fresh book ideas for the coming school year! I didn’t even think about her possibly having a blog so I am very glad you mentioned it!

    Reply
  • 5. Graham  |  July 13, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Thanks for the recommendation, Molly!

    Did you know that Gladys’s book list from Honey for a Child’s Heart is built into the Tumblon platform? You can browse them by age, or, if you <a href="http://tumblon.com/signup"create an account (which is free), can see Gladys’s recommendations for your kids’ ages.

    If there are topics that you would like to see Gladys address on the blog, please drop me a line at Graham at Tumblon.com.

    Thanks again for highlighting Gladys’s fantastic content!

    Reply
  • 6. jessicamelling  |  July 13, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Do latent Mother Goose rhymes magically come back to you when you become a mom? I know they’re in me somewhere, deep deep down, but I can’t seem to remember the words! When I hear moms sing to their kids, I wonder if this comes naturally, or if they’ve been studying.

    Reply
  • 7. Elizabeth  |  July 13, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    I found her book a few years ago at the library and have wanted to own it ever since. She is magical. I didn’t realize she has a blog, and it’s one I’m sure I’ll love.

    Reply
  • 8. Tara  |  July 13, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    THANK YOU for directing us to this blog! I am IN LOVE with children’s literature, avidly collect the classics (read and re-read them myself!), and cannot wait to have my own children to dig into that bookcase and introduce them to all of those old wonderful stories!

    I happily bookmarked Gladys’ blog.

    Reply
  • 9. Rachel  |  July 13, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    I love both her book and her blog! She helps me to know what books are good, and also has given me some words for my thoughts on why reading is important for a Christian family!

    Reply
  • 10. Lou Ann  |  July 13, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Just an endorsement from an “older” woman. My kids 27, 25, 23, 23 and almost 20 were raised on the books from Honey For A Child’s Heart. I carried this book to the library weekly and ordered those they did not have. What a rich and treasured times we had reading aloud and snuggling together on the sofa, all 6 of us! Now I wait to be able to share the treasured reading times with future grandchildren.

    Reply
  • 11. Michelle- This Ones' for the Girls  |  July 13, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    I really like Richard Scarry’s Mother Goose collection. It was the book that was read to me over and over as a child. I wore my childhood book out and had to buy a new one when our 5th child was born. My husband has had so much fun reading all of those rhymes with the silliest voices…

    Reply
  • 12. Chris  |  July 14, 2009 at 7:50 am

    You might like to learn more about Five in a Row. It is used by a lot of homeschoolers, but it seems to me you can use it at home even if you’re not homeschooling.

    http://www.fiveinarow.com/

    Reply
  • 13. brenda@coffeeteabooksandme  |  July 14, 2009 at 11:16 am

    I subscribe to her blog since I’m always looking for books for my grandchildren. I love her book for women, too. It gave me a lot of new authors and titles.

    Reply
  • 14. Lacinda  |  July 14, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Thanks for sharing. I’ve really enjoyed her books but have never read her blog. I’m definitely going to check it out.

    Reply
  • 15. LydiaCate  |  July 14, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Wonderful! I have her book and love it. I too feel so overwhelmed at the task of picking good quality books for my children. I will definately visit her site. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Reply
  • 16. Debby  |  July 15, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    I love Honey For a Child’s Heart! Thank you for letting us know about the blog…hooray!

    And what you said resonates with me,”some experts can make you feel really stupid and guilty about all the ways you’re failing in their particular area of expertise? Not Gladys! I’ve never felt guilted by anything Gladys has written about reading to children.” YES!

    Reply
  • 17. Amanda  |  July 16, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    I had to read Honey For a Child’s Heart in college as part of my Children’s Lit class. It was a delight rather than a chore. I have used it many times to help me select books for my classroom or for giving as gifts.
    I too recently discovered her blog and have visited there a few times. I hope that my students and someday my children will taste the honey of a good book.

    Reply
  • 18. Rebecca  |  August 7, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    Honey for a Child’s Heart is wonderful, and so is Tumblon! Thank you.

    Reply
  • 19. Blogs I Read: Elizabeth Esther « The Pipers  |  September 29, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    […] Honey For a Child’s Heart […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


